We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$500 Resort Credit!
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The title really sums it up: Wow. The whole property is beautiful to begin with, then you add the fact that you overlook an amazing view of the Pacific Ocean. It really doesn't get any better as far as an all inclusive location, and you feel like you're on a true vacation here where you don't want to leave. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a nice balcony. The bathroom is very nice with plenty of counter space, a separate frosted door for the toilet, a bathtub, and nice amenities. If you are within a travelling budget, this won't be for you, but if you can splurge, this is the place to do it (If you can get a deal here, book it right away like we did!). We even picked the cheapest room available and it was extremely nice and exceeded our expectations. There are plenty of pools to choose from, including a slide.

I reallly don't have to go in detail on this review because the location and photos really do speak for itself. Yes, it can be pricey, but if there is a promotion or special rate you can take advantage of, I highly suggest you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    287
    94
    45
    55
See reviews for
381
528
33
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Went for an overnight with my wife. We are from San Diego, so the trip was about 2 hours to get there. We arrived at about 1:00 and our room wasn't ready, so we headed up the coast and ate a late lunch in Manhattan Beach. While we were eating, we got a call from the resort stating that our room was ready.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the valet very promptly, and after that every employee we encountered really made us feel at home. When you asked where something was, any employee would take you there, not just point it out. My wife dropped her jacket and no fewer that 4 employees came over to pick it up and give it to her. Have not had better service than this at any resort/hotel we've stayed at (including Ritz Carlton, St. Regis or Four Seasons).

The room was fine; not great, but nice. We had a nice ocean view looking south (the resort is on a penninsula). Ate at Catalina which was great. Also had a drink at Nelson. The weather was very stormy when we were there, and the veiws would have been much better had the sky been clear.

I would highly recommend this resort. Not too snooty; just the perfect mixture of casual and upscale.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is the second time we took advantage of a great deal offered by Terranea. I love this resort, its perfect location and gracious staff. We stayed 3 nights and went for long walks, the rain came down hard on our second day but we enjoyed the incredible view sitting by the fireplace in the one bedroom casita ... in my humble opinion the best way to enjoy this beautiful resort. The pool and spa is a long walk from the casitas but you can use the on on site transportation. We made great use of the well stocked kitchen and couldn't get enough of the view!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Wow. This resort is awesome. 102 acres on the CA coast (south of LAX) have been artfully restored with native landscaping and a private beach. All the decor reflects the coastal theme. There is an ocean view restaurant on property (Nelsons). Be sure to find the resident falconer, who will introduce you to birds of prey that control the seagull population. Beautiful rooms. Be prepared for the $30/night overnight parking charge or validate at Nelson's for $5 daily parking.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room; 4th floor is "lobby" so ask for 5th or 6th floor. Request the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I was here for a 3-day conpany conference. I shared a bungalow with a colleague. Each of us had our own bedroom and bathroom. The common area consisted of a full kitchen (with Viking appliances), a living room with fireplace and flat screen, and an outdoor fireplace on the patio. It was a shame we weren't in the rooms long enough to take advantage of the beautiful kitchen.

Beds were very plush, which was a bit different for me since I like a very firm mattress, My roommate had the king bedroom and I had 2 double beds in my bedroom. I would have preferred the king because the double bed seemed a bit narrow.

There is a full day spa and fitness center right on the bluff. Also, if you want to just walk, there is a trail on the property that follows the waterfront on the bluff. Lots of places to stop and admire the view, and even though there were over 500 people in our group, the trail still seemed "away from it all". Bring binoculars to better spot migrating whales. I didn't see any but some in our group said they did.

I would definitely love to come back for a personal getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow room even if you're not sharing with another person/party. The rooms across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Great family getaway. Clean comfy rooms with added amenities. Balcony room has spacious seating and breathtaking views. Our family of 4 was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I loved the Terranea! We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view casita that had the option to be a 2 or 3 bedroom unit, which would be great if we needed the space or had a larger group. The other rooms can be rented separately, however, the only shared area is the outside entry/sitting area. No other guests were in those rooms during our visit and it was very quiet and private. The entry area had a fireplace that was lit upon or arrival - which was great because it was a chilly night. Our casita was very roomy and comfortable. The master bedroom was spacious and the bathroom awesome.....separate shower and large soaking tub. Our kids used a blow up mattress that was provided and more comfortable than a rollaway and could easily be deflated and stored when not in use. The living area also had a fireplace and the entire living/kitchen was great to have. We were thrilled to have a full kitchen and laundry after days of travelling and staying in typical hotel rooms. There was also a large lanai with an ocean view and a table/chairs. The only issue we had was that the convection oven/microwave did not work so there was a counter top microwave which was fine, but if we had wanted to use an oven we would not have been able to. The grounds were amazing and I would have loved to had the time to explore more. We walked the trails and checked out the cove. Hot tub and pool were fine.....a bit desolate as it was mid week in March and the weather so so. The lap pool was closed for the season, but that did not have an effect on our stay. Had a meal and beer at Nelsons....best burgers and very family friendly and casual. mar'sel was excellent.....from the service to the dessert. I would love to return for a girls/spa weekend!!

Room Tip: If you stay in a casita.....try to get an ocean FRONT unit....the oceanviews are fine but you are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.