We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night FREE!
san diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An absolute Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We started going to the Terranea right when it opened a few years ago. Having family in the area we tend to go there three times every year. We think of it as OUR
(my husband, son and my) hotel and that is because the Terranea whether at capacity or slow because it is off season always makes us feel special and important like we are the only ones there. That's Service and it is everywhere - bar, restaurant, front desk, room service - impressive. As far as beauty it is second to none and has something for everyone - great for kids, wonderful spa and gym, and pools to suit the mood - laps, adult time only or playing with our son on the water slide. We just love it!

Room Tip: Really, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    298
    96
    50
    55
See reviews for
393
551
36
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Terranea Resort is away from the city on high ground overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. The trek from the airport is worth it. And you don't have to stay in the best room/suite to enjoy the vistas and amenities of the resort. The spa is lovely with it's own restful pool. Make sure to enjoy the sunset from the fire pit outside Nelson's restuarant. We chose to enjoy the sounds of the waves around the firepit with a bottle of wine and the staff brought us lovely blanets to keep us warm. The resort is great for business meetings and for holidays. The suites are over the top with amazing views. The staff are gracious and available. I was in a normal room with a semi view and it was so beautiful I chose to have breakfast in my room each morning. Once you arrive, you may not want to leave the resort, so leave the driving to the hotel service, forget the rental car.

Room Tip: I don't think you can have a bad room at the Terranea, just depends how much money you want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

It’s location is good and bad. It’s terribly out of the way since it’s buried in Palos Verdes, which could take you over an hour to get to from the freeway. However, because of it’s location there is peace and quiet and fabulous unobstructed views of the ocean. The overall feeling is very similar to Pelican Hill in Newport Coast. The property itself may even trump Pelican Hill since it has a private beach, and 3 separate pools each with its own personality. The spa facilities is one of the best I’ve ever seen, and the massage treatment itself was excellent. A stay here must include a visit to the spa.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

Kid friendly with waterside and splash area. Nice spa and fitness facility. It was hard to find lounge chairs by the pool. By 10 am they were all taken. Beach is rocky but there are nice caves and panoramic views. Food over priced but good. Rooms were tiny but clean. Service was generally good but few staff members were rude.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

It's difficult to fathom as to where to begin when speaking about this wonderful resort. The location is exquisite and fortunately it's product and service exceeds the expectations set when seeing the property. Somehow Terranea manages to take you beyond a five star experience as the property truly makes you feel connected to the land, incredible views and the wide array of offerings on the 100+ acres. I was fortunate enough to eat at all the outlets at Terranea and will say that you will be extremely hard pressed to find anything as good at freestanding restaurants in major cities (I am from NY). Nelson's was my favorite. Looking forward to when I can return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11/22/2011
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I am constantly on the road for work and luckily stayed in some very exclusive resortsl The Terranea exceeded my expectations. The only negative comment I can make is upon check in the reception area has to much echo which makes it difficult to converse with the Front Desk Representative.
As soon as I left the reception area I had an overwhelming experience of quiet and a calming environment. The grounds are exceptional. The views are breathtaking. Dining in the mar'sel was perfect and well suited for a business meeting. The Kitchen (restaurant) was satifactory. We had a large group of 20 and it overwhelmed the staff. The Kitchen is better suited for a casual dinner and breakfast/lunch but in the mar'sel the staff accommodated every request without concern with great service. The golf course is beautiful. I golf but I am not a golfer. I like the sport and the comradery but care less about the rules. I am that golfer golfers hate; I tee up on every shot except when putting. With that said the course is great and again the view are again exceptional. The weather is coastal so it changes throughout the day. Bring a sweater.
If you have a choice; forget anywhere else and head here. Great place.
FYI: The cab ride from LAX was $90's one way. Better to rent a car.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Terranea Resort is a beautiful resort overlooking the ocean and coast line as well as has many places on the property to relax and have nice meal or just watch the sunset. I was there for business for an event and the accommodations were extremely nice. The room was clean and modern, the room was on the first floor and I had a small patio to sit outside and watch the ocean views. I liked how the rooms are a bit slanted so not everyone can see into your room. The opportunities that I observed as I also work in a customer service industry was when I checked in which was at a very late time, around 11pm. The valet and bellman were extremely friendly, but it was very apparent that the employee checking us in was ready to go home. I know this, because I was told, after she checked me in, she was leaving. It wasn't bad service, but it wasn't the welcome I was hoping for, after driving over 40 miles and exhausted to walk into a beautiful resort and have a half decent welcome. The bellman remembered to get my husband and I the glass of champagne, not the front desk individual. I think her name was Jennifer? Regardless, the event was wonderful, the food was divine and the restaurant overlooking the ocean was fun and relaxing having comfy chairs and fireplaces. Overall, would I return? Maybe.

Room Tip: I would probably have preferred a 2nd floor or above, so I wouldn't have people right outside my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.