We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Save Saved
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$500 Resort Credit!
Pasadena CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded our Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Stunning views, gorgeous decor and superior service. We had a wonderful vacation and would come back in a heartbeat. Family pool was perfect temperature. Beautiful ocean views from all the public areas and obviously ocean view/front rooms. It was absolutely 5 star. Staff could not do enough to make sure our vacation was enjoyable. Rooms were spacious and beds very very comfortable.

Breakfast buffet was great in the Catalina Restaurant, pricey like most resorts like this, so try and get a bed and breakfast package. Lunch at the pool was average and overpriced, but hey we were not there for the food. We went off property for dinner to awesome places like the Grill du Chateau on Deep Valley Rd in Rolling Hills Estates and The Original Red Onion on Silver Spur in the same area.

We will be back ( hopefully on another reduced priced package) and will happily bring friends. Why spend the airfare to Hawaii when we have this new gem of a resort in our own backyard.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    854
    259
    84
    39
    51
See reviews for
349
491
33
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I recently stayed here for 5 nights this past week. The resort is beautiful. Stunning views from all around. The property is very nice. However, it is not a five star resort. It is missing the nice touches that good five star resorts like Ritz and Four seasons have. I agree with other reviewers that the service can be slow at times. We waited 20 minutes for coffee at the Catalina restaurant for breakfast. Our waitress disappeared and never returned. We finally asked someone clearing a table for coffee. Housekeeping never cleaned our room one day,we left the clean room sign on our door at 10 am and came back at 6pm, it wasn't cleaned. Kind of annoying as we were tired and wanted to relax in our room. They promptly cleaned the room though. We went to Nelson's, they didn't seem overly busy. There was no host at the front and we stood waiting for over five minutes. Staff was walking by and never approached us or even said we will be with you in a minute. We took it as a bad sign and left. The food was over priced and we found the menus limited. If you don't have a car it is impossible to go anywhere else so you will need to rent a car if you don't want to eat at the resort. We tried to make a reservation at the Catalina restaurant on Thusday for Friday evening and we were told that they can't make take any more reservations, not that they didn't have them for later that they aren't allowed to make over 80 reservations in a night. They told us to come early 6:30pm and they would try to accomodate us. We were a little irritated as we are paying hotel guests and you aren't willing to make us a reservation even for 9pm??? Come on, that has never happened to us at the Ritz Carlton. The staff in general was very helpful and friendly. Very eager to please. The concierge was great too. The spa is beautiful. Alania the hair stylist in the salon was fantastic for hair services!! She was very good and very friendly.The entire spa staff was great. The resort has the potential to become an amazing five star resort if they can just work out the kinks. I think I would go back after a year and I'm sure( I hope) things will be running more smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan beach, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

This place is beautiful. You will love the view and all that is around. Do not go with high expectations of anything else. The staff is nice though not always on top of things. From our room we called down for a wine opener and an hour later it was still not there. We asked for the paper to be delivered in the morning and nothing came to us. We ordered breakast to the room and it took 45 minutes (for bagel, coffee, and waffle). The dinner service was no more on top of things. We asked for 3 different things that never came. Everything was slow and we felt like we kept losing our server. It is nice that they have a pool for adults only. There is great music and an amazing view. It does close early though, so don't plan to lounge with drinks during the night. The drinks are pricy and you don't get much for what you pay.
The resort fees are high and to valet your car is another $30. The place is not cheap in any way possible...
I think they have a long way to go with the resort and should figure things out as they go-like not to have the blower running at 7:15 AM...
Overall, would possibly still go back just because it is so beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

As a local resident of the area, my husband and I decided to go try out the new resort. We were not disappointed. The Terranea Resort is absolutely beautiful. The hotel is tastefully decorated and designed. It is elegant without being "stuffy". The staff seemed eager and proud to show us around the property and were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our late night dinner at their bar/restaurant, Nelson's, which overlooked the ocean and we kept warm by the firepits and fireplace. Afterwards, we took a short walk down to the ocean which is very relaxing and romantic. I highly recommend the Terranea for a relaxing get away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

The location is amazing, the bar with the fireplace off of reception is beautiful and the views are fantastic. The service is not 5-Star, I do not blame the staff because most likely they were not trained. I stayed there 3 nights and each day there was a list of things that went wrong. The highlights 1) Valet lost our car 2) plumbing backed up into bathroom took 60 minutes and dozens of phone calls to get assitance 3) Adult Pool and three of four wooden beds with broken hinges and they could not be used 4) Adult Pool attendants were useless 5) Nelson's food was mediocre, but expensive 6) after tracking down and accessing business center all computers were password protected checked with reception and after a series of calls I was told I went to "the fake business center" and I shouldn't have accessed that room, that for me was the last straw I spent 30 minutes trying to print boarding passes and checking out only to be told I was at fault. My experience was probably felt even more disappointing because I had just stayed at the Four Season's in Scottsdale, AZ that was pure luxery and I should not have expected that experience at this resort considering all of the negative reviews.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

This place is wonderful. We stayed in a three room casita (for four nights) which would easily accommodate three couples and give them all private large bedrooms and bathrooms. Spacious patio - additional sitting area at entry with fireplace. Golf course wasn't open yet, but that was the only disappointment. We will return even when the prices go back up. If you missed out on the promotional offer then you missed the deal of a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bay, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

.Rave reviews from friends prompted a short stay and birthday celebration at Terranea.

After an efficient and friendly check in we turned to our rooms and the view out of the corridor window on the way was exquisite and I hope it was carefully planned and not an accident of design….. That view is echoed throughout the hotel which occupies a fabulous location.
Room quality was excellent, opening onto the pool area giving easy but secure access. Our rooms were adjoining which always helps in child management! Simple but elegant furnishings and exquisite linens made the rooms a joy.
A pool cabana was useful in the heat and for just ensuring the children stayed out of the sun for excessive periods. Pool staff assisted with entertainment , toys and games , joining in and providing guidance. A DVD player in the Cabana was a nice touch as was fresh fruit.
While no lifeguard is usually present in the family pool ( there is also an adult pool which we did not use) the water slide was carefully monitored and we were grateful for that.

Dinner at Catalina Kitchen was excellent, with better than expected service from a well informed and eager to please waitress who managed the adult and child part of the party fantastically well. Starters were individually portioned not huge but adequate and we shared the Clam Chowder, the Mezze and the Calamari and resisted the temptation to order more between the 6 of us adults. We sampled a variety of the gourmet flatbreads and a good part of the rest of menu , we would highlight the Berkshire pork, a Grilled Pork Chop accompanied by a confit of Belly pork. I never thought I would find myself writing about a Pork Chop but this was the best I have ever eaten !! It has to be tried!!
Star of the main course? The Mac and Cheese with Pancetta and truffle oil….. one of the sides we chose and couldn’t resist ordering more of.
The wine selection was very good and even at the lower priced end we found good value in the Husch Pinot Noir and the Frogs Leap Sauvignon Blanc.

My family left having had a great time and felt thoroughly well looked after, we had a 5 star experience at a 5 star resort and we are looking forward to the next trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.