We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night FREE!
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The grounds and views at this resort are absolutely breathtaking! Everywhere you look is a picture worth taking. The room was luxurious, especially if you get an ocean view, and included every travel amenity possible. We even received a room upgrade without even asking. Restaurants were surprisingly affordable and the food was delicious, although expect long waits on the weekends when many weddings take place and non-hotel guests drop in. It would be nice if there was one restaurant that was reserved for hotel guests only, or gave priority to hotel guests. The pools were very well kept and open quite late. Drinks around the adult pool seemed watered-down, so stick to the beer. The fire pits at night gave a nice cozy feel, along with making the occasional s'more and star gazing. Lots of trails and nature to explore during the day, and there are day camps to keep children entertained. We had an incredible time there, enjoying the beauty and serenity, and hope to return some day.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, although rooms around the main pool can be nosier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    297
    96
    50
    55
See reviews for
392
549
36
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weirton, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was a lucky girl to have attended a meeting held at this resort. I had not heard of it, and it turned out that it is less than 4 years old. It has the ambience of an older property, yet the environmentally-friendly design and practices reveal its youth. The public spaces of the hotel are grand, but not lavish, and the rooms are comfortable and calm. Contemporary bath areas, balconies with views, subdued color schemes - just lovely! There is local, original artwork everywhere in the hotel, and the furnishings ooze comfort and style. There is a beautiful ocean view from every point on this property, and the cool breezes off the rocky shore make it feel more like the Sonoma coast than LA. We sighted many whales while enjoying drinks and dinner. Last, but not least, the staff was fabulous! Friendly, competent and accommodating. I can't wait to return to this resort.

Room Tip: Higher up, and go for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is located about 45 minutes outside of LA and aside from it being an absolute dream destination for anyone coming from anywhere, it'd be a great weekend getaway even for those living nearby. Since I was there for a work conference, I didn't really get time to relax and take in the hotels various offerings but I brought along my girlfriend who did. She said the spa is comparable to that of the Bellagio in Vegas with better views. Of the 5 restaurants on the resort grounds, we didn't have one meal we were unhappy with from the nachos at Nelsons to the dumplings & duck salad at Bashi. Seabeans cafe is a great spot for a quick morning coffee or breakfast sandwich. Being a small cafe, I was surprised at how fresh and healthy all the food options were. The workout facility is better than most hotel gyms and offers private yoga and spinning classes overlooking the ocean. One tip - make sure you stop by Nelson's for a drink by the fire while watching the sunset.

Room Tip: Most rooms have ocean views but there are a few without so make sure you specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and daughter stayed at Terranea for 2 nights in the middle of the week in early August 2012. I have been there twice before with my Photo Booth rental business for corporate events and it left me a great impression of the place so I had to come back with my family. We throughly enjoyed our stay, our room which was a standard 400 sq ft room was clean with an beautiful ocean view! We walked around Terranea on their custom made trails along the cliffs and we even saw a group of whales which was an awesome sight to see, I guess we were lucky to see that in front of our eyes!!! When we came back to our room the maid service turned over and room and to the delight of my daughter they left her a basket full of chocolate chip cookies and milk on ice, nice touch! The second day I went down to the spa to work out on the treadmills and sweated for a half an hour then we all had breakfast buffet at the Catalina Kitchen which was great!! Then we all went swimming at the resort pool which is very kid friendly and they also offer mini adventure kid camps for 2 to 4 hours to give parents a break. Overall we loved it and will return next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal8
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Was there last weekend for a quick weekend away from the kids for our anniversary. The resort and grounds are gorgeous - pretty much everything faces the ocean, and it's in one of the best spots on the Southern California coast. The hotel itself is equally pretty - decor and layout are perfect. That's a lot, but unfortunatley it's all the hotel has going for it.

- Non-existant service is a common theme. The wait for a drink at the pool was thirty minutes MIN, if you could flag down a waitress. Ordered coffee at the outside bar one night and she forgot cream and sugar - after waiting a while for her to return, i walked into the inside bar to find out she left. Restaurnat staff was a little better, but not much.

- Way overcrowded. I suspect they have an issue w/ locals using the pools, but it is ridiculous to pay $400 a night and not be able to get a chair at the pool after 9a. Felt terrible for the multiple families we saw come in and search for somewhere to set their stuff, ended up letting one group share our two chairs. Adult pool is worse - the 'pool butlers' make you feel like a moron for even asking for a chair - guess i should have tipped more? (Note - saw multiple people complaining at the front desk about this - you shouldn't have to reserve a chair with a towel at 7am to get a seat at the pool at a resort like this)

- The remedy for pool overcrowding is the private spa pool, which is great - but it is a huge upcharge

- Only went to one restaurant, the Catalina Kitchen - all others were completley booked (excecpt the drop in spot, which had a two horu wait). Catalina Kitchen was marginal at best, and they were 20 minutes late on our reservation.

