We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You too can be forced to wake up at dawn on a Sunday by the kids upstairs.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Rancho Mirage
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You too can be forced to wake up at dawn on a Sunday by the kids upstairs.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Worst Westin experience ever. Resort overrun by kids jumping on floor throughout property and above our unit at 8AM on Sunday morning and past 11PM last night. Sheratons are for noisy families, Westin is supposed to be all about R&R, peace, and recreation.

For all this wonderful treatment, you're forced to pay a nearly $30 daily resort fee for your Westin motel parking (totally unregulated for anyone else including guests), and presumably to staff the kiddy area which is empty while the kids are jumping on the floors upstairs with mom and dad.

Resort is sleepy, dated, and not up to Westin standards. More of a motel than hotel, bellstaff stood by watching us unload luggage only to tell us to put luggage back in car (watching instead of assisting) and tell us to then drive ourselves and carry our own luggage to a unit about a half mile away. Don't get a second floor unit unless you are prepared to carry your own luggage up the stairs.

If this is a Westin, then provide a Westin level of service, otherwise change the name back to a Sheraton.

Room missing shampoo! Wifi was ridiculously slow. Decor mid 80s. No mobile service inside the sprawling sleepy resort. (only don't expect to sleep here)

Seriously in need of a refresh, a management reorganization, and a renovation.

SPG Platinum member: 41660776662

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear TomInNY,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. . We appreciate you choosing our resort in this beautiful area for a mini getaway. We regret to learn that your experience was not what you had hoped for and it certainly did not meet the expectations we strive to provide our guests. The feedback we receive from our guests is of great importance to us and we are reviewing your specific feedback on how we can make improvements moving forward. We sincerely hope you give us another try so we can provide you the fabulous experience you expect and deserve.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    681
    499
    273
    160
    107
See reviews for
448
480
72
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Lovely relaxing resort, very helpful and friendly staff. The resort is close to shops and cinema idea for all the family. My family loved it. If you want to relax and be pampered, play golf or enjoy a fab pool with great views... come here.

Room Tip: We stayed furthest away from the lobby and restaurants for quiet rooms... you can call for a cart to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear MJDelooney,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. W e are pleased to hear you and your family had a wonderful time during your stay in our resort. Thank you for your lovely feedback, it truly means a lot to us! We are thrilled to know your weekend getaway was fantastic, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Your lucky to have restaurant server Jose Luis when you visit this restaurant. I'm sure the other servers are just as great, but we've had the greatest/excellent service and experience with JL from day 1 of 3 days' stay at this resort. Jose Luis is courteous, engaging, an overall superstar for this resort. A big applause for Westin to have someone like JL be part of their staff! Jose Louis is one-of-a kind. You deserve a FIVE Star Jose Louis!!! The rating on this only reflects the overall resort review

Chris & Jay

Room Tip: We are a couple with no kids. Make sure you ask for a quiet area so that you are not subjected to ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear C T,

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear that Jose Luis went above and beyond for you and that he was able to exceed your expectations. We will be more than happy to share your lovely comments with him as he will be thrilled to know he caused a positive and memorable impact on your stay. Our guests’ comments and feedback are of great importance to us, we would like to know if there is anything you want to share with us so we can implement it to our resort. That way we could change your 3 overall experiences to a 5, with an excellent overall stay. We truly hope you have the chance to join us again!

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I received a great service at this hotel, especially from a front desk attendant Paola C, who provide me with warm reception and extraordinary services. During my stay all the services that i requested was well executed. Luiz Penna.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear LuizPenna2013,

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay in our resort. We are thrilled to know our associates and our service made your stay memorable. We will be happy to share you lovely comments with Paola C, as she will be delighted to hear all her efforts and charisma caused a positive impact on you since the beginning. We hope you have the opportunity to join us again!

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Sunshine, beautiful pools, golf courses and palm trees and grounds make this a great oasis in the desert! Great location close to sights of Palm Springs, the airport, and the rest of the valley. Great service all around (even the Starwood reservation folks getting our room and rates straight). Relaxing yummy breakfasts outside, with great service from the wait staff :Juan Manuel, Enrique and Jose Luis, and at the Fireside at night, Jaime was awesome too. All staffers were people-pleasers. Good job! Only suggestion for improvement--open the pools at 7am or earlier. Waiting 'til 8am is tough for this fish. Just got back home to the cold and it was all like a beautiful mirage...from Rancho Mirage.

