We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the midst of LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Labor Day Getaway
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An oasis in the midst of LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Wonderful resort away from the city. Thoroughly enjoyed the location and the attentiveness of staff. Very relaxing setting. Out of the way location....not a lot around the resort. Really enjoyed golfing at Trump just up the street. Staff was very accommodating providing shuttle service to and from Trump National.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    337
    118
    61
    68
See reviews for
464
616
42
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I came upon this place by chance while driving potential neighborhoods to live in and stop for lunch and we knew we would be back. We stayed for a couple of days during valentine weekend and since I didn't wanted to travel terranea was the perfect getaway choice. Spa is fantastic, the hospitality is amazing and the restaurants are great. We had dinner at the Asian restaurant and the food is amazing, we where shocked at the bill because we pretty much ordered everything on the menu and it was a great value. Afterwards we went to the lounge and there was live music playing...great band. Everyone was having a great time. We would definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Maridania,
Thank you for your feedback and congratulations on your baby moon! We are happy that you found Terranea and had a nice time. We hope you will return to enjoy bashi, the Lobby Bar live music, and other Terranea activities! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very beautiful resort and environment. Room, spa, pool, walking trails, fitness club and views were all wonderful.

Attention to minor details were lacking, however, which is why I would rate it 4.5 stars. The first big issue for me was at check in. I had prepaid for a regular room with 2 beds. Unsolicited, the agent offered me an upgraded view, BUT FOR MORE MONEY. At the Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons hotels, I am usually offered an upgrade for no additional cost, if a room is available. If I had wanted to pay more money for an ocean view room, I would have booked it in the first place. I felt like I was at a rental car counter, where they were trying to hawk me the BMW over the Ford. Chintzy.

Other minor issues: Concierge lady didn't know much about anything. For instance, we requested information on a local winery and tour. She said she didn't know much about it, and never even bothered to offer to call and find out more info or make us a reservation. She just gave us the number to the place for us to call ourselves. Also just printed off some confusing directions to Malibu instead of showing us how to get there.

Other reviews may echo this, but the restaurants are very expensive. Breakfast for my family of 4 (2 kids under 13) cost generally $130+ a day. Lunch was routinely $200+ and dinner more or less the same. Food was good, but just know what you are getting into. There's not much outside of the resort close by as an alternative. Valet parking was also $35 a day, and literally every day they were confused about which car was ours and where they parked it. Literally every day! I had to describe it every time we retrieved it: Make, Model, what the key looked like, whether it was rental car, AND FROM WHAT RENTAL COMPANY!

Sea Beans coffee shop/sandwich place was great. Staff there and at other restaurants/lounges was superb. Also, the other staff members were always very pleasant and smiling.

Terranea is very, very close to reaching the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton status and experience. They just need to hone in on the finer points of a guest's experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I did a 'staycation' in January and I still can't stop thinking about it. We live only and hour away, and this will be our new local place to get away. I was floored by just about everything. The staff was very courteous and we didn't encounter any attitudes, even when the Valet stand seemed to be a bit busy on check out.

We stayed in one of the Villas on the northern end of the property. We had a one bedroom with a kitchen, living room and dining area. It was decorated very tastefully, and equipped with just about anything we could need. The two balconies were exceptional. The views we had were simply breathtaking.

We walked the entire resort, and even took the path down to the beach. The overall vibe was relaxed, professional and very accommodating.

The food was great, although we really only did the Sunday Brunch at the resort, and that was an unreal experience too. The diversity and quality of food was top notch.

Is it worth the money? By all means, yes!!

We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a Villa if they have it. It never hurts to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is an amazing property with stunning ocean views, manicured grounds and great rooms with comfortable beds. I ate at Bashi and the sizzling beef and calamari was amazing and well priced.

Sea beans is a great coffee house and cafe where you can buy yoghurt, fruits, sandwiches, ice cream and much more. They do pancakes outside on Saturday and Sunday and burgers at lunch time.

The resort itself is pricey but the service is great. There is a golf course and spa onsite.

They charged US$1,000 to my card as a holding deposit when I checked in without saying anything which I think is a big negative. I don't mind paying the deposit but not knowing meant I nearly rang the bank to cancel the transaction.

The resort is isolated if you don't have a car which is great if that's what you're after but if you want to shop in LA or do some sightseeing it means expensive taxi/limo fares each way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We just returned from a trip to the Terranea Resort and are bummed to be back in chilly Minneapolis. Everything about our trip was wonderful. When we arrived at the resort on a Monday evening, we were upgraded to a Casita near the ocean. It was heavenly. The view was incredible and the accommodations were excellent. While the weather was only in the high 60's to low 70's we were able to enjoy their pool that is positioned in the most beautiful, scenic spot on the property. I've been to many different high end hotels in the LA area and this is hands down the most stunning and picturesque property in the area, and the property is extremely well managed to boot.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with an ocean view - you will regret it if you don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Chris,
Thank you for your review and recommendation. It was a delight to read about your experience at Terranea and we hope you were able to bring home some great photos and memories! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

One of the best, absolutely great. Beautiful property and grounds, great rooms, restaurants and services, including a spa, fitness center, and pools. Breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, can't say enough to share our experience here. A little expensive, but worth it, better than Four Seasons, at a better value. We are from the east coast, and after seeing the coastline, my wife now says can't compare to the Atlantic Ocean. The cliffs are amazing, just a great place for a vacation

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room, we also had the bed and breakfast package, which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 19 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 17 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#10 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#6 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.