We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese in Redding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sailing Boat Restaurant

Sailing Boat Restaurant
2772 Churn Creek Rd, Redding, CA 96002-1149
530-222-6868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 271 Restaurants in Redding
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best Chinese in Redding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have been eating at Sailing Boat for ten years. Now I live in San Francisco and make it a point to eat there when I am in Redding. The food is excellent as is the service. Try the specials listed on the board in the lobby area. Also it has a separate room for parties.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Great food and excellent service! The food is always fresh and a great value. I always find a large variety of dishes that please my tastes and they have a great black bean sauce.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Food seems prepared to order and probably is family owned. Decor is very pleasant but is show some signs of wear. Service is very good. Never had a bad dish here and have eaten here several times.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service at an affordable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The Sailing Boat Restaurant in Redding, CA, is a great Chinese restaurant with excellent food at affordable prices. They have a great lunch menu with specials ranging between $6.50 and $7.95. Their dinner menu is great and has family dinners from $12 per person to $17 per person. The staff are very friendly, the wait is short and the food is well worth a stop. They also do take out too. The portions are generous and the food is high quality. We have eaten there for the last few years on a regular basis. They are also kid friendly. If you want quality Chinese food at great prices and a restaurant with a nice atmosphere this is the place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Redding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Sailing Boat is our favorite Chinese restaurant and one of our overall favorites for Redding. We eat there at least once every 2 weeks.

Lunch is our favorite time to visit. The restaurant it not very busy, but the take out is always hoping. Sailing boat offers a variety of lunch specials that include egg drop soup, egg roll and your entrée or a combination entrée. I really enjoy the chicken in black bean sauce. All lunch specials are under $10, most average around $7.95. Make sure you check the board as you enter for the daily specials.

Dinner service includes individual orders or you can pick one of four different family dinners. We always chose the family dinners, so that we can do some sampling. Dinner service can be a little slower.

If you need a treat after your meal, you can purchase Sweet Spot cupcakes!!! Yummy!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailing Boat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sailing Boat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailing Boat Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.