We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its Finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night FREE!
Westminster, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury at its Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Traveled from Denver to California coast for my wife's birthday and stayed at the resort. Excellent accommodations and very courteous staff that went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and just to say hi.

The view of Catalina Island was gorgeous and listening to the waves at night made for great sleeping, particularly when from landlocked Colorado. Resort is conveniently located to all of the tourist attractions of southern California.

We look forward to staying there again!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach K, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Robert,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay here at Terranea. We are so glad that you enjoyed the staff, accommodations, and views and that your wife had a great birthday with us. We hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    297
    96
    50
    55
See reviews for
392
550
36
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

TERRANEA is by the ocean on a most beautiful property that is just 40 minutes outside of L.A. GORGEOUS & CLOSE!! It is as though you have traveled to a Caribbean Island or flown to Hawaii. The SPA is amazing, the views are unreal and you are just so close to L.A. People come from all around the world to enjoy the first class spa that offers every spa service you can imagine. The pools are both adult friendly and there's a huge one for families as well. The hotel rooms are quite nice, BUT the OCEAN VIEW BUNGALOWS & CASITAS will take your breath away. I don't play golf, but the course is highly touted. First class to casual dining that also provides fine service with spectacular views of the Pacific. If your lucky there might be dolphins and/or whales to watch as well. Call for reservations or check out the website. There's nothing misleading or misrepresented. I might add that utilizing AMERICAN EXPRESS PLATINUM TRAVEL SERVICES may provide special offers that are worth considering. TERRANEA is a very special place.

Room Tip: Go with OCEAN VIEW and if you can accept the rates, the CASITAS and Bungalows are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach K, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Stan,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay with us! We are so glad that you found Terranea to be a memorable experience with our gorgeous ocean views and award-winning spa, golf course, and restaurants. We thank you for being our guest and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So, 9th trip to LA. Third stay at Terranea this year.

My first two stays here were 4 star and two star respectively.

This stay?

Well, I must first congratulate the hotel management for identifying potential issues within this already impressive property. Secondly, the attention to detail despite the fact the hotel was very busy was second to none.

This trip I made use of Bashi, Nelsons, Ceilo's, valet, pool, spa the entire resort and often the perfection of the lounge and the staff there.

I'm easy to get along with but I'm hard to impress especially when in California. This trip was flawless thanks to the attentive staff of Terranea. From check in to lounge to Nelsons to Bashi, etc...was perfection.

Stand outs were Jennie in the lounge and her perfect attention to every detail despite being ridiculously busy due to a packed lounge. This isn't just flawless training, but is indeed a reflection of the quality of people Terranea focusses upon during the hiring process.

I'm trying hard to find something wrong with the stay, but I can't. The property is always first class but this trip, the staff was impeccable...which was my original complaint for the first two stays this year.

Very well done, Terranea...the effort was obvious and appreciated!

I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I reside within 42 minutes of the Terranea Resort so I am here picnicking or feeling the 420 vibe weekly with edibiles and bud; this resort is way too cool and immaculate!
I always self park for free; on site or off site; it is acceptable and cool.
I usually bring a bottle of my favorite wine and other treats to prolong my visit...
I also stay overnight here whenever I feel the need to get lost in my psychedelic thoughts without harm or judgment, so pass the shrooms please!
Do Nelson's for Happy Hour; their giant pretzel is so wonderful to enjoy! Again, you must sit outside to feel the continuity of happy thoughts.
During your visit, if you get early morning munchies, then you must do sea beans for your coffee wake up, ice cream/gelato, XLNT bakery goodies, and candy snacks.
What to do here, you may ask? Enjoy your freedom here; enjoy looking and spotting dolphins; look over there, how many whales do you see? Check out the scuba divers with their spears searching for White Sea Bass; fun sport or a misunderstanding of alien life in the sea. The best part of being here is simply doing nothing but enjoying the resort vibe.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect spot for some quiet "adult" time away from the kids, and the hectic pace of life in LA. Enjoyed the Terranea experience, with 2 night + 3rd night free. Pricey few days, but, overall, you get a luxury experience. Enjoyed nice dinners, and being able to leave the car behind for a few days. Adult pool very quiet, saw dolphins in November both days. The resort was not crowded, and so was very quiet, and perfect for what we were seeking.

Room Tip: Ocean side was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach K, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Melissa,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your getaway and were able to experience our restaurants as well as spot some wildlife. Sounds like you had a great time here with us! We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Terranea Resort for four days over the Thanksgiving Day weekend. In summary, the entire property far exceeded my expectations. We rented a 2 bedroom casita as our party included my wife and I and our two teenage sons. The casita itself was spacious, and luxurious with a fully equipped kitchen with high end appliances. The patio off the living room was a fantastic place to hang out as the views overlooking the ocean were fabulous. We were literally a "stone's throw" from the bluffs overlooking the Pacific. The property has great walking trails alongside the bluffs.

The resort is a large sprawling resort and while the section housing the casitas was fairly quiet, we noted that closer to the hotel side of the resort, it seemed somewhat crowded; a fact we attributed to it being Thanksgiving Day weekend.

There were many dining choices on the property and the spa and fitness center were first rate. The Par Three course on site was very nice and surprisingly challenging.

I do have to note that the place is expensive; from the room rate itself, to the cost of dining, green fees at the golf course on site, etc. Be prepared to shell out some big bucks.

All in all, a memorable visit and a place we would seek to return.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach K, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent visit. We are so glad to hear that you had a great Thanksgiving weekend with us in your casita. We have passed along your comments about the pricing to our management teams and hope to learn and improve from your feedback. Again, we are happy to hear that you had a great time overall at the resort and hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived the last week of my son's summer vacation and boy was this hotel crowded. Great for them, but not for us. As a result of all the crowds I feel our service was a bit compromised. For the most part the resort was fine, but it wasn't very relaxing. The facilities like the pool were loud and all the restaurants were always full. Its quite far from Los Angeles attractions as well. Not sure if we will be coming back for a stay ? Two things I can say, is the staff was quite friendly and the spa services were lovely.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the parking lot if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.