We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whew....glad that worked out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Save Saved
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$500 Resort Credit!
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Whew....glad that worked out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

After reading these reviews I was extremely pessimistic about how my stay at this resort was going to turn out. We stayed 3 nights at $200/night for a bungalow.

First; the service. The service throughout our stay was excellent. This included an issue where they charged my credit card up front for our entire stay upon completing our reservation. The charge was taken off my credit card with an apology. Every employee we had contact with seemed knowledgable, friendly and were very honest about how they were working hard every day to get the kinks worked out. Every request we made was attended to appropriately. Housekeeping came everyday. The only minor complaint I have was the turndown service. Turndown service included ice in the ice bucket and a decorative pillow that was removed from the bed. The dreaded parking issue I knew that was awaiting us upon check out was a non-issue. The $30 a day charge was taken off with a smile and an apology since there was no mention of a parking fee when I made the reservation.

Second; the setting. The setting is in a class of its own and I couldnt imagine anyone having any complaints about it. The trails and grounds made for very scenic jogs or walks. The golf couse seemed nice, but it is a par 3 course and I decided to play Los Verdes instead (get there EARLY).

Third; the room. We stayed in a bungalow with an ocean view. The view was not as good as I would of liked, but we were a short walk away from an amazing view. The room was spacious and clean.

We only had one real meal on the property at Nelson's. There was a 45 minute wait and the food was fair. The other restaurants seemed nice, but since it was so busy that first night we decided to error on the side of caution and chose to eat away from the resort. To be fair the resort really cleared out after that first night and the restaurants did not seem to have any waiting during the weekdays.

The pools were nice and accesible. The workout room was spacious with several machines available. It is dog and kid friendly, so be aware of kids on scooters going down the hills. The resort has its own beach cabanas, but entering into the water is not possible. Your best bet is Malaga Park if you want to get into the water.

Trump National is also down the road and there is a beatiful park that is accessible from the course. I was surprised that it was so open to the public the way it was.

Overall, it was a great experience and well worth the price. With rumors of financial issues and now a wildfire nearby, get out there while you can.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    878
    277
    92
    42
    53
See reviews for
368
510
33
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed four nights in August, 2009. We usually stay at Four Seasons level of hotels and are rather picky. We had a wonderful stay at this new resort in Southern California. All the hotel staff were incredibly service oriented. We were a little nervous after reading some earlier reviews, but were very happy to find out the previously inexperienced staff has figured out how to treat their guests.
The views from every location at the resort are breathtaking. We enjoyed the adult and spa pools (since we didn't bring our little ones with us on this trip). Loved all the dining locations. And tried out all the bars too. Favorite was the "Dreamsicle" type drink athe adult pool and the Ruby Ginger Martini at the Lobby Bar.

We are planning another trip back later this year. (We live in Houston).

We recommend this resort for a beautiful Pacific view resort.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendora ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Enjoyed our overnight visit. We got the early internet special which really was a deal. The bungalows were roomy and well equiped. The staff friendly and helpful. Played golf and again the views were fantastic. Ate at Nelson's and the food was good, but, come on, $8 for a Carona.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I just returned from the hotel after spending 3 nights. I was with my wife and three daughters. Overall a terrific experience. The staff while a bit awkward at times was wonderful. The resort is beautiful. The food and drink is expensive. Park your own car and save the $30.
Overall I would call it a 4 1/2 star resort (out of 5).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The good:

The resort is brand new. Beautiful room with killer view of the Pacific coastline. Nice pool, amenities, comfy bed, well-decorated. Pet friendly; I saw lots of people with their dogs.

The bad:
The resort is brand new. Thus, it hasn't worked out its kinks yet. Staff poorly trained and don't have a clue as to policies, rules, or customer service.

Stood at front desk without being acknowledged because the two employees were chit chatting about someone. This isnt Motel 6; if you are busy (which they weren't) you still need to say "I'll be right with you."

Didn't have our room ready till 5 p.m., which is outrageous. It was like this for multiple other guests staying there too.They kept saying they would check and call us back to let us know the estimated time it would be ready. Never called us back. We had to call them every half hour because of their BS. No apology, no nothing by way of compensation for the 5 p.m. check in.

Valet told us we'd be better off parking with them because self parking is $20/day and valet would be $30 for the whole stay. We asked him several times if he was sure it was for the whole stay and not per day. He assured us it was a $30 one time charge. You know where this is going -- our bill showed $30/day parking fee!

Restaurant -- yes there were 15 of us for lunch but really, an hour and a half for our food to come out? They weren't even busy (it was a Monday) and there were empty tables everywhere. Sandwiches and pizza take that long? When you are charging $16 for a basic, dry burger or a BLT you need to not forget to bring out the fries and you need to not take 1 and 1/2 hours to serve the food. No manager came by to apologize, nothing was taken off our bill.

