We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Lodge to your Saves list
Thunderbird Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1350 Pine Street, Redding, CA 96001-0604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Monterey, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

If you you look at the reviews of the other Redding hotels, the higher rated ones are all more expensive to much more expensive. We got our room for $55 a night plus tax on Orbitz! We were very pleased with the room and slept well on the king sized bed. The breakfast was very basic, but adequate. Except for a train rolling by about 8:00 PM our upstairs room was very quiet. This was a great value! We will stay here again on our way to visit our son in Seattle. By the way we had dinner at Tapas on Oregon St. Three blocks away and really enjoyed it! Another highly rated trip advisor place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    103
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
54
77
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Dell, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed there on the 20th of March also. As usual I requested an upstairs room with the vaulted ceilings. WE could not tell if anyone else was there that night until I looked in the parking lot...very full. The bed was great (king) and we slept very well. The breakfast the next morning is just the basics but Quite satisfying unless you were looking for a full omelet breakfast. There is juice, coffee,milk cereal, toast,fruit and danish. The sweet lady working the front desk came over to refill all the goodies( they are short handed right now) so I guess my timing was lucky. I will stay with them again. they have best combination in town. Cost, convenience and location. Did I mention that all the rooms have microwaves, refrigerators and a hairdryer. If you have a complaint, speak up right there, they will be happy to make it right!

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We didn't expect much for 77$, but were still disappointed. There are two main reasons: firstly the bathroom wasn't clean, you do not want to find hair or other remnants of you predecessors, right? I can accept a room with a rundown but clean appearance but rundown and dirty is unacceptable if you pay for it. Secondly, we have never slept (well, we tried...) in a less noise insulated room. We could easily follow our neighbor's conversation (seriously, word by word) and whatever was going on in the rooms left, right or above us - we were affected noisewise. By the way, traffic was not an issue during the night. Unfortunately the breakfast next morning couldn't make up for the disaster, just the bare minimum. Nobody around to refill the coffee, make your way to the office to get hold of someone.
Overall not recommendable unless you are almost deaf and oblivious to substandard cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tblodge, Manager at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us.

First of all, I would like to apoligize for your unsatisfied stay. Our goal is to give our guests a clean and comfortable place to relax.

Finding a "dirty" bathroom is not a norm at our facility. Our staff is trained to pay attention to every detail. However, we have been facing staffing issues for the past two weeks. We are currently training new housekeepers and this may have been an oversight. I assure you that this will not happen again.

Once again sorry for what you had to experiece and hope you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were thrilled at the quality of the room with a good price. Room 205 appears to have new carpets, and furniture ,along with tiled shower. King sized bed, good sized room; Room was spotless, . Room also included luggage stand, a microwave, 'frig and coffee maker (iron and ironing board available on request). Parking right outside our door. Front desk attendant very very helpful. Wi-fi and continental breakfast as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The motel room was clean and well appointed. Although slighly small, the beds were comfortable, and for a one night stay this was a good value. The Mexican restauant adjacent to the motel was also quite good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in Mar 2013. The place is an older motel well located in Redding that has recently had a complete renovation of it's rooms and balconies.Everything in our upstairs "vaulted" room was brand new and the place was spotless. Jake, the owners son, was a very gracious host who looked after all our needs. A continental cold brakfast was included in our modest price and it contained all the cerials, fruits, toast, fresh "real" orange juice and sweet buns that you could possibly want with great hot coffee and tea as well.
Since the motel is located near the HWY that passes through town it could be a little noisy but if you get an upstairs room above the office the noise is minimal. Lots of walk to restaurants nearby, just ask Jake. We turn on the fan of the AC to provide a little "white" noise which lulled us to sleep and we heard nothing. Try this place ,you will be happily surprised.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs Vaulted room on backside away from HWY/street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Passing through Redding I planned to stay for the night as this property had received pretty good reviews. It was easy to find, they had rooms available ( I did not have a reservation) and it was in a downtown location. Checkin was smooth and the price was very good. This is an older motel but it has been pretty well kept, at least the room I was in. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. Although old, the room was very clean. It was right adjacent to the downtown area so an easy walk for supper and a drink. The morning breakfast was very basic but enough to start the day. I would certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Address: 1350 Pine Street, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.