We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terranea is a beautiful home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terranea Resort

Save Saved
You added Terranea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Terranea Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$500 Resort Credit!
San Clemente, California
1 review
“Terranea is a beautiful home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We recently went to the resort with our three children. We stayed in a 2 bedroom spa bungalow which was very large and felt like a townhome. We enjoyed the fire pit outside our room and the kids played on the grass. The kids loved riding their razor to and from dinner. Having the full kitchen was great with the family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    286
    93
    45
    54
See reviews for
380
524
33
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had a very peaceful weekend getaway at this resort. It's truely beautiful and has the most awesome view of the ocean. There is something for everyone. A family pool, a party pool, and a pooper's pool.

The dining is first class as well. You won't go wrong going here for a weekend.

Room Tip: Call the reservations directly. We saved $100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

4th visit and each time its just gets better.
Any issues are just minor and typical/normal.
First class resort, accommodations, setting, experience.

Room Tip: Part of the setting is the view of the ocean and the surrounding cliffs and hills. Most rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We live 10 minutes from Terranea and it has turned out to be a perfect Staycation destination as well as a place to relax and have a drink on a Friday night. 5-star resort minutes from our house! Great for families or couples. We have stayed here three times and have not been disappointed. Great grounds, staff, pools, trails, rooms, public areas. The spa is amazing. The most dog-friendly hotel I have ever seen. My only complaint is that the service at all of the restaurants could be improved, and the food at Nelsons and Catalina Kitchen is only mediocre (but Nelsons is an amazing place to have a couple drinks on the cliffs!). The high end restaurant, Marsel was very good and very expensive.

Oh, and the weather can be hit-or-miss given that it is right on the ocean and especially in June and July can get the coastal fog and overcast which usually burns off in the afternoon but may make the mornings a bit grey.

Overall, it would be tough to go wrong here if you are looking for a relaxing resort away from the hustle and bustle. If you need to be near all of the LA tourist attractions and want to be in a central location, this would not be the best place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Just returned from a business meeting (2 days, 1 night) at this resort. I was born in LA and live at a westside coastal city and was in awe of the ocean views from this resort. I came for a business meeting and the professional way they ran the program was spectacular when you factor in the number of other special events occurring at the same time. I counted at least 4. The resort treated us as if we were their only client. At our business meetings, the breakfasts, lunches and dinner were very good. Most rooms have a view but you have to be careful. The first room was on the 4th floor (same as lobby) but had a view of a small lawn with a wall that blocked a view of the main entry driveway to the resort. This would would have been acceptable except that the location of Terranea has winds coming off the ocean. There is a wind tunnel sound that affects some of the rooms at this resort. Luckily the resort changed the original room at my request to one on the 2nd floor (wing 21xx) which is actually ground level. I enjoyed it--but you need to accept that you are along side one of the major wedding/patio event areas. This all leads to--you should ask where your room is in relationship to the main swimming pool and event patios.
The oddities of housekeeping I suspect are true. Our room refrigerator which I was going to keep some champagne, was on and warm. There are no instructions in the room and housekeeping insisted that the temperature could not be modified.The other oddity was, check out at the resort is 12 noon. On the day of check out, we went to the room at 10:30 AM and found housekeeping already cleaning the room--we had yet to do the official check out. Entry door insulation was poor, you can hear noise from the hallway. For a high end resort, the air conditioner was as noisy as one you might find at a 2 star hotel.
Yes, I would go back at my reduced corporate rate for what I experienced. If I paid full price for my room I think I would feel somewhat ripped off for the money.

Room Tip: Ask that it is away from the major swimming pool, restaurants, and event patios with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We travelled to California to do the Hollywood touring then wanted to beach with the teenagers. We chose this resort since it looked wonderful on-line. The resort is lovely the service is fine. It does have a lovely pool which we all enjoyed. However, when we went down to see the beach it was a bluff with waves coming up on rocks. Nobody could swim in this water! We only stayed two nights but thoroughly enjoyed the options for restaurants and the great view. We even saw dolphins!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

I can't think of anything negative about Terranea. Service was great, poolside, room and concierge. They treated us like movie stars the entire time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, driving directions, 6610 Palos Verdes Drive South, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular dining venues, a world-class spa, three oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terranea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.