We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Internet ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 S Main Street, Red Bluff, CA 96080 (Formerly M Star Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Brit Columbia-Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Terrible Internet ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room smelled bad. The internet only worked if you stood outside your door. The grounds were definitely in need of maintainence. Overpriced for what we received, it did have a fridge which was great. The guy at the front desk was very nice and helpful.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very nice overnight stay at this hotel. We saw a great rate on the internet and the hotel matched it. The king bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The manager was helpful when we needed to print some forms and also we were allowed an hour later check-out in the morning.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I booked this room a day in advance and was shocked by the appearance in person as to what pictures online showed! First glance looks great but as soon as you set foot into a room you can see where the maids cut corners. We checked into our king smoking suite and as we checked around (both myself and husband are previous hotel chain employees) there was dirt and grime on the counter surrounding sink, pee left in toilet for so long that there was a film over the top of it, a few dead cockroaches in the shower and the a/c was barely even able to blow cold air! I was astonished by this as the reviews on this place were all fairly decent. Of course we called the front office and they were more than happy to "upgrade" us to a different room. I didn't realize upgrade meant severe downgrade. I went from a decently furnished nice looking king suite to a crap looking queen which also had issues even though management supposedly checked the room themselves! As we entered that room we found dead crickets AROUND THE BED, dirty sheets, really bad stained carpet, very dirty walls, big gap all around the door where you can see the light of day and stick your fingers through, the a/c tried to work at first but all in all we were sweating bullets all the way into the night. Finally about midnight the room started to cool and keep that temp. Our toilet clogged and I myself went to front desk to borrow a plunger and I was told they would send somebody up right away... Yeah, an hour later and the guy didn't even have a plunger, he had a huge toilet snake, which he then trailed nasty toilet water behind him as he walked through the room with it while leaving! GROSS! I guess I shouldn't really be complaining for only paying $40/night (that's the king suite rate they still are charging me for even after this disastrous downgrade) but even so, this is just plain ridiculous. If you can avoid this place I suggest you do it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I booked this room two days in advance. It was clean and well apportioned. The hotel was revamped a few years ago. While the furniture was a little dated, it was clean. The air conditioner was struggling to cool the room, until I folded the drapes back for it to flood the room. Last week of July and it was COLD! It is not fancy, but adequate for a quick stop. We did not go for a swim, but the pool was clear and blue (as pictured). This hotel had a mexican restaurant adjacent, two chinese food restaurants nearby and a taco bell. The very large and empty river bend park was a great spot two blocks off the main road to eat our food. My daughter and I did not feel unsafe, unlike how I have felt near the river in Redding!

Room Tip: This hotel is very near the river bend park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I met a friend here. We lived about 4 hours apart with Red Bluff being in the middle. We were meeting for some girl time, a swim in the pool and to relax. We had a hard time getting towels. The room was really gross, I was creeped out by the room and had a hard time sleeping. I'm not one that needs a 4 star hotel or anything, but holes in the wall and hair in the shower and spiders. OMG, there were spiders EVERYWHERE. Walking up the stairs I walked through webs, on the staircase alone I must have counted 15 spiders in their webs. So many quarter sized white spiders. They should paint the place black and market themselves as a haunted hotel and they could charge more money. So gross. Wish I had spend the $20 more to stay somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for the name of the nearest Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nice quiet and clean with very reasonable rates! Service awesome! I highly recommend ! I plan to visit again soon! Food and shopping close by !!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suren P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We appreciate your positive comments. We strive to make our guest feel as comfortable as possible. Thank you for take time out of your busy schedule to give us a great review. Hope to see you soon again. We now have a salt water pool, hope that you will come back to enjoy the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The room was spacious for an inexpensive motel and very clean. As others have said, the room had a refrigerator and microwave, but no coffee maker. The motel is within walking distance of the riverfront park, restaurants, and the historic downtown area.

There were some odd things wrong, however. The sink had no cold water - VERY hot water came out of both faucets. There was no way to close the bathroom sink drain, nor was there a screen over the drain. The do-not-disturb tag was dirty and sticky.

The WiFi was really good though - fast and reliable, better than places that I've been that were 3 times the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suren P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time to giving us feed back. We were glad that you chose us for your accommodation needs in Red Bluff. We look forward to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff

Address: 210 S Main Street, Red Bluff, CA 96080 (Formerly M Star Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Red Bluff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Red Bluff located off of I-5/S Main Street near West Side Highway. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site restaurant, BBQ and picnic area, and outdoor salt water pool (open from May to September). Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wireless high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms, as well as access to copy and fax services. Step into the privacy and comfort of your own guest room featuring amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, satellite TV, Showtime, ESPN, desk with lamp, table and chairs, clock radio, free local calls, and wake-up service. Select rooms are handicap accessible and feature grab bars in the bathrooms. Our suites feature a recliner and sofa. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, come stay with us and experience all that Red Bluff has to offer. Pets are welcome, charges and restrictions apply. A beautiful, scenic city overlooking the Sacramento River, Red Bluff has been designated a Watchable Wildlife Area. The area offers excellent fishing, picknicking, hiking, boating, swimming and wildlife observation. Our Red Bluff hotel is near several local attractions such as Kelly-Griggs House Museum, Gaumer's of Red Bluff; showcasing semiprecious and precious stones, Red Bluff Round-Up Museum, Sacramento River Discovery Center, and Shasta Wildlife Rescue and Rehab. Head over to William B. Ide Adobe State Historic Park and learn about the special skills and work activities of California pioneers. Play a round of golf at Oak Creek Golf Course. Get some strikes at Lariat Bowl. Check out a flick at Prime Cinemas Red Bluff. For some skating fun, visit Red Bluff Skate Park. Enjoy a delicious meal at one of several nearby restaurants including New Asian Garden, Palomino Room, or Jack the Ribber. At Americas Best Value Inn Red Bluff, We’ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Red Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.