We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in an exquisite natural setting; quick and convenient access from Los Angeles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Save Saved
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$500 Resort Credit!
West Hollywood, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort in an exquisite natural setting; quick and convenient access from Los Angeles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I live in West Hollywood, California and typically go down to the Surf and Sand or The Montage in Laguna Beach or up to Bacara in Santa Barbara when we want to get away for a long weekend in a seaside resort in Southern California. Looking to avoid a long drive during rush hour on Friday afternoon, we decided to try Terranea. We were pleasantly surprised with the convenience and thoroughly impressed with the resort. It took us less than an hour to get there at 2p on Friday, and even less to return home on Sunday afternoon. Yet despite the close proximity, the resort is a world away from Los Angeles.

The resort itself is handsome and well-built, and the guest rooms are large, light and airy. The property is spacious and despite its large number of guest rooms, it never feels crowded. Each of the three pools (main, adult and spa) provide a different experience, and are very well designed for their intended guest. The restaurants offer a respectable range of food offerings. I highly recommend Mar'sel, the property's signature restaurant, as well as the more casual Nelson's (located cliff-side) and The Grill (located poolside). I would recommend skipping Catalina's, another poolside restaurant. This restaurant is clearly designed for buffets, and our dinner, which surprisingly cost the same as Mar'sel, was not worth the money. I would also encourage management to make more of the Mar'sel wine list available to the property's other restaurants, whose lists could use more thought and selection.

We very much enjoyed our short time at this beautiful resort and we look forward to returning soon and often. It is worth mentioning, though, that it would be reason enough to go to Terranea to thank the developers for returning this land to its exquisite natural beauty. The resort is built on the site of the concrete monstrosity that was Marineland, a tourist attraction which closed in the early 1980s and remained a blight on one of the most beautiful California coastlines until Terranea opened a few years ago.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side overlooking the bungalows and spa enjoy complete serenity; rooms on the east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    854
    259
    84
    39
    51
See reviews for
349
491
33
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

A most Wonderful California suprise... enjoyed and appreciated the total experience offerred by Terranea Resort. Beaufiful location, wonderful views, attentive and detailed service. well trained staff with most pleasant and welcoming attitude. It was a "perfect" moment. Thank you Conde' Nast Traveler for choosing Terranea for the Travel Specialist Summit - February 5 - 7, 2012

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The atmosphere and the staffs effort to make you feel special was very much appreciated .

Room Tip: An ocean view room with a balcony or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

You will feel pampered but not suffocated. Understated refinment, excellent staff, restaurants and accommodations. I slept like a baby every night. Left feeling refreshed and relaxed. This was a business trip but can't wait to return with my family.

Room Tip: get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is an amazing property with extraordinary service, food & beverage. The spa is amazing and one of the best in all of Los Angeles. The views are worth a million dollars alone! An amazing oasis in the midst of a metropolis... The decor is a bit staid but everything else about Terranea is world class and definitely 5-stars plus +++...

Room Tip: Pick a peninsula sea view...Gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

I showed up at this resort after a long, bad flight and all I wanted in the world was one beer from the mini bar. Well, turns out they don't have mini bars--so I had to call room service. I ordered a bucket of five beers because I felt weird ordering one--and the guy didn't arrive until 35 minutes later. I tipped him (wouldn't have had to tip the mini bar) but discovered upon checking out that the total for my beers was almost $80, thanks to the fact that the service charge had been automatically added to my room-service order, tho no one had told me that. So my tip ended up being about 50% for slow service when all I wanted was a mini bar. This was a waste of time and money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was my first time at Terranea and I was very impressed. I am a travel professional and spend half my year in hotels around the world and Terranea stood out to me. My room was very large, nice sitting area and had two balconies facing the ocean. To hear the waves breaking while you are in the room was fantastic and I tell the truth when I say in the morning I could see dolphins whamming up the coastline directly from my bedroom balcony, it was a postcard moment. Dinner at the retardant was great, we all loved the deserts as well. My only complaint is that I didn't get enough time at the resort to fully explore the property and see what else it has to offer besides great rooms, great views and great food. Thanks to Ron and the team for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.