We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect luxury getaway by the sea.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive a 3rd Night Free!
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect luxury getaway by the sea.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The prettiest, most relaxing setting in the greater Los Angeles area. Fantastic staff and amenities. Is there a nicer view of the Pacific at any other resort, in L.A.? - NO, and it rivals even the best of the Orange County beach resorts with none of the huge traffic jams.

Room Tip: The south-facing rooms get the best view on this peninsula, and south-west on higher floors deliver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    337
    118
    61
    68
See reviews for
462
615
42
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We loved our stay at Terranea but did not ever see the sun. We were there the week of 4th of July. We hear the sun barely shines in June and some of July. We loved the par 3 golf course and still dream of casual dinners at Nelsons...get the bavarian pretzels!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We played the 9 hole par 3 golf course and it was beyond our expectations. Far from an ordinary executive course each hole has its own challenges. Beautiful views of the ocean and Catalina Island from almost every spot on the course. It is a walking course only, no electric carts so you really enjoy the surroundings.
We had a great day and then enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Catalina Kitchen restaurant.

Room Tip: did not stay at the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The amenities at Terranea are absolutely wonderful. From a magnificent dinner at Mar'sel to a spa my wife says is the best she's ever experience, this is truly a place to enjoy. The location on the spectacular Palos Verdes coast has spectacular views.

The only issue we have is with the lodgings. We have stayed at Terranea three times, and each time we have had to be relocated. The first two times we reserved an ocean view room in the tower, and both times were put in a coast view room. This last time we rented a bungalow. When we entered the smell of gas was overwhelming! We were relocated to another bungalow a couple hours later (after check in time). It was a wonderful space, however the entryway had sticky floors, and food was left over from the prior occupants.

In the future, we'll probably come for the day, enjoy the spa and dinner, and just go home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The views of the Pacific Ocean were incredible. The design and layout of the resort is perfect. Hotel staff from the front desk to housekeeping was great. The rooms and restaurants are expensive but overall Terranea delivers a quality experience.
My room was pretty basic but nicely appointed and ocean view. The grounds are well maintained and provide terrific opportunities to exercise and enjoy the shoreline + views.
Played the executive par three golf course with my 13 year old son. Golf staff was very nice and helpful. Course is in great shape and a lot of fun to play. One of a kind setting.
Overall, loved the resort and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, Usa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The property is beautiful and has a spectacular ocean view - though no access to it. When we arrived, the valet & front desk staff rushed us through as they had conference attendees arriving and the lobby was mobbed. Most of the staff - pool staff excepted - were efficient but unfriendly. The bellman criticized the property we had just come from, where - unlike Terranea - we had a very pleasant stay! Conferences are big business for hotels but seeing all those people running around wearing badges at what was supposed to be a relaxing getaway made me feel like I was at work. It was a pretty hectic atmosphere. The view at Nelson's restaurant was beautiful, the food ok, and staff once again was harried. I ordered a drink that the waiter recommended instead of the one I was requesting, and finding it not to my taste I wanted to exchange it, but we didn't see him again for half an hour. For the cost of a stay here its not unreasonable to have high expectations - a decent nights sleep would have been nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Natsmavenus,
We appreciate the time you took to provide your review and we are sorry to read about your evening with us. If possible, would you be able to provide additional details about your stay so that we can use your feedback to improve? Our email address is terraneasocial (at) destinationhotels .com or you can send us a direct message. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel located in Ranchos Palos Verde is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed. It is on a cliff with spectacular views of the Pacific. The hotel is in a Spanish/Mediterranean design style (The location reminded me of Cabo San Lucas). It is quite large and spread out, with golf carts driven by hotel employees available to take you where you need to go. The hotel employees were very professional and courteos. I attended a conference here, and the conference room facility was nice (similar to most upscale conference rooms). There are rooms in the main building of the hotel where the lobby is located, and separate rows of Casita's with standard room and larger suite configurations. I stayed in a large sized standard room casita with a balcony and full view of the Pacific. There are 8 restaraunts at the property as the hotel location is remote and nothing else is within a quick drive or walking distance. I ate at the Japanese restaraunt Bashi, and Catalina Kitchen both featured great dining. I did eat at Normans which is right on a cliff overlooking the ocean. They have a wonderful outdoor firepit which was great for conversation in the evenings. The service at Nelsos was very very slow unlike the great service we received at the other two restaraunts. Fox Sports was hosting their on air talent while we stayed and it was fun to see Terry Bradshaw, Joe Buck, Howie Long and others walking around the resort. Since it is on the cliffs of the Pacific, a hoodie, or jacket/pullover is a must as it was quite windy/cold in the evenings. I highly recoomend Terranea as a great resort within 30 minutes of LAX.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 19 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 17 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#10 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#6 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.