I recently had the unique experience of staying in 3 different Best Westerns in 3 cities during the same week while hiking in Crater Lake, Lassen Volcanic and Redwood National Parks in southern Oregon and northern California.
This BW has 65 rooms, all nonsmoking, in 2 two-story buildings. Your room access is from the inside of the buildings, not motel style where you park at your door. Be warned, however, that neither building has an elevator so if you have a heavy bag and a 2nd story room, you will have to lug it up and down the stairs.
This was the 2nd BW I stayed at on my trip, but I liked it least of the 3 for several reasons:
1. Although this is also a BW Plus, it didn’t feel like it to me. The staff was not particularly friendly and I always got the feeling they felt inconvenienced when dealing with me. In fact, when I checked out, the front desk clerk didn’t even thank me for my business. I was the only customer in the lobby.
2. The swimming pool and exercise room were both closed due to construction last week when I was there. There is currently no warning about this on their web site nor was there a warning on my reservation confirmation.
3. The unattended breakfast room was very small with only 3 tables inside; however, there was also seating outside on the patio. The very small breakfast room also had 2 large (for the room) flat panel TV’s, 1 each on opposing walls, both on but on different channels and both with the volume loud so that you really couldn’t hear either well. Competing TV’s? And do I really want that much noise early in the morning? I felt like was in a loud sports bar. What were they thinking?
I was in room 259 for 3 nights. It was a large king bed room, but I won’t waste the bandwidth to describe the room in detail since you can get this information on their web site.
The room looked nice at first, but something inside the room kept stopping up my head down and giving me a sore throat. I never could figure out what was causing it, but it cleared up as soon as I left the building on each of the 3 days I stayed here so it was clearly a reaction to something in the room. This did not happen to me in any of the other BW’s I stayed in on this trip.
The in-wall AC and heating unit had no fan only option, which I like to use for white noise. Instead, it had to be on either heat or cool resulting in the unit constantly cycling on and off all night long and disturbing my sleep.
I also though the bathroom was poorly lighted, especially in the shower area, which had no light at all.
Be aware that the immediate area around the hotel still smells very strongly of smoke from the June 2013 Red Bluff fire (Google for more info), but this isn’t the hotel’s fault.
I can’t recommend this BW as I would not stay here again.
See my other 2 BW’s reviews for Klamath Falls, Oregon, and Arcata, California.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. I would like to tackle your issues one at a time:
1. We do meet all obligations and criteria related to our being a Best Western Plus. We realize that our property is smaller compared to most others with this description, but we are constantly going above and beyond to add to our property in an effort to more widely appeal to our customers. We apologize for the conduct of our staff. It is highly unprofessional on our part to not thank our guests for their contribution to our continued existence, and we would like to assure you that your business is indeed appreciated. We are sorry for this gross misstep.
2. We do apologize for the closing of the pool. As a result of the fire in June we are forced to rebuild both the pumphouse and deck of our pool area, and due to the large amount of debris finding its way into the water, we did not want our guests to swim until we could ensure their complete safety. Regarding the excercise room, it has not been officially opened as of this writing. We are still waiting for a few more pieces of equipment so we can offer a well-rounded fitness experience for our guests.
3. Regarding our breakfast area, we recently expanded the room so as to better accomodate our guests. The reason for the two TV's is because it is also a meeting room with full multimedia capability, although they should not have been on different channels. We apologize for this assault on the senses. We are currently waiting on new tables for the room that will allow more diverse seating for our guests as well.
Regarding your other issues, we apologize about your reaction you had while in the room. We use established cleaning brands to clean our rooms, and we apologize that they interfered with your health. With the A/C unit, you should not have had an issue with the fan, but we apologize that you did. We have let our maintenance staff know so they can look into ways to remedy this situation. And finally, regarding the lighting in our rooms, we are part of a company wide green movement to reduce our carbon footprint and part of this is our use of low output light bulbs to save energy costs.
Again, we are sorry that your stay was not up to par, and we hope that you will give us another chance to improve your experience.
Best Western Plus Antelope Inn Management and Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.