You could do a lot better for the money further south in Orange County - this hotel still has a lot of kinks to work out - i wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear NorCal8,
Happy anniversary! We appreciate the time you have spent providing feedback from your Terranea experience. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your service. While our summer months are particularly busy, as you mentioned, that does not excuse any diminishing of our service quality and for that, we are truly sorry. Our guest’s opinions are extremely valuable to us and we have contacted each department you have mentioned regarding the issues you encountered. These departments will be holding meetings with their teams and will use the information you have provided to continually improve. Once again, please accept our apologies. We hope to have you return to Terranea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've been there three times and always enjoy the cool coastal breezes at that higher elevation on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. A great beach (Redondo Beach) is at the bottom of the hill - you will want to get a ride down, it's quite a ways. The "beach" access for the resort is a rocky, rough water spot. HOWEVER,I can see why there is usually a convention group that is staying there because without appealing to big groups, I doubt that many people would pay to come back because the service is missing. Not just weak, but inexcusable at times. Sure, each incident is minor in itself , like: 1. could I have a piece of bread to go with this meal; reply: ok but half hour later, still no bread 2. Water glass and iced tea glass are both empty for duration of meal. Waitress asks if we want more to drink as she puts down the check-- sure, try to care when it might be time for a tip... and the restaurant was an empty weekday place) But my point is that it is stuff like this over and over and over, never-ending.
On my first trip three years ago, i thought the resort might still be finishing its landscaping. The landscaping was the same a year after that and still the same in August 2012. It's not bad, it just always seemed kind of unfinished or as if it suddenly ended. Interestingly, two men from other states who were staying at this property with their wives were talking about the place struggling financially... and it was sort an "aha moment" for us at that point. Now that discussion could be a rumor, right? But it makes sense and could explain a lot of things. Unfortunately, if low morale and under-staffing are behind the problem, it's not going to improve.
The "fancy" restaurant wasn't open on the week night we were there, so we've always eaten at Nelson's which is basically a coffee shop with good open air, ocean view atmosphere. Sadly, the service is as good as a basic coffeeshop. During the past 3 years it seems like Terranea has had progressively fewer people there. That fact made it very easy to get a table at lunchtime at Nelson's which does not accept reservations. I'm wondering if the fewer guests are because people do not return due to the poor service. Ever had a waiter argue with you that you don't need butter because they've already put butter on the food? Well, you can expect service like that at Nelson's. I thought the food was better and a more generous portion a year ago.
This isn't the place to stay if you have children and/or want a real beach experience. If you have a car and don't mind a 20 minute drive (winding, slow going scenic road not really a long distance) to a Redondo Beach parking spot AND you don't mind that this resort has limited restaurant facilities, then some of their special prices could make this a worthwhile getaway. Not a plce for physically handicapped people as the scenic pathways are scenic because of the steep, hillside location. Three years ago we saw several golf carts zooming around to give customers rides back to the hotel from Nelson's and the hostess at Nelson's had offered to call for a ride back up (which we declined.) In 2012- no offer and no trams/ golf carts in sight. It didn't matter to us, that's just an observation about the lack of possible concern for the customer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear LasVegasTravelers,
Thank you for your review! We would like to address some of the points you have made. To start, we agree that Terranea’s Beach Cove is not a traditional large sandy beach. We feel that the appeal of the property is the cliff-side views, the three ocean-view pools, and the 102 acres of nature, however if you would like a more traditional beach experience, we do have a free shuttle service, that will take our guests anywhere they would like within 5 miles of the resort. This service includes the beach at Abalone Cove Shoreline Park. As you noted, Redondo Beach is another wonderful beach option. You mentioned that Terranea was not a place for children and that we have limited restaurant options, however we would like to note that Terranea is very kid friendly. We have Tide Pool Kids Camp that is available daily for children age 4 to 12, as well as other kid favorites, including a “Splash Zone” with a spouting fountain and twisting 140 foot waterslide, s’more roasting, a family friendly golf course, and more. We also have 9 dining options on property, including Nelson’s, bashi, Catalina Kitchen, sea beans, Spa Café, mar’sel, Cielo Point, The Lobby Bar & Lounge and in-room dining for our hotel guests. We truly feel that there is something for everyone, whether you are looking for a casual burger, Asian inspired dishes, a breakfast buffet, or a fine dining experience. In response to handicap or elderly visitors to Terranea, we agree that there is a lot of land to cover, however, we absolutely offer golf cart rides to anywhere on property and we have just recently added two new six-seated trams to our collection of carts. We hope all of this has helped to answer a few of your questions and we are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive service experience at Nelson’s. We have passed all of your notes on to the manager at Nelson’s, as well as their chef. If there is anything else we can help with, please email us at terraneasocial {at} destinationhotels.com. We are happy to hear that you have visited Terranea three times and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to see you back at Terranea soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

In a word: “Outstanding!”

Those that care for you while at Terranea are the ones that make the difference.

In reservations: Ashley – you will want to talk to Ashley. Not only did she provide several options with our booking, but she was proactive and prompt. She said she would get back to me, and she did. Outstanding!

At check-in: Rebecca – a kind smile, even with unforeseen requests. My family and I arrived early and I was fine with waiting for our room. However, Rebecca got us in quickly – all with a sweet attitude and a kind smile. Outstanding!

At pool-side: Ridge – friendly and helpful. We wanted to go to the “beach” area seen in the photos at Terranea and Ridge (with a smile) allowed us to take a towel down there. When we quickly came back because of the rocky entry he smiled again and catered to our needs. Outstanding!

In the room: Our quick house-keeper: I wanted to get her name, but honestly, when we surprised her by coming back to the room during cleaning she was so diligent about her tasks & finished so quickly that I could not. Each day we were at Terranea our room was kept in great shape. Outstanding!

At dinner: Bridgett & Alexis – I felt like I was eating dinner at the home of a good friend. Bridgett made us feel welcome, and Alexis continually served us and made our experience at dinner surpass the meal at dinner. Outstanding!

I am sure Terranea gets ranked and reviewed for her nearly majestic, unobstructed views of the ocean – or – perhaps the warmth of her heated pools – or – the beauty of her buildings and rooms – or the serenity that can be found while strolling along her grounds – but – for me it was those who cared and delivered their care with a warm smile and a kind heart that I would like to rank as Outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.