We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iffy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbank Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riverbank Inn to your Saves list
Riverbank Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Antelope Blvd., Red Bluff, CA 96080 (Formerly Travelodge Inn Red Bluff)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Special 20% Off
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Iffy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I saw the relatively positive reviews and $50-$60 prices for Riverbank Inn after a long drive and decided to just pull up and go...but when I went inside the woman said it would be $88. I mentioned seeing lower rates, but she looked at me blankly. It's certainly my fault that I went forward with the reservation, but I was tired.

Perhaps for that lower rate, this would be an okay place. But I must say that I felt a little taken advantage of in terms of pricing. The room was fine (again if it had been a lower rate). Smelled a little weird. No bath, just a stand up shower I didn't use. For one night at, say, $50, it'd be acceptable...but at nearly $90, it's laughable.

It also seems like there are quite a number of rooms where long-term residents are living. As a woman traveling alone, I felt a bit uneasy about the number of men (often more than 4 to a room) loitering around numerous doors. Perhaps this is just my paranoid problem, but it should be noted.

Nothing actually bad happened, but the larger price tag and feeling of staying in a place where most rooms were more like overstuffed apartments, basically made me feel weird. I'll be driving cross country again soon enough, and this isn't a place I'd return to.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick p, Front Office Manager at Riverbank Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest
During your stay we were mostly booked with a group event at our property and advanced booking is recommended. There are times guests staying at property may get together which you may have noticed. Property features rooms with tub showers and showers alone. Patio rooms and pool side rooms are at available at additional rates.
If you gives us second chance we are sure to make your stay more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

9/21/2014 The sheets were to short for the bed, the phone did not work when we tried to call the front desk for soap, there was none in the room so we walked to office to see if any was provided. The air conditioner was noisy and everything was just old and worn (dirty?) On top of that no policy to notify owners of left articles even thou they have all your contact information. Someone in their employment is now wearing a blue sequined tank top I left in the room when we checked out early this morning. I called after we ate breakfast , the desk clerk said she would look, of course it was not there, even the plastic clothes hanger was not there, only their hangers were in the closet. This took place before the next 2:00 check-in time and she said the room had not been cleaned yet, I called twice, so the mystery is how did the hanger and tank top leave? They did not come home with me. So I do not recommend this place, glad we had only one night here.

Room Tip: Select another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick p, Manager at Riverbank Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear Guest
We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused during your stay but if you had notified front desk upon check in we would of taken care of the matter. After a guest checks out housekeeping does clean thoroughly thru the rooms. There is a lost and find items recorded in the office. Look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

air conditioner did not work properly was very hot in the room and made loud noises. room was very dirty and had a bug problem. Only thing good is it was next to the river and the pool was nice and private.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick p, Front Office Manager at Riverbank Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest
We are glad you enjoyed the scenery but if you had a problem operating the ac you could notify front office
Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel is by far the worst! When arrived to our first room the ac was broke. When we switched rooms the room had a foul musty smokey odor and there were ants all over the bathroom. We had already decided we would never be back and then it got worse! We checked our bank account and we got charged a $100 deposit. We called them and they accused us of smoking in the room when we didn't! The manager was very rude, hung up on us twice and called us liars! We will be telling everyone about our stay and reporting this everywhere we can!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick p, Front Office Manager at Riverbank Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest
The hotel has designated non-smoking rooms and if a guest smokes in non-smoking room he is they are charged for cleaning but it is also an inconvienence for future guest.
We look forward future stay abiding by policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plains, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Though this is a bit of a run down and old style motel, without a free breakfast, and some of the guests seemed a bit sketchy, the air conditioning beat the 105 degree heat and the pool was clean. All in all it was well worth the under forty dollars I paid for the room. Perhaps much nicer than some costing three times the money.

Red Bluff is a nice little town, the Riverbank Inn a nice enough place to spend the night. We never heard the highway noise

Room Tip: Any room on the ground floor has poolside access through a patio door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick p, Front Office Manager at Riverbank Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest
We are glad that you found room comfortable and enjoyed your stay
Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel was one of the best we came across during our stay. We got a great clean comfortable room next to river. Unlike many basic hotels this hotel had a great price and nice scenery view rooms of the river. I would stay here again and recommend it back home.

Room Tip: looking for basic economical hotel with a great view and close to restaurants this one will provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick p, Front Office Manager at Riverbank Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the river view. Thank you for nice comments about finding the best hotel on your visit.
Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We paid $50 for a night (including taxes and booking fee) and thought this place was very good value. It's a budget two-story motel, but clean (stairs only to second floor). The room was spacious. It overlooked the river and swimming pool Large lawn. Our room had only a shower (no tub) but that's all we needed. They must be pretty popular because they were fully booked the night of our stay. Room had decent wif fi, fridge and microwave and was in a safe area.

The only reasons I did not give an "excellent" were two fold (1) the AC though powerful, was noisy, and (2) there were some ants in the room (another guest in another room also complained of ants), As I used to live in hot dry climes, I know that they can be difficult to eradicate when the temperatures soar and eventually just go away on their own. They did say they were planning to spray

But all in all excellent value for the price, especially the day after I paid $170/night for a hotel room that wasn't half as nice.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a first-floor room as you will have to walk up exterior stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick p, Front Office Manager at Riverbank Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest
We appreciate nice comments about the hotel. Located near river with 2 acres we try our best to keep hotel in order. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverbank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Inn

Address: 38 Antelope Blvd., Red Bluff, CA 96080 (Formerly Travelodge Inn Red Bluff)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Red Bluff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverbank Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Interstate 5, this Red Bluff hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a cable TV. Oak Creek Golf course is just a 10-minute drive away.A cable TV and hairdryer are provided in all rooms at Riverbank Inn. Each offers comfortable spacious stay and includes a view of the Sacramento River.Guests can relax by taking walk by landscaped gardens or take a walk by the river. There is a 24-hour Denny’s Restaurant located next to the Inn.Tehama County Museum is 14.7 miles from this hotel. Red Bluff Municipal Airport is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riverbank Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Red Bluff
Travel Lodge Red Bluff
Red Bluff Travelodge
Red Bluff Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbank Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.