We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Save Saved
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$500 Resort Credit!
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our company hosted an event here and we found the venue to be just gorgeous. Staff were very accommodating, and the event went off without a hitch. Very convenient as well with proximity to LAX. Would recommend the location for couples as well as business travel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear FRSbuyers,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your company event and we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    860
    266
    87
    40
    51
See reviews for
355
497
33
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of November for a conference/long weekend. My husband had requested an ocean view and we were given one of the casitas with a nice view of the grounds and ocean. The room was a generous size, the bathroom was awesome--plenty of room- with a tub and separate shower, and the grounds around us were quiet. We had nice meals at both Catalina Kitchen and Nelsons and, while both were always busy in the evening, we had pretty short waits to be seated. I spent each morning at Sea Beans with my chai latte and the staff there was very friendly and helpful. Afterwards, I'd walk the trails along the cliff. You really can't beat these views. Just breathtaking!

I

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

By booking a room at Terranea, I avoided staying with the in-laws. That should be reason enough to rank the resort with more than five circles, if that were possible. But dissecting that consideration out the evaluation, we did have a great stay. The Oceanside Room's view was spectacular. Having grown up in Palos Verdes (PV), but now living in New England, I had forgotten how beautiful the PV can be. From a geographical and historical perspective, Terranea is situated on the far side of the Peninsula on the former site of Marineland of the Pacific and near the former site of Japanese American farmland where, until the 1980s, some of the juiciest strawberries to be had anywhere were produced. That the resort is on the far side means that there are panoramic views of Catalina Island, Point Vincente lighthouse, and the surrounding cliffs. However, its location also tacks on at least 15 minutes to trips elsewhere in the LA area. While there's are some shopping areas and restaurants elsewhere in PV, the selection is limited. Therefore, contented visitors are those who are okay with relaxing poolside, enjoying the setting, playing some golf, taking walks, and dining at the several nice restaurants on the premises. It worked for us. One complaint: the parking charge is rather exorbitant considering the hotel's location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Count yourself lucky if you end up here on a business trip. I was there in November and while the weather wasn't perfect for only one day. I loved the place. Overall facility and location are among the best I've experienced.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our second stay at Terranea. The service was five star! Many thanks to Bianca Santos for making our 25th anniversary so memorable. We loved every minute of our visit! We were in a casita and had the most breathtaking view. I love everything about Terranea. We live locally, but feel like we are so far away from home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Treeniek,
Thank you for your review and happy anniversary! We will certainly pass on your kind words to Bianca and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is about the best I have seen in a while. It definitely is a good if not better than a lot of four seasons I have stayed at.

The food was out of this world and I would highly recommend going there over a weekend so you can taste both the Saturday and Sunday brunches.!

There are 3 pools: 1 for the family, 1 just for the adults and 1 for the laps.

The view is breath taking !

Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed several nights attending a work conference, so I can not speak to costs, but the resort was absolutely stunning! I can not imagine a more beautiful place to stay in California. The ocean views, pools, walking paths, and food service were all absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have incredible views of the ocean, but ground floors have walk out patios, some wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.