We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night FREE!
Burwood, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights 11-14 Aug, and another three on 27-30 Aug.

Being Australian, and having done LA before, we really just wanted a spot where we could relax, at the start, and end of our holiday.

Terranea fitted the bill perfectly. Yes, you need a car to get there, but driving from the Hertz depot at the airport was really easy. It helps having a GPS :)

Rancho Palos Verdes (what a cute little town) and Terranea Resort is probably a much grander version or Lorne or Torquay... so a lot of Americans head down here to stay in the warm weather.

The first three nights we spent in an Oceanview room in the main building. Wonderful views, amazingly comfortable bed, gorgeous bathroom.. no complaints.

The last three nights we spent in a Spa Bungalow, 41-402, which had slightly obstructed views, but still gorgeous.

Nelson's was our favourite spot to eat, affordable, and really good food, with a view to boot. If you can get down there for the sunset, it's worth it. it can get a bit chilly at night, but they have fire pits and gas heating to keep you warm.

We ate breakfast only once at Catalina Kitchen, and i really wish we had of eaten there more, as it was delicious. You can order from the menu, or help yourself at the buffett.

We also ate at Bashi, which is Asian cuisine. Yum.

The pools are great, the main pool is big, with a waterslide for the kids (and there were a LOT of kids) and a couple of spas. (i probably wouldn't want a room overlooking the pool as i would think there'd be a bit of noise)...they have great service, Shelby runs around and brings you drinks, food.. you don't have to get up! there is an adults only pool too which is great, but when it's busy, there's no room to move.

We didn't get a chance to try it out at the start of of the month, but towards the end of the month, the resort was noticeably quieter, and we had the adults only pool ALL to ourselves. the menu is different down there, a bit more flash. if you're after burgers and hot dogs, then stick to the main pool.

The Spa was just gorgeous, but EXPENSIVE! FYI ladies, i had a pedicure, and an hr long massage which cost me $350. i nearly fell over. it was $15 alone, just for polish. Because of my treatments, i had full access to their pool. (only spa clients can use it, however they do offer day passes for $40..... that's a lot of $$ to use a pool!) I initially thought being a guest in a Spa Bungalow meant i could use this pool, wrong. And i wasn't prepared to pay the $40. as nice as it was!

The car parking is fine - self parking is $20 a day, Valet is $30. However if there's a wedding on, which there is bound to be every weekend, the car park becomes full very quickly.

My partner played golf twice, the first time he played, earlier in the month it cost him about $100, to play 9 holes, and to hire equip. the 2nd time he played, later in the month, again, 9 holes + equip, it was $60.

Trump National is just up the road, but i think it's very expensive to play there.

The Front desk was lovely, Rachel in particular, she was gorgeous.

There are bikes you can hire i think, as well as kayaks..and if you can get out to Catalina, i would.

Just up the Rd is Golden Cove which is a shopping centre. Has a Trader Joes, Starbucks, pharmacy, 7 eleven, which came in handy.

The rooms we stayed in had a fridge (no mini bar) and tea/coffee but nothing else,. no cutlery etc so you're forced to eat within the resort pretty much, which isn't a bad thing! but it can get pretty pricey.

Great spot for couples, families, business (i noticed a few conferences) and weddings!! Apparently there is 1-3 weddings held every weekend.

I found staying there during the week, towards the end of Aug, was a lot better than over a weekend, at the start of the month. i really noticed the difference.

I'd be interested to know what it's like in September.

All in all, i'll definately stay here again, as it was just beautiful, and the perfect place to escape LA if you've been there, done that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the pool, or the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    297
    96
    50
    55
See reviews for
392
550
36
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tucson, Az
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Loved this place!!! The property is beautiful and the grounds are stunning! We came here for a wedding this past week and what a beautiful and romantic setting it truly was!
The rooms are beautiful and very clean and comfortable. We had a great ocean view with a balcony to sit and just enjoy the lovely scenery. The staff was great and went beyond expectations. Our first room was not to my liking....did have an ocean view but was somewhat obstructed. Our bellhop said to us, wait right here and I will go get you a room with a better view. He was gone no more than 5 minutes and back with a set of key to a room that had an amazing view of the ocean! The pool area looked wonderful but did not get a chance to go down there this time around. We ate at Nelson's and Catalina Kitchen and both were great.
We loved our two night experience so much that my husband has moved his staff meeting from downtown LA to here and I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Loved our 4th floor Ocean View but would also love to bring my family and stay in a casita!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The property is stunning and the views are the equal of the Amalfi coast and pebble beach. It is a fairly large complex and be sure to check where your casita or bungalow is located if you wish to avoid long walks. Note there are golf carts which serve as free taxis but they aren't always immediately available. The flowers, landscape, seascape and architecture fit together beautifully. It is a joy to walk the property and walk you will.

We had 2-bedroom casita with kitchenette, living room, and two balconies which had ocean views. Clean, spacious, plenty of art hanging. Bathrooms great although water pressure heavily throttled in the name of the environment. Beds and bedding great. Entire casita in perfect working order.

Restaurants and services are very good and although pricey, not as bad as most high end resorts where you feel a hand in your pocket at all times. Not like that here.

Overall a great place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

A fabulous resort with a great staff, lovely grounds, fun adult pool, good selection of restaurants (I love the new casual Asian place) and great rooms. Kids Club is also a great plus as well as the water slide. And, can't beat the experience at Nelsons. What a great weekend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi Nicole,
We are delighted to hear about your weekend at Terranea! Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Terranea soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We detoured and came out to Terranea Resort to have lunch, I wish we could have stayed, what a gorgeous property!
It was a beautiful day and we ate at Nelson's overlooking the ocean where we watched schools of dolphins and sea lions frolicking....just beautiful. The food was good, I particularly liked the pretzel I had with a delicious beer mustard.
I am planning to return and stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Though I went to this resort for a meeting - the location was simply glorious. I just regret not having time to walk on the cliffs and take part in sports activities there. Despite the beautiful place (maybe too isolated for some), I thought the food was a little ordinary, lacking the wow factor. Front of house staff all very helpful.
I agree about the spa... drab, dirty and uninspired.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A gem of a resort just outside of LA and close to the airport. Just pure paradise! Kids and adults loved the pool, the hikes, the golf, the food, the room...too many things to list! Wish we were there for more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.