We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place with gorgeous views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glass Church / Wayfarers Chapel

Glass Church / Wayfarers Chapel
5755 S. Palos Verdes Dr. at Barkantine St., Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
310-377-1650
Improve this listing
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overlooking the Pacific coast, this beautiful church was designed by the son of Frank Lloyd Wright.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting place with gorgeous views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a glass church overlooking the coast set in the middle of some trees. It was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright's son. Architecturally it's very interesting, but there isn't really much to do here other than soak in the gorgeous coastline views. It's probably not a place I would go out of my way to visit, but if you happen to be driving down Palos Verdes Drive South, it's definitely worth a quick stop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    32
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wayfarers (Glass) Chapel/Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is one of the famous gems of our city, Rancho Palos Verdes.
It lives up to it's reputation to please and provide beautiful views too.
One of my daughters was married there for an unforgettable once in a lifetime (hopefully) event!
It was just marvelous event and has impressed (us) over and over again with it's beautiful setting and
all! Well worth the effort to get there!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The setting of this small chapel is quite serene, right across from the Pacific Ocean. It's great for a 15 minute visit - or a wedding.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Landmark of Palos Verdes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

When ever we have guests from out of town we show them this beautiful glass church that sits on a hill among pine trees and grass overlooking the ocean. It is a peaceful spot 5 minutes from our home that is uniquely built and always impresses!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“My favorite sightseeing church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a must sightseeing area in PV whenever I escort my international guests around. These are the highlights: overlook of the gorgeous Pacific coast, unique glass church, beautiful garden, and quiet hillside. We visit it at least yearly or more with our guests. One of my friends got married there--memorable experience!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Church / Wayfarers Chapel also viewed

 
 

Been to Glass Church / Wayfarers Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glass Church / Wayfarers Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.