We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Honking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of Honking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Although the views of this resort were beautiful, you really had to watch where you walked. Between the geese and ducks, there was poop everywhere!! The ducks kept knocking over our drinks at the pool. They wanted the fruit. Our rental vehicle was heavily damaged in the parking lot. Drinks were expensive and no breakfast was included. The rooms smelled really moldy and the ducks knocked on our patio door every morning. But, the game room was a fun place to hang out. They had several pools to accommodate a craving for some sun, spa was nice as well as a beautifully groomed golf course.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    608
    317
    180
    116
See reviews for
533
575
81
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Westin hotels are not my favorite properties but this Westin may have changed that opinion for me! The service was top-notch 100% of the time. Staff were so helpful and friendly, they really made our stay pleasant. The rooms were very large with tall ceilings that made them feel even more comfortable and spacious. The grounds are a little confusing to navigate at first but the friendly bell staff are always more than happy to escort you in their golf carts. The pools and grounds are clean, beautiful and inviting. It was lovely just to walk around. Golf is the big draw here and the courses are immaculate. We had a group here for a conference and the golf pros were lovely to work with. They were very professional and detail-oriented. The banquet food here was some of the best I've had anywhere which is saying a lot from someone who travels 50% of the year! The Italian restaurant had a lovely view and fresh food. There are many shopping and dining areas near the resort that we also enjoyed. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and family and would stay here again for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear SEGMN,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to know you had a wonderful time during your stay in our resort. We are pleased to hear our associates went above and beyond for your and were able to exceed your expectations making your stay memorable! We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again.
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Christine always has a smile on and is customer oriented. She drives the refreshment and food cart on the gary player golf course. We appreciate the wonderful service she.provides the customers.great job christine

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Kendig1,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to know you had a wonderful time during your stay in our resort. We are also pleased to hear Christine went above and beyond for you and was able to exceed your expectations. We will be happy to share your comments with her as she will be thrilled to know she made your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Not only are the grounds, the rooms and the conference facilities excellent, they were great and mailed me back my tablet that I left behind by accident! Kudos to everyone there. Would absolutely go again.

Room Tip: Having a balcony overlooking the golf courese is serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Jeff B,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to know you had a wonderful time during your stay in our resort. We are also pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our facility and many of the amenities we have to offer. We are happy we could help you find your tablet and mail it back as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The property is in really great shape considering its age, our room's bathroom and everything seemed to be in working order. The room was a little bland for my liking.

It was a little chilly so we didn't get to use the pool area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear scherzva,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to know you had a great time during your stay in our resort. We appreciate your feedback and we will definitely look into making improvements moving forward. We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again so you get to experience our pool and many of the other amenities we have to offer.
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Mission Hills resort over Christmas and had a wonderful experience! Where to begin!! We loved:
- The pool - we had so much fun playing volleyball, basketball, sitting in the hot tub. We were 3 families and had a blast. The pool was extremely warm and perfect for December. We all agree it's one of the best pools we have experienced.
- The grounds - expansive and lush. Other reviewers complain about the long walks, but we loved them!
- The staff. Our anniversary is on Christmas and we enjoyed drinks by the fire pit outside the bar. Our friends surprised us with a cake and then the waitress surprised us with a tiramisu to celebrate. It was a very nice gesture and the tiramisu was delicious!
- The activities. The resort had activities planned every day. One of the best was holiday cookie decorating. Everyone got a chef hat and, cookies and toppings for decorating. The adults were provided Champagne to enjoy while decorating. One of the great memories from the trip!
- Starbucks on site
- The arcade and game room - The kids enjoyed some downtime with a lot of gaming options. I enjoyed a throwback to Ms. Pac Man
- Heavenly bed
- Large bathroom with a rain shower
- The manager gave us free breakfast coupons and the kids enjoyed the plentiful breakfast buffet

We ate at various restaurants in Palm Springs so I can't comment on the resort restaurants.
We enjoyed Indian Canyon for hiking and the Aerial Tram. I highly recommend both!

Just two minor items:
1) Check in was a little bumpy as we had 3 rooms and the hotel had incorrect information that didn't match my booking. The manager was very responsive though and got our rooms arranged quickly.
2) The resort view rooms are a little dark and could use updating to make them more resort feel instead of standard hotel room

Overall a great experience for the family!

Room Tip: Resort view means no view. If you book, be prepared. One week prior to arrival, I received an emai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Chicago009,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate you choosing our resort for your holiday-anniversary getaway. We are so pleased to hear you had a fantastic time during your stay in our resort. We are thrilled to know all our associates went above and beyond for you and your family and they were able to surpass your expectations! We hope you have the opportunity to join us again to enjoy our renovated Italian inspired Pinzimini restaurant and much more!
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Enjoyed a business conference this past week and then the weekend with my spouse at this Starwood property. The staff is very attentive and helpful. I want to call out specifically Kayla from the pool. She took great care of us Saturday and Sunday (2/1-2) at the pool. She made sure that our allergy issues were addressed and any need we had was fulfilled. Exactly the pleasant experience you want and expect....and all with a smile. My 4 star rating is based on a couple of interactions that were not perfect. First, we asked for a slight delay in checkout on Sunday. We were told no on several occasions.....the staff did not look at my status or really my request but we received a polite "no". I am Gold at Starwood....not Platinum but nonetheless and we were not accommodated. The property itself could use some TLC....I realize that it is a non-stop maintenance affair at a property that large but we expect a little more.....there should be nothing green in the bottom of the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Troy B,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your time with us. Our guests are very important to us so we are reviewing your specific feedback so we can make improvements moving forward. We are pleased to hear you had an amazing time during your stay in our resort. We are thrilled to hear you were able to enjoy some time with you family after you business conference and that our associate was able to go above and beyond for you exceeding your expectations! We will be more than happy to share your lovely comments with her as she will be pleased to know she caused a positive and memorable impact on your stay. We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again!
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Villas
Westin Mission Hills Villas
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
3.7 mi away
Westin Desert Willow Villas
Westin Desert Willow Villas
#2 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
4.3 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 60-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the new Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.