We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, not bad or great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bashi

Bashi
100 Terranea Way, Terranea Resort, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Okay, not bad or great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had lunch here and while the food was not bad, it was not good either. It was kind of bland. We were staying at Terrenea and chose to eat here because it was a decent price and the smell coming from the kitchen was terrific but not a lot of flavor when you actually ate. Service was unremarkable also.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

we tried all sorts of things, all good.
Be sure to read the interesting history of the 'Bashi name.
I would definitely return

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The sushi at Bashi was fresh and delicious, and the wine selection was fantastic. Get a table outdoors under a heater and plan to stay a while!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“imaginative use of flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This Pan-Asian inspired restaurant was among on of the most unique dining experience I have had at a hotel property. I dined with a group of four. We used server recommendations to order for the table. It was spectacular

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Mediocre food, Atrocious service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Was glad to see Terranea developed another casual restaurant, as Nelson's on the water always seems to be full (can't figure out why Nelson's doesn't allow reservations at least for hotel guests, as they ought to). Bashi is very casual, almost has a quasi chain feel to it, not really what you would expect at a resort. The food was OK, mostly unremarkable noodle and predictable Asian food dishes of average quality at above average prices. Our most recent dinner there was next to ruined by an immature, untrained wait staff. A bunch of teenagers, really, with indifferent attitudes, who shouted to one another across the restaurant, started stacking tables while there were a number of diners still present, and generally couldn't be bothered to attend to the guests. Hello, Terranea is an expensive resort--where is the training and adult supervision here?!!!

My husband and I live in Los Angeles, and I love Terranea and the grounds and spa, all of which are really special. Unfortunately, the dining options at Terranea in general just don't live up to the quality of the resort. Bashi is as above, Nelson's you can't get in on a weekend, and even Sel, while good, is a long way from top notch dining in its food quality. We keep waiting for management to wake up and shake up the dining at Terranea, for we would be more apt to visit frequently if the dining wasn't such a repeated disappointment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bashi also viewed

Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 

Been to Bashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.