We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An oasis in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We enjoyed both rounds of golf at the two courses. The room was large, clean and well appointed. Good location being close to a much needed swimming pool. Restaurant selections ok, although we did feel they were a little overpriced. Resort entrance very attractive. Overall resort environs very attractive, neat and tidy. The main dining restaurant very attractive with excellent service. We would return if ever in Palm Springs again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Claire H,
Thank you for sharing your recent review with us. We are thrilled to hear you had a fabulous time during your stay in our resort. We are pleased to know you enjoyed many of the amenities we have to offer to all of our guests. We are delighted to hear you loved our golf courses and enjoyed our lovely grounds and our attractive views. We hope you have the opportunity to join us again very soon!
Be well,

General Manager
Randy Zupanski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    547
    292
    167
    113
See reviews for
482
525
76
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My sister-in-law and I had a great experience with the Pizza Making Class/Dinner at Pinzimini. It's $25 for adults/$10 for children. There was one other guest at this dinner. We went not quite sure what to expect, but had a wonderful time. We were given several appetizers and had samples of a couple of local brews poured by a friendly server (the first was Dubbel Date Ale, which I liked; the second was a seasonal pumpkin ale which I didn't like quite as much, and probably not the best choice for summer).

The sous chef, Carlos, then made us three different pizzas, telling us about the various toppings. The executive chef, Joel Delmond, came out and gave a us a demonstration on stretching/shaping the dough. He spent quite a bit of time explaining the complex process of making good pizza dough. It was really quite interesting.

We were then given our own dough to practice with. My sister-in-law then completed a pizza, putting it in the oven and taking it out. During this time, Chef Delmond asked us what kind of toppings we would like on our pizza. He then proceeded to make two more pizzas for us. So we had 6 pizzas in total for 3 people! We were stuffed. If the group was larger, I'm not sure if you would get as much food, but this was certainly plenty. And, they sent us home with the left overs.

A couple of things, I'll add:

1) Make reservations. We were staying at the Westin Mission Hills Villas. Our concierge had called 2 days ahead of time to make the reservations for us, but was told it wasn't necessary. When we arrived, they said we did need them, but managed to accommodate us.

2) This wasn't a food & beer pairing in the typical manner. They didn't discuss which beer would go with which particular pizza. It didn't matter to us, but I could someone being disappointed. A better way to describe this would be a Pizza Making Class & Craft Beer Tasting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear grgs_ta,
Thank you for sharing your recent review with us. We are thrilled to hear you had a fantastic time at our restaurant. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the Craft your Crust Pizza Making class with your sister in law. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed our chefs were helpful and informative regarding the process and everything that involves making the best pizza! We appreciate your feedback as we can understand some people might get confused by the name. We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again and take advantage of our other fun and informative classes we have to offer all of our guests!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My stay at the Westin was overall a happy stay, mostly due to the service by the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel, but there were a few areas of concern that the hotel should focus on to make it better.

Suggested areas to improve:

1) When cleaning out the sewage tank, please emit some fragrances or odor cover-ups. The smell of rotting human waste while lounging at the pool with a margarita in 100 degree heat is offensive.

2) Hire trained bartenders to work the restaurant bars at all times. Waiters replaced bartenders at certain hours of the day and their drinks were not consistent. The same drink ordered 10 minutes apart was made with different proportions and had to be sent back to be remade not so sweet.

3) Happy Hour apps at Panzamino restaurant/bar need to be turned out faster than 30 minutes. During the hotel's new happy hour promo, we had consumed 1.5 drinks before our meatballs came out of the kitchen 30 minutes after ordering them. Apps should come out in 5 to 10 minutes or less.

4) The lunch selection at the Panzamino restaurant leaves much to be desired. I recall 2 sandwich options, a few pastas, and some apps. There needs to be more entree selections at lunch. This is also the only sit-down restaurant at the hotel. The express eatery was closed every time we walked by. The only other option was the pool food.

5) The free wi-fi in the hotel room is worse than using 3G. We had to pay for wi-fi to be able to get reasonable use out of it. That was dissapointing.

6) The prices for some items were outrageous. Take the aloe vera gel being sold in the gift/market shop for $18.00. These usually sell at pharmacies for $1.99. The price gauging is somewhat expected for incidentals, but this was exceptionally high on the profit margin for the hotel. One egg on the side from restaurant menu cost $6.00, which is quite high as well.

7) At the direction of the new GM of the hotel, according to the staff, the staff in the restaurant were putting outdoor candle lanterns in the dish washer to clean them up. I like the sentiment here, but the manner in which they are being cleaned lends concern knowing that glassware and dishes are going to be cleaned next and then used to serve my food or drink. Should non-food implements be washed in a dish washer?