Asked multiple times for a 1 hour late checkout (on a MONDAY) and were flatly refused, despite our reminder that they checked us in late. They finally granted our late check out request because we were stuck at the restaurant for so long as mentioned above that it passed the normal check-out time and they had no choice.

Bellman came to our room half an hour after we called for one. At least he apologized and was nice about it.

Nice place but service and skills truly lacking. The only people who truly knew how to do their jobs were the housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I am not a fan of the city, its not bad, but for someone just passing through (doing the trip down the PCH) I didn't want to spend time driving through the city, so i decided to book a few nights here as a treat for my wife, being our one year anniversary I was really hoping the hotel looked and felt like it did on the site, and let me tell you it did. Service was great from the moment we pulled up we were treated like VIP guests and not like people who booked on Expedia like some hotels do. Our bags were brought up immediately.. the room was amazing and the view.. well the view was perfect no matter which way you looked. As far as the service and wait times I noticed that our room only had one chair on the balcony, a quick call to the front desk and 15 min later that was resolved, and sure i didnt have wine glasses, but they were brought up with a wine opener in minutes, if people have trouble waiting for a few minutes for things that I feel bad for the world, stop being so picky. Food was outstanding and although wasn't the cheapest i have ever had, for the setting and prices for food at other LA establishments, it wasn't anything unheard of. The gym, pool and spa facilities are great and the little things that people are complaining about on the this thread are just that little things.

We had an amazing trip and the two nights at terranea were a big part of it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Two or three times a year my wife and I meet another couple for a weekend retreat. Often Palm Springs or Laguna. This year we tried the new Terranea Resort. What a disappointment! The resort is located at the former site of Marine land and it is a lovely setting. From a distance the facilities remind you of the old structure , which is not such a good thing. Overbuilt, unimaginative multilayered buildings are crammed into what could have been a very peaceful spot. The owners seemed to have taken advantage of all the easy money being passed around before the recession and overbuilt everything. Now they have to pay the bill.
Overpopulated it is, and perhaps that’s the worst problem. We counted five weddings between four o’clock Saturday and two o’clock Sunday. Large weddings, too many guests. Another similarity to Marine land.... crowds. Lines to get to and from valet parking. We waited at least twenty five minutes from the time we called from our room until we spotted our little Prius in the line snaking toward us. The valet manager expressed his chagrin by comping the thirty dollar daily fee.
The rooms were pleasant, but we had to move out of the first one. Instead of the promised ocean view we were given a view of a stairwell and rather loud (and crowded) pool area. Although to be fair the ocean was visible. Each room is the same (and if you like privacy you may want to think twice since the bathroom door is an open shudder and the commode is enclosed in frosted glass). The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet, but the room was really just a hotel room and for $500 a night we expected something a bit more inspiring.
Dinner at the Catalina Kitchen (chosen because the “signature” restaurant was booked) is best avoided. By day a coffee shop, at night with a change in the lighting it becomes the second tier restaurant. Like the rest of the resort it was crowded. We waited twenty minutes to be seated even though they had a table. The staff couldn’t keep up. After we were seated we were served some wonderful bread, really delicious, then we waited...... and waited...... until in frustration we flagged down the harried looking manager, sweat dripping from his soggy hairline, who at least started us with wine and found our waitress- who was lovely. But even on alert, the service continued to be sloooooooow. But at least the food was mediocre. My friend and I, by then certain this was not going to be an inspired meal, ordered the burger. His wife had pork and my wife settled on her favorite fish-Salmon. This poor fish must have been raised on a farm and showed his outrage by producing a very strong Salmon taste, not pleasant, edible. The pork was reported to be good. The waitress said it was her favorite. The burgers were boring, just dull.
The place is isolated so you really are a captured audience. The next day, with little hope, but sufficient hunger to weaken our resolve we returned to the Catalina Kitchen and put our name in for breakfast. (It’s the only place to get a full breakfast) And waited..... Then we were seated.... and waited. The same manager, still tired, came over and once again got the service started, but the food was of the same quality as dinner.
People flood the grounds, there is no sense of serenity, everything is rushed. The staff was pleasant but the plan, the concept is flawed. If you want a mass market outlet then don’t advertise as if you are a four or five star venue. This is not. It is similar in energy to Kaanapali in Maui. Or Waikiki or perhaps Las Vegas. But it is not the place to go to relax and enjoy the view. As my wife said as we left, “This was the worst resort experience we’ve ever had.” Unfortunately, she was right.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.