We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bashi

Bashi
100 Terranea Way, Terranea Resort, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Palos Verdes Estates, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We really love it. My husband always has to have the Edename. It is lightly tossed with sesame oil and sea salt. Very yummy. Worth going in and enjoy the ambiance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevres. France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lacks imagination”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The staff are extrememly helpful and service is great. Have had a few dinners at Bashi and try to vary what I order, but very average. For calling it self "Fusion" the menu should be more inventive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

if you like P. F. Chang's then Bashi is about 100 times better. Would eat it every day. The Shaking Beef was one of the best dishes we have ever eaten. The flavors were complex and the chef had obviously spent time developing these wonderful dishes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding Asian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

While we have stayed at Terranea many times, and enjoyed eating at the other restaurants on property, somehow Bashi escaped us. It was really serendipity that stepped in on this particular evening, and for that, we are grateful.

Due to our lack of planning, the restaurant we were trying to get into was completely booked. Bashi was located on the 2nd floor in the main building, and although we'd seen it before, we'd never dined there. It was late, around 9:30 PM, and they close at 10 PM, but, that did not even matter. The menu was inspired, and the service and food were nothing short of amazing. Some of the outstanding dishes we enjoyed included: The Ahi Tartare, Sesame Coated Edamame, Wok Charred Shishito Peppers (these are not too spicy, but AWESOME), Spicy Garlic Green Beans, Pork Fried Rice and Shaking Beef. The sushi was also fresh and delicious, and they accommodated my wife's request for a soy wrapper instead of Nori.

All in all, a wonderful experience, right up there with all the great dining experiences that help make Terranea the special place that it is. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Need finishing school”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food was quite good but the servers, while frtiendly, were slightly unprofessional. They could use a week at Ritz Training Camp. Still food was good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bashi also viewed

Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 

Been to Bashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.