We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort, Great Staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Carson, California
2 reviews
“Great Resort, Great Staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our first time to be here in Westin Mission Hills and was impressed with the cleanliness and great staff.

Thanks to Mr. Dennis Borja for the excellent customer service! He took time to show us around and gave good information about the location amenities and the Westin Hotel in general.

Also thanks to Ricardo (our server at the Breakfast buffet). Great food, great service!!

The kids' Den was awesome!! My kids love it!!

Overall, we were very happy to be at this resort for our family getaway. We will surely come back and recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Olivia O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are very pleased to hear you had a magnificent time during your stay in our resort. We are thrilled to hear that Dennis was kind enough to show you around and help you fall in love with our resort as much as we are. We are also happy to hear that Ricardo went above and beyond for you to give you exceptional service and that your kids had tons of fun in the Oasis Den. We definitely look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon!

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    555
    296
    170
    113
See reviews for
492
527
78
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were visiting for the weekend and decided to stay here as it was near our friends. Upon arrival, we were attended to very quickly and nicely. Our check in was even ahead of the usual time, but since the property was not busy, they moved us right in an hour before check in time. They also had this crazy 8 program which allowed us to not have to check out on Sunday until 8pm if we desired which was very helpful to our schedule. There was also a 20% discount on food with the program. Our room had a great view of the golf course and mountains. The adult pool/spa was not too far away and our room was very large and well equiped with a safe, a refrigerator, big bathroom, a sitting area, and covered patio. The only drawback was we could at times hear our upstairs neighbors, but that was not an issue in terms of sleeping and we slept great. Continental breakfast was included and was very good and again, great views and location and we ate lunch there as well. Wonderful walking areas which were also golf cart paths, very nice landscaping and water features. Also had many wildlife visitors which was fun too. Ducks, geese, heron, and probably more but those were the ones I saw, all attracted by the water features throughout the property. We enjoyed our visit and would definitely visit again, but make sure to go when they are not busy as it looked like they could get quite the crowds during a busy time.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the golf course and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear ruslov,

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate the time you took to share your recent experience with us. We are very pleased to know you had an amazing time during your stay in our resort. We are also thrilled to hear you were able to take advantage of all the crazy 8 offerings; it is always great to have some discounts and to be able to leave the resort a little later than usual. We are delighted to know you enjoyed our heavenly rooms with wonderful views of our golf course and our wildlife visitors! We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again!

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and i recently stayed at the Westin Mission Hill. We were disappointed with the experience. Our first room was near the delivery dock and dumpster. So as you can imagine, our first morning we were awoken with the sounds of the trash truck emptying the dumpster. We asked to be moved to a quieter room in which we were. The second room only had one light located at the bed so it was extremely dark.

Our third night at the hotel we returned to the room to discover housekeeping had cleaned half the room. The bathroom had been started but not completed. We called to ask them to finish cleaning the bathroom. By the way, both the first and second room, the bathrooms had dark hair from the previous guest in the sinks and bathtubs.

Our second day, we discovered that housekeeping had taken the bathrobe and had not replaced it.

I realize these may seem like minor issues, but combining them all together it became annoying.

On the positive side, the grounds are beautiful, the pools are well maintained and inviting. But the service needs to improve.

Room Tip: Ask for the room to be away from the loading dock unless you want to be awaken early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Opusone1,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate you choosing our resort to have a more relaxing experience. We regret to learn that your experience was not what you had hoped and it certainly did not meet the expectations we strive to provide our guests. The feedback we receive from our guests is of great importance to us and we are reviewing your specific feedback on how we can make improvements moving forward. Should your travels bring you back to the desert, it is our hope you give us another try so we can provide you the fabulous experience you expect and deserve.
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Westin resort is a great spot for couples, especially if you like to golf or shop. On site golfing, or close to many courses and great shopping in Palm Desert. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are spacious. Service at check in and out was challenging, I think I may have had a new employee. Pool areas were very clean and not busy at any time of day. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room facing the golf course or the pools are great. If you are on the second floor their are no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Perrys08,

