We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an amazing place. A serene hideaway just outside of Los Angeles.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night FREE!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quite an amazing place. A serene hideaway just outside of Los Angeles.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Terranea has everything that a person could want. The view is amazing and very relaxing. You don't even have to leave the resort ever! The restaurants are all very good and the food is very fresh. This is a great place for couples, families or friends to meet. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Christy W,
We would like to thank you for this review. We appreciate your kind words and can’t wait to welcome you back to Terranea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    305
    99
    51
    58
See reviews for
399
561
36
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had been aware of the financial problems encountered by the owners of the Terranea Resort as they sought to open this four star resort. In re-using the 100 acres formerly housing Marineland of the Pacific, the developer had to overcome the objections of the city, the residents, the California Coastal Commission and eventually, the banks as they sought to get this 582 room hotel open. Following the opening, and despite better than expected occupancy and glowing reviews, they had to file for reorganization.

I would never have booked a trip here except for the offer from TravelZoo for a rate that was about 33% off plus a $50.00/daily restaurant credit. And yes, I was intrigued to see what all the fuss had been about. A four star resort basically in the middle of nowhere? Had they pulled it off?

I went in looking for problems and I found few. The registration went without a hitch and included their customary offer of a glass of champagne or bottle of water. Our TravelZoo offer was for an oceanfront room and that is exactly what we got. The room was spacious, the bathroom came complete with both a bathtub and a shower, the linens were top notch and the room had a flat screen TV. Every room has a balcony or a patio that comfortably seats 2 (although with little privacy).

My one objection (which isn't major) is that the primary elevator near the lobby is quite a distance from some of the rooms. The hotel is laid out to take advantage of the ocean (although there are court yard views also) so the hallways zig and zag throughout the property. In addition, because the property is basically built on a hillside, what you would think of as ground level (where the lobby is) turns out to be the fourth floor. We were on the fifth floor of the six story building and yet if we went down a stair way at the end of our hall, we were in the parking lot exactly where we had parked our car. So we never used the elevators in the lobby but this is not a luxury that everyone will have.

This is a resort so that really should be the emphasis. To that end Terranea excels. Our first restaurant was the casual "sea shanty" Nelson's. We were there for appetizers and a drink as we waited for the sun to set. There was a fireplace on the patio and a fire pit in an open area over looking the setting sun (while a few whales passed by).

Our resort credit was only good at their casual eatery/convenience stor, seaBeans. You can get coffee/tea/smoothies there in addition to pastries and simple breakfasts. They also have available food to go for those on the run. Lunch is a mix of salads, wraps and sandwiches. Dinner has light fare but includes a gelato bar. All items are reasonably priced.

We didn't try Catalina Kitchen, bashi or Mar'sel. We walked by Mar'sel and saw their herb garden so we know they are using fresh ingredients. We walked by bashi and could see they were in the final throes of re-landscaping for the Asian theme. We suspect Catalina Kitchen was the go-to breakfast/lunch place for people at the hotel for a convention (of which there were three groups while we were there) but given our credit and the casualness of seabeans we were comfortable going there.

We did not partake in the spa but we did play the nine hole par-3 golf course. That was very enjoyable with exceedingly good service from the guys in the pro shop. They are understandably proud of the niche they serve which includes hotel guests as well as locals filling their tee times with women's events, local challenge events and of course hotel generated group events.

It was the folks at the pro shop that gave us the low down on the resort. They believe that because the resort is a little off the beaten path it lends itself well to corporate sponsored retreats and conventions. They said another large group is the local residents who are looking to get away for a couple days maybe to escape young families by leaving the kids with grandma and grandpa while the new parents seek a romantic weekend away....close to home.

We barely touched the amenities available. We didn't go swimming, we didn't "spa", we didn't partake in bocce or croquet, but they were all there. I think this facility is many things to many people but one of the things it is is a good source of employment. The staff from the front desk to the restaurants to the ground crew to the pro shop all acknowledged and greeted us during our 48 hour stay. And while I would prefer to pay a discounted price in the low season, I can see where this would be a wonderful romantic get away even if it was at full price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I think I would prefer this hotel in the spring, fall and summer. January is a tough time, with fog rolling in and staying in Rancho Palos Verdes when the sun was shining a half hour north in Manhattan Beach. I don't know if we just hit a bad period of weather or not, but it's worth looking into.

The hotel is big but it's in great shape. The individual rooms are large, with terraces, and many have views of the Pacific where dolphins play. The staff is very friendly, the spa is beautiful. There are three pools - the big one is the family pool, and there is an adult pool that is closed off season (when we were there). There is a pool at the spa that is open to anyone to swim laps from 6 to 8 am and pm. The spa pool area is very pretty. The bungalows are comfortable with nice terraces although they are near the spa and Nelson's restaurant, so I would check to find out if there is a noise issue.

There really isn't a lot in Rancho Palos Verdes, which is a suburban community, so Terranea is a place for relaxation, outdoor pursuits when the weather is good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the farthest wing - we were in 3132 - are a hike from the lobby - but have the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Almost forgot that we were in California. Palm trees and view of Catalina made it feel like we were in Hawaii. Private entrances to rooms in alcoves instead of long hallways. Food expensive-but it's a resort. Can't wait to be able to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear doheny675,
We are happy to read this review and hear that you were able to “escape” right here in California! Looking forward to your return visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

An amazing resort with spectacular views and facilities. Rooms are lovely, and many great restaurants are on-site. Top-notch food and service. Not far from LAX, and an enjoyable drive down to the resort. Rooms are spacious, and the property is huge...can take a while to walk to/from your room, depending on where your room is located.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a very special place! The grounds are immaculately kept, and the ambience is pleasant, peaceful and beautiful. From everywhere on the property, you have ocean views, and the pool is probably the best location. The staff are attentive and professional. The spa was terrific - quiet, elegant with excellent services. The restaurant (Kitchen Cantina) was a little slower than expected, but the food was very good. Rooms are gracious and comfortable. A little piece of paradise, and hard to believe you are so close to the "concrete jungle" of LA!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear AmyEBooth,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read about your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our little “piece of paradise” one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Terranea REsort has everything you look for in a resort, big beautiful rooms, activities to enjoy and spectacular views. The restaurants on site provide an excellent cross section of seafood and meat choices with nice views of the coast. They have an excellent coffee and treat shop on site and if you want to go to the small local shopping center, they will shuttle you there as well. The conference areas were great for smaller conferences and the staff was very helpful and firendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.