Room Tip: Get a pool view...or golf course view. You'll forget quicker the cold place you came from..and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Doug H,

Thank you for your recent review, we truly appreciate the time you took to share your recent experience with us. We are very pleased to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay and that our lovely grounds, our breathtaking views, and our exceptional service made it even better. We will be more than happy to share you kind words with all the associates mentioned as they will be thrilled to hear they exceeded your expectations and that you appreciate them going above and beyond for you. Thank you for your feedback, we will definitely take it into account as we know you want to enjoy as much as possible during your getaway! The gem of the desert hopes you have the opportunity to join us again soon!

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location. Lots of choices in regards to pools, restaurants - has great golf course on site and the staff are incredibly friendly - especially Cecilia Lopez (Fireside Lounge) & Pearl Norwood (Resort Concierge) who went out of their way to make this a great vacation spot. This is our 2nd stay at this location and it was as memorable as our first trip - we definitely are coming back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear CF2610,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your time during your stay with us and that you took pleasure of our facilities and the various amenities we offer for our guests. We will be happy to share you lovely comments with Cecilia Lopez and Pearl Norwood, as they will be ecstatic to know they caused a positive and memorable impact on your vacation getaway! Thank you for your loyalty, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband & I were stressed to the max! As we live on the coast, he suggested a getaway to the desert. He chose the Westin Resort (not villas) & I anxiously anticipated a few days of finally getting to sleep in late & relax for a change!

It's a beautiful property & the weather was just delightful..we checked in late afternoon & strolled around the property enjoying the beauty..

At approximately 6:00 A.M. ( did you read that right?) YEP SIX O'CLOCK IN THE MORNING PEOPLE (I'M YELLING HERE) we were both jarred awake by an extremely LOUD & CONTINUING noise! At first, in my sleepy eyed stupor I imagined it being a landscaper with a leaf blower???? AT DAWN??? No couldn't possibly be...well we finally dragged ourselves out of bed...the noise stopped approximately at 6:45 and you will never guess what it was....Please sit down: It was the hired power washer and his crew!

Who Does That ??? Apparently the Westin! I cant even tell you how MAD I still am! We paid GOOD money for a little R&R. Now, we are no stranger to the desert & in fact totally understand that on the "off season" that is when most of the resorts do their maintenance etc.

But again...really?? At 6:00 A.M. well the husband was wide awake so that was that! I was also wide awake & tried to go back to sleep but was just too aggravated...so I decided to go speak to the manager about this later in the morning. Twas a young lass (lol) behind the counter who couldn't have been sweeter, informing me the manager wasn't available & looked scared when I told her how upsetting it was to be awakened that early on vacay...she kind of shrugged, mumbled a sorry & explained the good news! The power washers were now done with Building 5 so we wouldn't be bothered anymore! She mentioned about it being off season & that's when they do their maintenance..and I stopped her telling her I totally understand & agree with the policy..BUT AT SIX O'CLOCK IN THE MORNING?? AT A RESORT?? WHERE PEOPLE COME TO RELAX??

Extremely poor customer service....With a name like "westin" you do tend to expect a bit more.

I know this will sound childish & hoity toity....but it really put a damper on the rest of the time we were there. We even left the property to eat out...I just was not going to give the Westin anymore of our hard earned money.

A couple of other things..The resort provides you with a complimentary newspaper..But they secure it on the outside door knob to your room, jiggling it in the process which sounds like someone was trying to break in....very unsettling when you are trying to relax...I don't even know what time of night/morning that was! ugh

DO NOT go to the Westin if you want a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: we stayed in room #307 great view, enjoyed it except whenever people above walked around in some are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear DoterraDi,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate you choosing our resort to have a relaxing getaway with your husband. We regret to learn that your experience was not what you had hoped for and it certainly did not meet the expectations we strive to provide our guests. The feedback we receive from our guests is of great importance to us and we are reviewing your specific feedback on how we can make improvements moving forward. Should your travels bring you back to the desert, it is our hope you give us another try so we can provide you with a positive, memorable and fabulous experience you expect and deserve.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 60-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the new Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.