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us. We are pleased to know you had an amazing time during your stay in our resort. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our golf courses; it is always fun to go there and play especially now that the weather is so nice! We are thrilled to hear that we were able to exceed you expectations and that you would like to stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was here for a week during a business conference so I wasn't able to experience all this resort has to offer. It is clearly designed and planned to be a golf facility. Despite that, I enjoyed my experience with their conference facilities. It is certainly not as up to date as most resort properties in the Westin Portfolio but I am told a facelift is coming. The service is just ok. The rooms are aged with popcorn ceilings and aged walls, doors, etc. The main lobby has been updated along with the bar and restaurant area. The gym is average but again, this is a golf resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Tboz1976,

Thank your recent review. We are pleased to hear you had a great business conference during your stay in our resort. Sadly you were not able to explore all that our resort has to offer. As you heard little by little we are making improvements so we can provide what all of our guests need, want, deserve and expect. Should your travels bring you back to the desert, it is our hope you give us another try so we can provide you the fabulous experience you expect and deserve.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed for three nights in November for conference. Lobby is nice and front desk staff very friendly and efficient. Place is sprawling, but that's not uncommon in Palm Springs. I guess my overwhelming feeling is that this is more of a conference hotel. It had a very corporate, staged feel to it. For instance, at first glance there's a lot of water everywhere - fountains as far as the eye can see - but when you look closer you notice they're very artificial, almost cheesy, like in the amusement park ride sense. Had same feeling re the "rock" formations around the pools and hot tubs - from a distance look impressive but up close look like something you ride by on Pirates of the Carribean at Disney......
Room was fine, with that great Westin bed.
Didn't try the restaurant but the hotel supplied conference food was largely disappointing, especially the breakfasts.
Nothing really wrong with the place, but not as nice as Rancho Las Palmas and nowhere near as charming as La Quinta.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear ToddFP,

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate the time you took to share your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear you had great time during your conference in our resort and that you liked our heavenly experience. We regret to hear you did not enjoy some of our structural work and amenities. We care about all of our guests and we appreciate your feedback. Little by little we are implementing new ideas and changing up our look. If your travels bring you back to the desert, we truly hope you give us another chance to provide you the fabulous experience you expect and deserve.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

After being shown to an upgraded room because of our status with SPG we were very disappointed to walk in to a dark room, large wet spot on the carpet where attempts to clean it had failed, bathroom with little to no amenities and thin towels and generally a tired looking room. After reading the previous reviews, we requested a room on the 2nd floor and that turned out to be a good thing, however, the walls are also paper-thin and we heard every word of our next-door neighbour who Im sure could hear us too. The carpet finally dried and a large dark red stain was left - it was as if someone had bled out on the carpet!

The telephone didn't work, the light fixture in the bathroom was broken (in an already less-than nothing lit room) and we had to have maintenance over to make the necessary repairs. Unfortunately, the phone couldn't be repaired (it was replaced with a very basic one).

One morning housekeeping came to clean the room while I was sitting on the balcony. I agreed to let them clean the room while I continued to sit on the balcony. It took her all of 8 minutes before she came out to let me know she was finished and leaving the room! No wonder the place looked like it did!

Check in was also unnecessarily confusing and long. We arrived before our room was ready. Being SPG Gold members, we were asked to wait a short while during which they prepared all our paper work to ensure that our visit back would be swift. When we returned about an hour later to see if our room was ready, the same check-in agent looked at us as if she'd never seen us before. Fortunately, her colleague who was standing next to her during the check in process and overheard our conversation, remembered us and reminded her who we were and what needed to be done!! What was that all about???

The gym is equipped with al the latest equipment but if you need an attendant you're out of luck! No one walked in to clean or check on the place in the 3 visits we paid to the room for over an hour each time.

I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel just clean, modern and efficient was all I hoped for. This was NOT it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear longtimetraveller16,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate you choosing our resort to have a relaxing getaway. We regret to learn that your experience was not what you had hoped and it certainly did not meet the expectations we strive to provide our guests. The feedback we receive from our guests is of great importance to us and we are reviewing your specific feedback on how we can make improvements moving forward. It is our hope you give us another chance so we can provide you with the exceptional service you expect and deserve.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 60-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the new Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.