We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel looked great from the photos, but when I came here for a conference, I was not happy to see a few hairs in the bathroom, which made me feel it wasn't well-cleaned.

Also, I felt they were nick and diming me by charging me $20 to hold a package for me that I had delivered ahead of time. I can understand tipping the guy who brings it to me, but to just automatically tack on $20 for holding it in a closet for me - that was outrageous! I called to complain and ask them to take that charge off, but they refused. First, when I called about it, they told me it was the hotel's policy. Then when I checked out, I asked again, and was told that it was the "deal" struck by the people who were holding the conference I had attended.

For what was supposed to be a luxury resort hotel, I felt this was nickel and diming and totally not giving their guests any additional value for what they were charging. Shame on whomever made up this policy at Westin! I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear trillium000,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for providing us with these opportunities for improvement, to ensure quality. It is with great concern that we provide the most accommodating experience for our guest. We give our sincerest apology for any inconvenience that you faced during your stay. We strive to provide all of our guests with a relaxing experience and the personalized service that they deserve. We anticipate your return, so that we can create an experience that will be better than your last.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    521
    278
    165
    110
See reviews for
468
498
72
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

the grounds and scenery are beautiful, but the resort is in major need of renovation. the rooms are very dated and old. the pool is nice as well, and the golf course looked great (though I did not play). the staff were quite nice and generally helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Eric G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback. It is with delight to know that our grounds were pleasantly appealing. We are in the process of undergoing a refreshment for our guest rooms. We hope to have you back soon.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The food is just remarkable. Not only the food but the service was great too (Enrique took care of us and he was very professional). I've been coming here for the past 8 years with friends and family and every staff member from the front desk to the management have always been accommodating. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Alex C,

Thank you and we appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your "food and stay" at our resort. We are so glad to have you as a loyal guest and it is with honor to be able to serve you on a consistent basis. We look forward to welcoming you back and we can't wait to see you on your next visit!

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

For a supposedly high end resort, we were disappointed in our stay. The front desk staff were not well trained, the room was dirty (carpets were filthy, inch of dust on bathroom fixtures, etc). The phone and toilet didn't work when we arrived (but were later fixed). The rooms were recently renovated according to front desk staff, but this was not obvious judging from the look of the room we were given. The grounds are quite nice. I'm not a golfer, so I can't comment on the course. I tried to write a review on the Westin/Starwood site, but it conveniently couldn't find my reservation number in the system. Recommend staying elsewhere. Not worth the price paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Brad T,

Thank you and we appreciate your review. Thank you for providing us with these opportunities for improvement, to ensure quality. It is with great concern that we provide the most accommodating experience for our guest. We give our sincerest apology for any inconvenience that you faced during your stay. We strive to provide all of our guests with a relaxing experience and the personalized service that they deserve. We anticipate your return, so that we can create an experience that will be better than your last.
Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Although the rooms have been remodeled, the popcorn ceilings and awful air conditioning make this an average stay at best. The staff gives a descent, if half hearted effort. Lack of elevators make it difficult if you have to stay on the second floor. The grounds are vast, so a trip to the lobby is a slog. This is an older property that has seen better days.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear tgronich,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We appreciate your rating and compliments on our grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to see you soon.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our first Westin to stay at within the US during this tour. Sadly it set the tone for the balance of the trip. We arrived to find that not one detail of our group of 13 was prepared, not one. We had just finished an amazing visit to the St Regis Monarch Bay and W Westwood of which both had all details in order and a staff to receive all of us and our check in was a breeze. But the Westin Mission Hills had NOTHING, and the staff kept us in the cold at the outside drive for more then 40 min checking all of us in. Further compounding the check in was no detail or orientation about the vast property.

The property overall is very outdated, the rooms have been updated, but to low standards. The breakfast area was hard to find but upon finding it the staff was the only positive aspect of this hotel.

The front desk team is truly deplorable and not helpful in any way. The management seems to have no control over its team and dealing with SPG Starwood standards. Along with the St Frances Westin San Francisco the Wesin Mission Hills have both tarnished our view of Westin US. I would highly advise Starwood to review its management within the US and adress the needed services Westin was known for, but no longer offers.

Room Tip: Find a better hotel......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Warren K,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review, we appreciate all of your feedback. We are disappointed to know that your that well fell short of your expectation. We strive to provide our guest with a refreshing and relaxing experience. We will share your comments with our management team as this allows us to offer the best possible customer service. We hope that you will return, to offer us another opportunity to better serve you. Hope to see you soon.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

While the grounds are beautiful, the specific room we had was dirty and uncomfortable. There were stains on the carpet and sofa and there wasn't a door to the bathroom area. Overall the experience was mediocre at best and wasn't worth the money spent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Bbb1202,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review, your comments are very important to us. We appreciate your compliments on our grounds, but we find the comments pertaining to your room quite concerning. We give our sincerest apology for falling below your expectation, as we continuously strive to provide our guest with a relaxing and renewing experience. We encourage your return, so that we can provide you with a stay that will be sure to exceed your last. Hope to see you soon.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 60-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the new Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.