We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An opportunity not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An opportunity not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Terranea last week for business and it did not disappoint. The resort is located in Palos Verdes which is less than 20 miles south of LAX. It is located on a Peninsula that overlooks the Pacific Ocean. The rooms are very nice (mine had a small balcony with a great view of the ocean). It also comes with a five point bathroom which I believe is standard for all rooms ( I appreciate the shower being separated from the bath tub). The grounds are expansive and it is perfect for those looking to relax and who enjoy taking walks along pathways that run parallel to the ocean for miles.

What impressed me most is that the Resort was sold out during my stay so I was prepared to be inundated with other guests at the outlets, fitness center etc. This was not the case, Terrenea offers a number of Food & Beverage outlets as well as two pools (one for adults only) as well as a large fitness center and so you have the feeling that you are the only one in-house... Overall, an incredible stay with very friendly staff and beautiful accommodations.

Notes: The Fitness Center is located in a separate building and across from the spa however, you need to go through the Spa to get to it. I found this out after touring the outside of the Fitness Center. Also, the Resort is less than 20 miles from LAX however, this is LA so plan on about a 40-45 minutes drive. Remember though, that for most destinations you cannot fly direct. 40 minutes in a car beats a layover in the airport waiting to catch my second flight...

Room Tip: A large number of rooms have Ocean view so requesting one should not be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    308
    101
    52
    58
See reviews for
405
566
36
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have no criticisms of this truly lovely resort. I do offer one comment for anyone who is mobility challenged. (The thought comes to mind because, on a recent cruise, it seemed that 25% of the travelers were.) The rooms and facilities are really spread out, so if you are mobility challenged at all, be sure to let the reservations people know that when booking your room. My room was on the first floor. To get there, I had to take one elevator down, walk to (find) a very unremarkable door, get through it using my key, walk down 2 long hallways of rooms to another elevator, and take that down one floor. I was at the resort for meetings -- with almost no free daylight time. I am sure that if I had taken the time, there was probably some outside way to get to my room. Enjoy. It's a beautiful place. But unless you are comfortable walking up and down stairs (sort of slippery when foggy), you may not fully enjoy this place. At least take your best walking shoes. You will want them anyway for the trails.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear JP&mom,
Thank you for sharing this review of Terranea. We agree that we do have a lot of land to explore and your comments are helpful to other readers! When making a reservation, please inform us of any location concerns and we will work with you to find the ideal room. We also have trams and golf carts that can assist in traveling the property. Again, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time at Terranea and we hope to welcome you to Terranea again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was at Terranea for a business retreat. When I heard we were going to LA this year, I pictured a nice hotel but stuck in the middle of unsightly urban sprawl. What a surprise. Terranea is spectacular, built on a point that juts so far out into the Pacific that you can see sunrises AND sunsets over the ocean. The grounds are green and spacious. It's a lot more like La Jolla or Monterey than what I have come to expect from LA. With a setting like this it almost wouldn't matter what the facilities are like, but in fact, they are equally spectacular. I'll definitely be back next time I am visiting family in LA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the Casitas; they are set off from the hotel and feel more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear cameraman612,
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed reading your reaction to the beautiful land surrounding Terranea. We agree that Terranea does not feel like a typical LA resort. We appreciate the time you spent writing about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Terranea the next time you are visiting family in LA. Thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms are very nice and the staff was very helpful, but for me it is really all about the grounds. It is so nice to walk along the cliffs. The spa pool is also the perfect spot for early morning laps.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Top ammenities: loved the trail system around the hotel and throughout the community for running and walking; active whale, dolphin and sea life visible; spectacular views; comfortable rooms. Nice selectrion of four onsire restaurants. Drawbacks...no beach or water access on site (cliffs and rocks but very scenic); no activities, shopping etc nearby.

Room Tip: For best ocean views, ask for a room above the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was only one night but truly a night to remember. Loved the ambience and overall feel of the resort. The entrance is elegant but not intimidating. Very friendly and polite staff throughout hotel. Room with an ocean view and small balcony was just right to view the sunset.
Spotless and inviting pool areas. Great trail to beach and lighthouse.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking west for the sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent our 10 year anniversary there. Beautiful property, gorgeous views and friendly staff. The spa was great. My husband had the seafood buffet Friday night ... Not worth the price but decent. But the only way we'd stay again is if it's at the discounted price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.