We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Brunch with a Majestic View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Kitchen

Catalina Kitchen
100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Terranea Way/Palos Verdes Dr. South
Description: It's one of the dining options at the Terranea Resort Hotel in Rancho Palos Verdes.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Luxury Brunch with a Majestic View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second visit to the Catalina Kitchen that is located inside the Terranea Resort in Rancho Palos Verdes. The property sits on a cliff overlooking the Pacific and is surrounded by a nine hole golf course and housed in a majestic resort hotel.

The brunch is superb in every respect - service is excellent and the quality of the food is exquisite: individually prepared and cooked to order, fine varied selection of seafood, meats and deserts. All is combined with a paramo mic view of the acidic and the coastline. We were there on a Sunday and saw a school of porpoises swimming off shore.

Despite the surroundings, the meal is fairly reasonably priced and worth every dime of it. This is a must stop place to visit when traveling to Los Angeles.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    66
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“THANKSGIVING DINNER TO DIE FOR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The 'CATALINA KITCHEN' had an unbelievable turkey dinner for Thanksgiving. It came as a sit down family style meal. The flavor of all the food was almost like home made. There were 2 adults for dinner. They brought us a large plater of white meat & one very large drum stick. We had white mashed potatoes, yams, & a variety of vegetables, etc. There was a variety of breads. To top it off one could go up the dessert bar with many kinds of goodies. The service & atmosphere as always was outstanding. All the food we could not eat was bagged & we took it home. There is enough food for two or more meals. We had a surprise when we got home they had given us a whole pumpkin pie! They are doing a special dinner on Christmas Eve & Christmas day. The menue looks very interesting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Overpriced buffet and cold food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The server talked me into ordering the Fiday night buffet. It was pricey at $55 but I did it anyway. What a mistake that was. The lobster bisque was hot and yummy. But the rest of the choices were tasteless and cold. This place is so everated that I will not go back. They also started charging $10 for parking. So not only do you have to pay for cold overpriced food, but you have to pay to park!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had breakfast here twice during our stay and dinner once. The corned beef hash was awesome as well as the Belgium waffle. Louisa was our server each morning and she was great. For dinner we split the rack of lamb and I'm glad we did. That was so much food. We had the calamari appetizer and were already full before dinner came. The mac and cheese side was awesome as well. The service is impeccable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unforgattable Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Four of us with 2 birthday ladies enjoyed the dinner, the occean view, and the conversation tremendously! The service was excellence, too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Kitchen also viewed

Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 

Been to Catalina Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.