We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Save Saved
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$500 Resort Credit!
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We love this hotel, and go there as often as we can, usually for a drink, or something to eat, or to listen to some of the great music in the lobby at weekends. It's right on the ocean, so sunshine and warm weather are preferable, but even on this wild and wet weekend we had a great time. The food is excellent, albeit on the pricey side. Try the Catalia Kitchen's seafood buffet on Friday nights, followed by El Cafe playing some wonderful Spanish guitar music in the hotel loby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    854
    259
    84
    39
    51
See reviews for
349
491
33
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were greeted with champagne upon arrival. The place was very clean and everyone was attentive. The only thing that was a disappointment was being given a room with a view of the concrete area below when weeks before, I had spoken to the reservation attendant about this trip being in celebration of our 15th anniversary. She said she'd make note of it and make sure we'd be placed in a nice room. Turns out, we had a side view of the ocean and view of the concrete below. It didn't seem like a busy night at the hotel, so I'm not sure why we were placed in this room. After inquiring, we were able to switch. The second room had a better view. We did find a nosebleed stain on the pillow case, so that was a bit gross. Other than that, the room was immaculate, but I can't quite get the nosebleed stain out of my initial impression. I would have thought the bath products would be more upscale; they were just the standard, run-of-the-mill shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soaps, etc. There is a tin of bath salts, which is a nice touch. Food is very $$ on the premises, so be aware. Overall, a decent stay, except for the nosebleed stain on the pillow.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Best part of our L.A. vacation. La Terranea Resort is an impeccable resort with breathtaking views. Great place to relax. The whale watching was an unforgettable experience. The staff was centered on making sure we felt at ease and satisfied.

Room Tip: We stayed at an ocean front view casita suite close to the lighthouse. The views were spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake, Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend in August of 2011 with my husband and we had a great time. The staff is awesome, very helpful and always there when you need them.

Our room, which was in the main section of the hotel, was comfortable with very nice linens on the bed and tasteful furnishings. The bathroom was large and had a separate shower and tub, which was nice. The room also had a decent sized balcony, where I drank my coffee in the morning, and we had a drink before bed. The hotel staff knew it was our anniversary, so they left us a bottle of wine, which was nice.

There are several pool areas -- an adult pool overlooking the water, a kiddie pool next to the hotel, and a pool at the spa. The spa pool requires spa admission for the day (around $40 per person, I think), but it's by far the nicest and most peaceful. There are plentiful chaise lounges, and a number that overlook the ocean, and the music is peaceful, blending into the beautiful surroundings. We did visit the kiddie pool at one point and it was a little raucous with all the little ones running around, but if you have children they would definitely enjoy it. The adult pool was nice but it seemed to be playing club/techno music, which takes away from the natural beauty of the locale.

There is a nature path that follows the ridge of the cliffs overlooking the ocean, and it was lovely to walk along it and feel the ocean breezes. There are activities like kayaking that can be done from a small beach, but we didn't partake so I can't speak to that.

The restaurants that we ate at were okay, but I must mention we didn't try Mar'sel, the resort's signature fine dining option. We ate at Nelson's twice, which was okay, and we ate at a sports-bar type place that overlooked the kiddie pool area, which was actually our favorite meal while we were there. I also liked the coffee shop in the lobby, where I picked up coffee in the morning and we also got gelato one evening.

We had a great time at Terranea, it was very relaxing, and better yet, only a short drive from our home in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the resort. The room had a great view and the staff was very liberal with the bottled water. Overall, the staff made the stay extra-enjoyable. Forcexample, Joel at the front desk was highly accomodating regarding our check-out time as my wife was not feeling well. The gym and pool area were also nice. The high line restaurant was closed, which was a shame (I found the menus at the others somewhat limited). My only complaint would be the prices of the spa treatments, which were way, way above norms.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This place is a really great resort. The Casita we stayed in was very nice and very clean. Because the weekend we stayed was rainy and windy , we didnt get to use the pool or walk any trails but they both looked really nice. The resort also has wonderful views. My wife and I both said it reminded us of Maui. Restaurant prices and the bar prices are on the high side but you kind of expect that at any top of the line resort. BUT , what REALLY sticks out at this place is the service. Everyone was real friendly and helpful. And in a " I want to help you kind of way " not a " Gee , Im burned out , what time do I get off ? " kind of way. The only bad thing we ran into was the water pressure in our room was weak in the shower. Im guessing it was just our room and not every where in the resort. We look forward to visiting here again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The first thing that pleased me about this resort was the dignified initial greeting. OK, other than seeing the gorgeous stretch of coastline where it's situated. It's a pretty large property, so you can plan to settle in, go for walks, and slow your life down a bit to enjoy the natural surroundings and what it all has to offer. If you're here for business, well you're in luck, because the place itself will wind you down from all thoughts of work!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.