We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FEELS LIKE HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sportsman Lodge

Sportsman Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sportsman Lodge to your Saves list
Sportsman Lodge
768 Antelope Blvd, Red Bluff, CA 96080   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FEELS LIKE HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Feels like Home away from Home. Barry, the owner, and his wife are terrific hosts. They treat you like friends, not just guests. The property is peaceful, affordable and the owners are very accomodating. We stay for weeks at a time and there is no where else in Red Bluff we would rather stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
10
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bandon, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Price was right $40.00 and the room was huge, felt very safe and the Front Desk was very helpful. The rooms are dated and feel that way. A few updates would make it so much better ie flat screen tv, and new towels would be very nice. The internet worked very well. All in all a good cheap place to stay on a road trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I was traveling solo back up I5 to my home in Bend, OR. I stopped at a rest stop and checked Trip Advisor for a place to stay in Red Bluff. Sportsman Lodge had quite good ratings so I stopped there. The host was very accomodating and as a solo female traveller, very considerate as to suggesting a quiet room close to the office. The rooms were very large, but to my disappointment, also very dated. I sensed they were clean, but with the worn carpets and old tile in the bath, who could tell...a tad creepy feeling. Free wifi was good to have, but the TV (not flat screen) was very tiny and with 102 degree heat there was little else to do but watch TV. I would probably look for a bit more modern motel the next time for comfort sake. The price, however, at $45.00 wasn't bad.

Room Tip: The host said all the rooms were quiet, very true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

I travel I-5 a lot. When in Red Bluff, I usually stay along the business route through town. This time, I drove in from Chico and noticed Sportsman Lodge from a coupon in one of the giveaway books you get at rest areas. What a pleasant surprise. Nicely maintained rooms, quiet, good quality linens and bedding, and very friendly management. If you like supporting independent's, this one is for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed at two very run-down motels in Redding before discovering Sportsman Lodge. We looked at almost every motel in Red Bluff. THIS IS THE BEST!

The rooms are large, light, comfortable, clean and quiet. And the price is very reasonable! If you're staying in the Redding/Red Bluff area, and you want quality for less, this is IT!

We will stay here again if we come to this area!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

My husband and I are hikers, and we have chosen this motel for many years when we visit the Lassen area. This is a typical American roadside motel, complete with cement deer out front, but it's safe, cheap, and the mom-and-pop owners make you feel--almost literally--like you're part of the family. For example, we were offered a sampling of a home-cooked Indian meal, and they happily research our local questions by looking them up on the Internet (when we forget to bring our own computer--they do have wireless). We intend to remain regulars.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sportsman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Lodge

Address: 768 Antelope Blvd, Red Bluff, CA 96080
Location: United States > California > Red Bluff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 king bed, 2 queen beds, 3 beds, pets welcome $+, all rooms are on ground floor, free parking, in-room coffee, microwave/fridge, HBO, Hairdryer, large rooms, wireless internet. Next door to Fairgrounds. Gateway to Lassen National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sportsman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sportsman Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.