We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, clean rooms next to downtown and Sundial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1350 Pine Street, Redding, CA 96001-0604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 hotels in Redding
San Mateo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good price, clean rooms next to downtown and Sundial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I wouldn't say its THE place to stay while at Redding but it sure was good. Close to downtown Redding, Market St Thunderbird lodge is conveniently located and also a mile away from Sundial bridge and Turtle bay park. We stayed for one night. Room was clean, spacious and they have HBO - bingo! Microwave, refrigerator. Bathroom was clean and well functioning too.
We didn't hang around the lodge much to comment about how's the hood but the experience was pleasant and I wouldn't mind recommending the place for staying while at Redding.

Room Tip: The property looks bit rundown but rooms are good and quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    87
    28
    12
    3
See reviews for
43
61
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

We arrived Friday afternoon for an extended weekend. It seemed there was a problem with the booking company, they had put in a reservation for the following weekend. Jay, the manager, worked it out in very short order and got us a room. Although an older motel, the room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Located just off the highway it is easy to find and convienient to get around Redding. The staff at the office was friendly, cooperative and willing to chat about the motel and the area. It is an inexpensive place to stay but far from "cheap".

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a budget hotel for sure, and my expectations were in line with that. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The man at the front desk was really nice and welcoming. That said, we did have a few issues with our room. There was a nasty used washcloth left hanging over the shower rod when we arrived. The bathroom door had a big gouge in it and was warped, making it kind of hard to actually get it to close. The tiles in the bathroom were buckling up from the floor so when you walked on them, you could feel them move beneath you. The room was clean but had a funky smell we couldn't quite place, and it didn't seem to be coming from the air conditioning.

The motel appears to have several long-term guests (ie, people who live here) and when we pulled up and parked, there were lots of people having parties, playing music, etc., so I was anticipating having a noise issue but found that this was not the case and we had a good night's sleep. I would stay here again, but only for a night or so while passing through Redding and only because of the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tblodge, Manager at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your valuable review and the opportunity to serve you. We are extremely sorry for what you had experienced. Rest assured that every measrue is being taken to avoid such situations.
As summer vacations come to an end, we are preparing for a complete remodel of our guest rooms with high end furniture, LCD TV's and improved amenities. Bathrooms are being remodelled as we speak. We will be adding a larger dining area with a better menu for breakfast. Our goal is to give our guests the biggest bang for their buck.
I would again like to thank you for your valuable review, as it is reviews like this that help us improve our operations. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again on you next trip to Redding. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Comfortable bed, clean room, great location, lots of restaurants. Would recommended to any budget traveler.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We paid 50$ for the room, and after traveling 3 months throughout USA, this is one of the best deal/pearl we found so far! Room was really clean with new carpet, TV, fridge, microwave, free Internet, free breakfast (nothing big). Really, for the price, best value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We arrived around 12:30p, and were a little bit wary - there's a bar in the same parking lot which had some loud music and raucous people wandering around. As two twentysomething girls, it seemed questionable. Check-in at the window was fine - the employee seemed very nice. Our room was standard and clean. The bed was comfortable, even if the decorations were a little outdated. We had some problems with our deadbolt, which added to our fears; although the employee offered to come help us with it. We had to wiggle the door a little bit and then we got the deadbolt in.

Once we were in our room, everything seemed perfect - you couldn't hear the bar, there was a mini-fridge, and we felt safe in our room. Their continental breakfast was pretty much just coffee, orange juice and scones.

I'd say this is a "need a bed for cheap" kind of place and a standard motel, but don't really hang around outside at night. Good for couples and older adults - I wouldn't bring kids here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

We spent two nights here. Rooms are nice spacious and above all very clean. It's close to many restaurants and the sundial bridge. The staff is helpful and very courteous. the pool was a great releaf since the temperature hit 100 f. Breakfast was pastries, mufins, fruits, juice, coffee and tea, about what you would expect for continental breakfast. Added bonus is the free high speed wifi. Overall we give the Thunderbird lodge 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Address: 1350 Pine Street, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.