We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you're looking for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan Run Club & Resort

Save Saved
You added Morgan Run Club & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Morgan Run Club & Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5690 Cancha de Golf, Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Long Beach, California, United States
1 review
“Depends what you're looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed here because it had the best rate ($84) that was closest to The Crosby.
Check in was the worst experience. They had 1 person at the front desk, no one to help with bags to check in and the hotel had a very "old" smell. Almost smelt like a retirement home. The rooms are ok. They look like that remodeled the bathrooms because it had granite counter tops, however there was burnt out bulbs and dirty toilets. The vanity did include a illy cappuccino maker and a large area with lots of mirrors to get ready. Which is nice if you have more than 1 person getting ready. The air conditioner is loud. The beds and comforter, pillows and sheets are quite comfortable. There was free cable and large desk. Which is nice for business. The patio was large and nice addition. It was great to hang out outside for a little bit. We were on the 1st floor. We had a breakfast room service and the food was really good, but room service extension didn't pick up and we had to order via front desk. When the food came, the delivery guy had to carry it on a huge tray from the cafe, which was 3 buildings away. So by the time he got to our room, he was in a rush to put the tray down and almost dropped the tray on all our stuff on the desk. I thought that was odd that they didn't deliver food on a rolling tray like most hotels. Here's the best part...THE SPA. Our room check in jacket had golf and spa specials. The spa was $125 for 50 min. massage and 50 min facial. Which is a great price! The spa was practically empty, which is a nice change from the crowded Burke Williams that I'm used to. Our reservation was last minute and they were able to accommodate 2 of us. It was by far, hands down the best massage that I've ever had. And my friend that I traveled with thought the same. The grounds (golf) is beautiful. The cafe has decent food and I want to come back with my husband, just for the spa! If you're looking for 5 star hotel amendments then this isn't the hotel for you. But if you're looking just to play some golf and go to the the spa kinda thing, then this is def. a place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis i, Manager at Morgan Run Club & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
The Morgan Run staff appreciates the feedback. We will continue to improve wherever possible. As you may have noticed some areas have undergone major construction and there is additional capital being spent in the upcoming year. Your feedback only provides more clarity to the issues we see and plan to address. Hopefully you will join us again soon to see the additional improvements. If you have any additonal concerns or questions, or just want to setup another massage please feel free to give me a call. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    48
    31
    25
See reviews for
51
50
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Horrible front desk. Not kid friendly. A/c in room is loud. Not secure rooms(broken sliding dour). They should remove the word resort from the name and change it to motel. Then get a flashing neon sign that says, rooms by the hour. Golf course is great though

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rancho Santa Fe hotels

2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We were hoping to chill out around the pool for a couple of days at this resort following a long road trip........ This was not to be the case!! For two of the three days we weren't allowed near the pool as it was booked out for a private party and a luai !! No mention of this when we booked of course, but it could be argued that we 'got to share' these events as you will be able to hear them very well in your room!!! Very tired beds, that literally felt as if they were on their last legs (very wobbly). Reasonably priced food in restaurant spoilt by 20% service charge. Check for events here before you book. Unlikely to return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel wasn't too bad. It had some small disappointment depending on how picky you are but aside from this it was ok. My only complaint for me was the uncomfortable king bed (you can tell they cover this up w/a feather down comforter on top of the mattress) and the hotel store only caters to golfers (granted it's a golf resort but not everyone who stays here are golfers and would prefer other options). The heating/ac units are loud and make it hard to hear the TV and the prices for their movie rentals are just ridiculous and should come free to customers. Aside from this, it wasn't bad and if I had to I'd stay here again...and be a little more prepared next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A beautiful 27 hole golf course and hotel five minutes from the Interstate, with an affordable price. This is where we put our visiting relatives and friends. All rooms are refurbished with new carpeting and furniture and flat screen televisions. We prefer the rooms facing the golf course because the view is marvelous. The new menu offers tasty items that are priced reasonably, and the service is usually very attentive. The full service spa is a delight and the fee is still reasonable. We continue to enjoy recommending this hidden jewel.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf view room for a more vacation feel and atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

On the surface this property is okay, but not really a "premier" resort as the website claims. Restaurant, bar and lobby area dated. Hot tub is often broken and dirty; pool is often cold. Pool is a free-for-all with no supervision at all.

I severly cut my foot on a broken metal piece in the hot tub requiring an emergency room visit. No manager assisted me at the time of the injury and my call to the general manager 2 days later was unreturned. There does not seem to be a policy in place to handle accidents. I would question how the managment deals with unexpected problems and how the general manger trains his staff to handle guest issues. He seems uninteresed to interact with guests who have onsite problems. This property is just not run like a high-quality resort.

I have had some nice interactions with service employees. The gym area is nice. Spa average but in no way at the level of much nicer facilities within 5 miles. I am not a golfer, so I cannot comment about this. But if you are looking for a top-quality, well-run resort and outstanding pool area, this is not the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Nothing about this place makes any sense. Front desk folks are less than helpful and really not interested in your overall experience. Hallways have old carpets that are stained and dirty. Then open your room door, here is what we found, toothpaste smeared all over the shower curtain, burnout lightbulbs, old furniture and huge stain on the carpet of red unknown origin. Double queen suite which housekeeping forgot to put a duvet on, so had to ask for a duvet. The noise level is unacceptable, cars, loud motorcycles and their owners pour into the place starting at 5:50am, yelling and screaming, the leaf blower and landscape folks are in constant use starting at 6:20am even on Saturday. Don't bother calling the management, they make excuses for themselves. I personally would be embarrassed to call myself the manager of this place. If you want to have a relaxing vacation or resort experience take a PASS and RUN from the Morgan Run!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morgan Run Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Run Club & Resort

Address: 5690 Cancha de Golf, Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92091
Location: United States > California > Rancho Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan Run Club & Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An irresistible invitation to relax and unwind at a unique All-American style club. Escape to an island of great service and pampering in our new family-inviting pool, relaxing sun bathing area, top of the line gym and rejuvenating day spa. Do nothing or do it all, play golf, tennis, work out or just relax. Our restaurant's incredible view from our dining room includes a great selection of cuisine for the in discriminating palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Morgan Run Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Run Club And Resort
Morgan Run Club Hotel Rancho Santa Fe
Morgan Run Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan Run Club & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.