8) The first night we ate at Panzamino restaurant, we were served warm, soft bread to eat while waiting for our food. The remaining times we ate there, the bread was cold/room temp and not as enjoyable.


Some thanks:
1) Ramon at the pool kiosk was quite friendly and made sure we were happy during our pool visits.

2) Carlos in the Panzamini bar was friendly and made sure we were happy during our bar visits, even in the face of a 30 minute delay for meatball appetizers.

3) The rooms and property were clean and well kept.

4) The ladies who worked the cafe/market/starbucks place were very attentive and friendly. I'm sorry I didn't catch any of their names.

5) I love the waterside and glad that was an attraction at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Gary M,
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to know you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear our team did a fantastic job providing with exceptional service and exceeding your expectations. On the other hand, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences faced during your time with us. Your feedback is of great importance to us; we have mentioned your comments to all the departments mentioned and we will make the necessary improvements moving forward. We hope you have the opportunity to join us again!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at Mission Hills for a business conference. On one evening they offered a Pizza and Beer dinner at the Pinzimi restaurant. The event was $25 per person. Our beer glass was never empty and neither were our plates. We received a wide variety of food (salads, pizza, dessert, and more). It was a great meal for the cost, but the food was not the best part.
There was a young chef name Guillermo working the wood stove station. Our seats were around that station. He was very passion about making food. He took great care with each and every meal he made. He was fun to watch and he was personable too. He would answer any question you had. He did a wonderful job!!!

The Executive Chef of the Resort came and shook hands with everyone at the event. The Chef de Cuisine ran the event and was very nice and would also answer any question asked.

We truly enjoyed this event and the staff was GREAT!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Dava W,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to know you had a memorable experience at the Craft your Crust Pizza making & beer pairing class inside our restaurant. We are thrilled to hear our culinary team did a magnificent job providing you with professional and friendly service. We are glad to hear our team went above and beyond for you and that they were able to exceed your expectations! We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again very soon!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a room with a nice view of the golf course. The room is very spacious, with a very large bathroom. We were able to check in early, and it is one of the few hotels that had a 3:00 pm standard check out. There is a very nice main pool with a waterslide, but unfortunately there was not one single chair and wall-to-wall people in the pool so we were not able to enjoy it. There are two smaller pools that were not as crowded.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Familyof4SoCal,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you had a fantastic time during your stay in our resort. We are pleased to know you enjoyed many of the fun amenities we have to offer to all of our guests. We apologize for the inconvenience about the space at the pool and at the fact that you could not use the slide. We also have another slide at the Villas side that our guests can enjoy if the main pool happens to be too crowded. We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at the Westin for a business conference. The landscape was nice and check in was easy and fast. The food/coffee prices are outrageously expensive. I would recommend families to bring their own soda's/waters/wine/snacks to enjoy in their room and patio. The room was spacious but I was skeptical of the cleaning that had or hadn't taken place. There was hair on the bathroom floor/bath tub and dog food on the carpet. Beds are comfortable and the decor is outdated. If you are on the first floor you can hear a lot of walking in the room above you. The halls outside echo very loudly so when people are going back to their rooms you can hear conversations and laughing very clearly. The conference catered breakfasts and lunch and the food served was very good. When I woke up my last morning I noticed a cockroach on the wall. Housekeeping said they would come and take care of it. I went to breakfast and received a voicemail saying it had been taken care of. As I was packing to leave, I noticed another cockroach in the bathroom. Housekeeping came again, but by this time I was ready to check out. Good thing the "visitors" didn't show up earlier in my visit because I would have checked out much sooner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear mmbtjj1,
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the wonderful views and the exquisite breakfast and lunch served during your conference. On the other hand, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences faced during your stay in our resort. We truly care about our guests and your feedback is of great importance as it will assist us in delivering impeccable service and memorable experiences. Please contact me at randy.zupanski@westin.com if you would like to follow up with me directly. We truly hope you give us a chance so we can provide you with the exceptional service you expect and deserve!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a great time.
Need more regular coffee, not decaf, and maybe a microwave, stronger wifi connection too, but overall, everything was great. Wish there were more restaurants near by for more choices.

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor, only stairs
See more room tips
Green Features: Beautiful areas, easy access. Nice pools, great services.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear TFineman,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time during your stay in our resort. Our resort has various food and beverage outlets, but if you would like to dine outside we are only 10 minutes away from The River and El Paseo with a wide variety of options as well. We appreciate your feedback and we will make the necessary improvements moving forward. We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 60-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the new Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.