We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Save Saved
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 30%
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Truly lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have stayed at Terranea twice. Our introduction to the resort was a corporate event, and we liked it so much we returned on our own. We stayed as a couple, and I later recommended Terranea to friends traveling with their entire family who said they had a wonderful stay.

Terranea is a full service resort located on a bluff over the Pacific Ocean. The grounds are just gorgeous. Actually, everything about Terranea is gorgeous. The restaurants and spa are excellent and the rooms very comfortable. The beds and linens are so amazingly delicious I actually asked about purchasing some for our home (still wish I could). The resort is only a few years old, so everything is in good shape. The service is outstanding.

My only criticisms (neither of which would prevent us from returning--in fact we plan to), are that the smoke detectors, which are right over the bed, blinked 24/7 (at least in the rooms we stayed in), and there was no soundproofing between the room and the bathroom (the toilet is in a separate room within the bathroom, but the door is a shower door).

We particularly enjoyed the trails on the property and massages at the spa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    808
    242
    77
    36
    47
See reviews for
330
457
31
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Terranea Resort on 2/24/2012 to celebrate my wife's 30th birthday. The entire staff was aware that this trip was for her birthday once we arrived. The hotel made special cupcakes, provided us with champagne, and made her feel incredibly special. We also booked horseback riding and a coastal hike through Point Discovery. Both of those experiences exceeded our expectations. In addition, we also had a couples massage that was fantastic. The entire spa is first class. We ate dinner and sat at the fire at Mar'sel. The restaurant was very unique and delicious. We only stayed one night at your hotel, but the experience and memories will last for a very long time! Thank you again for making her birthday so special!

Room Tip: Book an Oceanfront view room with a balcony. We ate breakfast on the balcony in the hotels' rob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in a casita for a working vacation. The sunsets, jogging/walking trails and landscaping were breathtaking.

Room Tip: All have great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The views are just amazing and the ocean view rooms are a must. Several restaurants on the property nice walking paths to the water

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was a return visit and we spurged on a very expensive bungalo . The views were marred as it was located in front of a spa buiding but we enjoyed the fire pit and comfort of the bungalo. It was relaxing and beautiful with trails that went along the property next to the ocean . It was pricey but as a special treat it was well worth the expense. I would return again. We dined at Nesons by the water it was casual and delicious, the spa also had fresh delicious foods for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The views from Terranea (the bluffs, the ocean, Catalina Island in the distance) are absolutely stunning -- that alone is worth a trip. Staff were very welcoming and solicitous, and our room (a 1-bedroom suite) was well-appointed, clean, and spacious with balconies off both the bedroom and living room. The bathroom off the bedroom was fantastic, too -- huge, with a tub, a separate shower, and a private area for the toilet. Nice to have a 2nd bathroom for the kids who were sleeping in the living room, too.

We enjoyed the main pool with water slide. Resort didn't seem terribly full, which worked out well for us. We walked down to the rocky beach, too, and all along the bluff trails. Cost is high -- and $25/day resort fee plus $20/day to park in the middle of nowhere, on top of the high room cost, is a bit annoying. But overall very glad we went and would definitely return. Good place to get away from it all and just relax.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have stayed at this property several times from right after it opened to this past Thanksgiving. We stayed in different locations each time -- in connecting rooms at the hotel's main building, in a casita and in an ocean front bungalow. Each has its charm and served its purpose though I loved the ocean front bungalow the best. The rooms at the hotel were beautiful with amazing views and were great for a short stay, but the casitas and bungalows have all the amenities a family cold want when staying for a longer amount of time. The kitchens are huge and full of everything you need (great for breakfasts!) and the laundry facilities in a huge walk-in closet off the kitchen make packing a snap. The living room is bright an airy and the terraces (either garden level or second story) are private and filled with enough tables and chairs for everyone.

Two of my favorite features are 1) the self-parking and 2) the coffee shop at the circle in front of the main hotel. There is a huge amount of choice in breakfast pastries, beverages, sandwiches, sales and chocolate treats. I just wish they had picnic baskets to go!

Terranea is a favorite place to stay when visiting our family in LA. It is 5 star luxury but very laid back without any pretension. A great and easy place to stay with young kids.

Room Tip: There is a huge range of choice and multiple price points. The bungalows and casitas are wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes
Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.