We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathe deep... you can relax now” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Breathe deep... you can relax now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Westin is a wonderful resort that immediately puts you in a "vacation" frame of mind. The front desk staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We got a room with a golf course view in Building 2 and spent time out on the patio, sipping drinks and watching the golfers. My son and I went out ourselves, and played the Pete Dye course. It was absolutely immaculate.

The resort is more of a "campus" than a hotel... my wife and I took long walks across the property especially at night, when the pathways are all lighted and the stars are out. Just magical. The big pool can be busy and noisy, but margaritas at the pool bar put all that into perspective. :) If you want some quiet time with a book, I suggest going to the adult pool on the other side of the main building.

There's a lot to do... we didn't take advantage of everything. But we enjoyed the game room (pool, shuffleboard, foosball), golf, and the pool. But mostly we just enjoyed the ultra-relaxed atmosphere and the beauty of the resort. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Get a room with golf course view! Buildings near the main building are more convenient, but have mo...
See more room tips
Green Features: They give you $5/day credit if you choose not to change linens. So we save the planet and drink free lattes at the same time!
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    563
    303
    171
    113
See reviews for
500
534
78
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the time share villas with shared access to the hotel facilties. The time share was a one bedroom with separate living area and small kitchen. Perfect size for 2-4 people max. Room was clean and neat and well supplied with kitchen utensils and laundry supplies. The property is very well tended and when we visited in mid November- very quiet. The main dining restuarant attached to the hotel is a serene, well lit, easy walking distance from the villas. The menu options were good and the food well prepared. The BIG Downside- morining, noon and night the piped in music was a loud, pulsating euro club type sound. This noise totally destroys the harmony of the lush surroundings and most definitely does NOT invite one to stay and linger for an extra cup of coffee or a glass of wine. Such a shame. The last few days we just went to the small restaraunt at the Villas section when dining on site. What it lacked in atmosphere in made up in spades with peace and quiet and the food was fine. Another problem was the spa. I was nickeled and dimed from beginning to end. Used to be one would choose a service and paid the specified price. At the Westin Spa they tried to sell you the entire time. You get into the massage room to be asked if you would like to pay $10.00 more for the "good oils" , pay more for a firmer touch etc. and at the end , checking out they tried to sell you some more. Certainly not a relaxing afternoon being on guard and propositioned the entire time. They put on an automatic 20% tip and while I am all for the therapists making a good wage, the woman I had sure took it for granted. She did not work each side of the body evenly, skipping over sections on one side or other and most definetley was phoning it in. By the way, the time spent trying to sell you more expensve extras on top of the already overpriced services was done while in the actual massage room and cuts into your allotted "time". I have been traveling to destinations all over the world for more than 30 years and have had hundreds of massages. This was my first expereince with all the extra pushing and selling. If this is the new way to market a massage, I will get them at home for less money before I travel and skip the resort sell job.

Room Tip: In spring and fall when the sun is not so strong, ask for a golf course view. In warmer weather an i...
See more room tips
Green Features: I really can't say. We were in the time share villa so towels are only changed out once per stay and the sheets not at all-
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I hosted a group of approximately 300 people at the Westin and feedback from our customers attending was fantastic. Meeting facilities were great, and the rooms and other amenities exceeded the expectations of just about all of our customers. The staff was great, golf course nearby was excellent. Highly recommend for a family, a customer rewards trip, or a meeting.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I attended the conference of the American Venous Forum and stayed there. It is a great place to stay with a golf course! The place is quiet and rooms are huge. I mean huge. With a patio and I just loved the way it was designed as a spread out place.

Room Tip: A ground floor room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear DrMalayPatel,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our property and relax while attending your conference. We are delighted to know you loved our grounds, and we hope you have the opportunity o join us again very soon!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for 5 days in February. The weather was just what you would expect, sunny mornings that warmed up from the 50's to the mid-70's by 11 AM. The hotel was well maintained, but would benefit from some updating. We would have appreciated some shower gel or some type of moisturizing products for the shower - it was very dry.

The restaurants were quite expensive, and we were surprised by a resort fee of $40 / per day. I'm still not sure what that fee covered, but for the two times we used the hot tub, it seems kind of high.

The hotel has a nice walking trail, but it's very short. Walking off property is not very inspiring.

Great views from the patio. The golf course looks beautiful, but we did not get to play.

Room Tip: Get a view of the golf course. The garden views are not so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear TXbeachpatrol,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy a fantastic and warm winter weather during your stay at our resort. We apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your, we have communicated your feedback to our team so we can make the necessary improvements moving forward. Regarding the resort fee, we have a charge of $29 per day so please make sure to contact us with a copy of your information at Randy.Zupanski@westin.com . We hope you give us another chance so we can provide you with the exceptional service you expect and deserve!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed there for 2-weeks in August 2014. The weather was VERY HOT, the room was excellent in size with 2x double beds, the pools were great and the place generally very quiet.
We ate in the restaurants on a few occasions, the pizza making night in Pizzimini being a massive highlight. We were the only 4 people doing it so we all made the pizzas ourselves, including the dough and putting the into the oven.
The breakfast in Pizzimini was also excellent with a good range of food.
The pool bar was decent value and it is always good to have service around a pool when so hot.
The only disappointment was over the Labor Day weekend when the whole hotel was packed, the pool was crazy busy and we could not find anywhere to sit....but that was expected really!
We will go back again in 2015!!

Room Tip: One overlooking a pool or the golf course would be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear TheChap69,
Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled to hear you had an spectacular time during your stay at our resort. We are delighted to know you were able to enjoy many of the activities and amenities we have to offer to our guests. “Craft your Crust” was definitely a success and so much fun as well as our Breakfast Buffet Your Way with a wide variety of delicious options to choose from! We apologize for the inconveniences over our long weekend for Labor Day but we assure you the fresh new look and organization of Las Brisas Pool will be fantastic for this upcoming Holidays! We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort very soon!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in this resort with my husband while he was there for meetings. While this hotel is a Westin, there were definitely some 5-star elements...the heavenly beds, the impressive main foyer, the gym (outstanding), and the overall layout with ponds, pools, and bridges... However, there were definitely some 3-star elements and it was clear this resort is definitely ready for a renovation. The rooms and buildings seemed dated, the towels were tattered and some stained, and 'room for improvement' around the resort as well. It's also important to know that this is the kind of resort you come to and don't really leave, unless you have a car. There's nothing within walking distance and the buildings are very spread out, so much so that they sometimes offer you a lift on the golf cart to get back to your building. We weren't thrilled with the service either...we didn't have robes in our room, while our friends had robes in theirs. Our key also demagnetized one night and we had to walk sooooo far back to the lobby to get a new key and the receptionist was quite rude. This isn't a place I'd go back to, however, I can see that some people might really enjoy it. The driving range was nice and the walk along the golf course was nice as well!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear thekerfords,
Thank you for your recent review. We regret to learn your experience was not what you had hoped for and it definitely doesn't meet the expectations we strive to provide to all of our guests. We appreciate your feedback as it can only help us for future improvements. We have communicated your comments with our team and we assure you progress will be made. Please feel free to contact me at Randy.Zupanski@westin.com if you would like to follow up with me directly. We hope you give us another chance so we can provide you with the exceptional service and experience you expect and deserve!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 60-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the new Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.