We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, easy access to roads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1350 Pine Street, Redding, CA 96001-0604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Redding
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good Value, easy access to roads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday, the cost was similar to budget hotels but the interior and fixtures were way above budget. Microwave, frig , single cup coffee and clean bathroom. Decent breakfast... packaged baked goods bananas & juices. Folks that worked there were nice and helpful when needed. The A/C worked as did the cable It was fine There was a small pool we did not try out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    92
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
49
67
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the price. To our surprise we got more than our expectations. The room was large and very clean. No bath tub but didn't matter to us as long as things were functional and clean. Beds were large and the linens were clean and soft. A/C and TV worked well. Breakfast was a plus. The free internet was fast although we did have a little troble connecting initially. The manager was knowledgable and helped us connect to the wireless. Looked like they were working on the rooms,construction, updating??
All in all, we were happy we the service and the room. I would recommend it to any budget traveller.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

Unless you are a college kid on a really tight budget, keep on looking because I would NOT recommend this hotel. The walls are paper-thin & considering it is located on a pretty busy street, the traffic noise is annoying. Also, saying the rooms are 'dated' is more than kind. They are old!!! And the unit I stayed in had a non-functioning a/c unit.

Consider yourself warned!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed in room 214. The bathroom was very clean and the room tidy, though it had a lingering smell of fried food (perhaps from the mexican restaurant it shares a parking lot with?). Thank goodness for travel candles.
My husband really enjoyed the water pressure of the shower. It was too strong for me and felt like I was being whipped by a firehose, but like I said, the hubby truly enjoyed the pressure as compared to our light trickle from the shower in our apartment. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Redding and was a great central point to walking around city center. There truly is not much of anything to do or see in downtown Redding, except for the unprecedented number of vintage motel and car lot signs that abound in this small town. The lodge's sign is included in the assortment of retro signs and makes good for pictures.

I have to thank the lady behind the lodge's front counter the night we stayed. My husband asked for additional pillows and she thought quickly on her feet to find some for us in another room. Really nice gesture and made for a pleasant sleep in the comfy firm bed. I would suggest they keep extra pillows in the room's dresser.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I wouldn't say its THE place to stay while at Redding but it sure was good. Close to downtown Redding, Market St Thunderbird lodge is conveniently located and also a mile away from Sundial bridge and Turtle bay park. We stayed for one night. Room was clean, spacious and they have HBO - bingo! Microwave, refrigerator. Bathroom was clean and well functioning too.
We didn't hang around the lodge much to comment about how's the hood but the experience was pleasant and I wouldn't mind recommending the place for staying while at Redding.

Room Tip: The property looks bit rundown but rooms are good and quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

We arrived Friday afternoon for an extended weekend. It seemed there was a problem with the booking company, they had put in a reservation for the following weekend. Jay, the manager, worked it out in very short order and got us a room. Although an older motel, the room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Located just off the highway it is easy to find and convienient to get around Redding. The staff at the office was friendly, cooperative and willing to chat about the motel and the area. It is an inexpensive place to stay but far from "cheap".

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a budget hotel for sure, and my expectations were in line with that. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The man at the front desk was really nice and welcoming. That said, we did have a few issues with our room. There was a nasty used washcloth left hanging over the shower rod when we arrived. The bathroom door had a big gouge in it and was warped, making it kind of hard to actually get it to close. The tiles in the bathroom were buckling up from the floor so when you walked on them, you could feel them move beneath you. The room was clean but had a funky smell we couldn't quite place, and it didn't seem to be coming from the air conditioning.

The motel appears to have several long-term guests (ie, people who live here) and when we pulled up and parked, there were lots of people having parties, playing music, etc., so I was anticipating having a noise issue but found that this was not the case and we had a good night's sleep. I would stay here again, but only for a night or so while passing through Redding and only because of the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tblodge, Manager at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your valuable review and the opportunity to serve you. We are extremely sorry for what you had experienced. Rest assured that every measrue is being taken to avoid such situations.
As summer vacations come to an end, we are preparing for a complete remodel of our guest rooms with high end furniture, LCD TV's and improved amenities. Bathrooms are being remodelled as we speak. We will be adding a larger dining area with a better menu for breakfast. Our goal is to give our guests the biggest bang for their buck.
I would again like to thank you for your valuable review, as it is reviews like this that help us improve our operations. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again on you next trip to Redding. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Address: 1350 Pine Street, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#10 Family Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.