We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Views and Attentive Staff Made for a Great Conference Experience Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Save Saved
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 30%
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Magnificent Views and Attentive Staff Made for a Great Conference Experience Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at Terranea Resort for a business conference two nights in late October 2013. The staff was friendly and attentive, the grounds were neat and clean, the views (when the sun came out) were fantastic, which all made for a great conference experience. Would highly recommend this resort for business conferences, cannot speak to the leisure activities.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms may require a bit of a hike from the lobby, but are well worth the trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    808
    242
    77
    36
    47
See reviews for
330
457
31
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The real estate that the hotel sits on is nice. The Hotel is not, The food is terrible!! Overall it feels like a cheesy time share, Sorry Terranea you need to try harder, Much Harder.
If you're looking for a relaxing spot near Los Angeles, this is NOT the place.
If you're looking for a fun spot to enjoy the Ocean you'll have to use the pool.
If you're looking for a great spa you won't find it at Terranea
It's a good place to stop and look at the view for a minute or two but Not to Stay.

Room Tip: A good room would be at any other hotel...pick one just south in Laguna Beach or north in Santa Moni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Peter,
We are sorry to read this. We have replied to your Yelp review asking for more details regarding your stay, but we have yet to hear from you. We hope you will reach out so we can assist. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is such a beautiful resort. Views of ocean from every room. Champagne upon checkin. Rooms are pretty with balcony comfortable beds and spacious bathroom. Attended a wedding which was outside on a bluff facing the ocean. Cocktails on a terrace for a spectacular sunset and to dinner in the ballroom. The only disappointment is having to leave. Will be back again soon

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Look - I like Terranea as much as the next guy but.... they've got a raccoon problem. We saw 3 come out of the trees and go into the sewer by the main parking attendant. Then we saw one strolling the main thoroughfare right next to us as we dined at Bashi. Others mentioned they saw them come out of the bushes in the pool area. Yikes!

This place is a gem - but apparently they need a full time trapper until the problem is fixed. If that's what we saw in the short time we were there - can only imagine how bad the problem is.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was my third trip to the Terranea Resort.....and it was my best trip yet! All trips have been memorable, but this time I secured a one bedroom casita with a full kitchen and living room, just steps away from the cliff and the Pacific Ocean. This room was truly amazing! The kitchen was totally top-of-the-line.....even the stove was a Viking (never seen that before in a hotel room). And outside the sliding glass door was a fire pit, a perfect spot to watch the sun go down. The bedroom was quiet and conducive to a good night's sleep, the only sound being the ocean waves hitting the beach. The grounds were quite beautiful with superb pool areas and a spectacular golf course. The walk to the lighthouse is well worth the time. The only downside to this hotel is that it is expensive!

Room Tip: Ask for a Casita suite on the Pacific Ocean.....but be prepared to pay for the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Only got to stay here 1 night, but it is a gorgeous property with views to match. The service was so so, with them not being able to check us in on time & the restaurant service being slow. Bottom line, I would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked an oceanfront room. While we did have a nice view of the ocean, we were set back a considerable distance from the bluff. We stayed in one of the casitas, and we really enjoyed that. It was very quiet and parking is available near the room. We had to walk to reach the hotel amenities, but we did not mind at all as the walk is so lovely!

Room Tip: The casitas are away from the ballrooms and restuarants and nice and quiet. Very nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes
Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.