We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping and Maintenance Issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Housekeeping and Maintenance Issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a brief review of this site reviews, decided to give WMHR a try with my wife and 11 year old during mid/late December. We were placed in Building # 15 with a ground floor resort room. Nothing special, but some "issues" needed immediate attending. We experienced an ant infestation in both the room and bathroom areas. This matter was dealt with immediately by housekeeping. However, the front office remained oblivious to the situation even after reporting the matter on the 2nd night. The hotel was in the midst of upgrading the TV cable systems, so only 1/2 the Tv channels advertised were available and no HD channels until the room was re-wired about half way thru our 10 night stay. Eventually it was upgraded and a small credit was issued to our account to compensate. The food was acceptable though a little pricy. The resort facilities such as the games room needs some attention. An example is the billard table had no functioning pool ques ( no tips) The pool "bridge" had gone missing. The leather webbed pocket had a large hole develop which allowed the pocketed balls to come crashing onto the floor resulting in serios damage to the balls. I made the pocket repair myself with some string - after reporting the matter to the duty manager. The pool ques were repaired after 2 reminders to the duty manager. IMO management had been innundated with complaints and little was done to improve the situation until the peak Xmas guests arrived the day before the Xmas rush, to occupy the hotel. Golf courses were in fine shape which we enjoyed on a daily basis. There is no rate for jouior golfers unless you choose the twighlight option, which will not allow for a complete round to be finished before dusk. We went offsite for some golf not by choice... but $ 150.00 greenfee for an 11 year old is a bit excessive. We were staying during a low occupancy period for most of our vacation and the P/D course was less than 50 % booked. Think this pricing policy deserves some review. On the positive side, F/O management tried their best to resolve issues reported, but seems to be some disconnect between the CSR's and getting complete satisfaction. Its a nice resort. The investment is huge to build such a property - so as a business person - found it difficult to accept assets being abused from lack of management's determination to offer guests less than 100% satisfaction to maintenence issues. Three stars at best for this experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear ZhongGuoTong53,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sincerely apologetic for any inconvenience that you may have faced during your stay with us. We strive to provide our guest with a relaxing and renewing experience and it seems as if we fell below our expectation. We will be sure to share your comments with our management team as this allows us to offer the best possible customer service. We anticipate your return, so that we can create an experience that will be sure to surpass your last. Hope to see you soon.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    549
    292
    168
    113
See reviews for
483
525
76
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We purchased our stay through a package as SPG (hotel reward program) members. It was a wonderful value! The property is sprawling, and we did pull in first to the 'hotel' entrance, rather than the 'villa' entrance. Somewhat of a confusing start, but both entrances were beautifully maintained and staff was helpful in directing us to the proper check-in.
I had a call prior to our arrival, verifying our check-in time. We appreciated the personal service; however, our contact was busy upon our arrival and we were tired from travel, so we retired to our room. I had requested accommodation far from any possible construction, and the request was honored (exterior painting was being done). At check-in, I requested second level accommodations, but was told there was nothing available. It ended up that sound from the guests above was not a problem; we heard them once, but it was middle of the afternoon and we were not inconvenienced.
The room had a small washer/dryer, fridge, coffee pot, and dishwasher, as well as a pullout sofa with sheets in the closet. Because there is only one window over the sink, there is not much light in the room, but some may appreciate that in the sunny climate. I enjoy a lot of natural light, and the lower-level room did not have this. The patio was pleasant and we had mallard ducks visit each morning. The plantings were pretty and our view looked out on the golf cart path and beyond to the well-maintained golf course. We appreciated the golf cart shuttle service around the property.
Although we had been told that the hotel was at 99% capacity, we never felt that any area was crowded, nor did we wait at restaurants. There seemed to be more employees around us than guests. After a very windy day, there were even employees sweeping leaves out of the parking lot; the exterior of the property was immaculate. The pool had enough action to not feel deserted, and the restaurants had an active but not busy vibe. The pool could use a fresh supply of towels; they were quite worn and faded. But the pools had water slides and ample seating, and attentive service. The kiddie pool is a great option, as well as the adults-only pool.
We ate at Season's Grille three times. We were pleasantly surprised at the menu, offering a section of gluten-free foods, but we especially enjoyed the Super Foods options! Kudos to Westin! The servers we had were all wonderful, especially Theresa; she went above and beyond with her suggestions and service. There was another server who would jump in and help anyone anywhere; even though we didn't have her at our table, we admired her level of service. Not sure of her name, but she was pregnant and had such a friendly attitude. We really enjoyed this restaurant, and the Westin property in general.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level do not have much natural light. Rooms facing the golf course provide beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear J B,

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience while visiting our resort. We are also, very glad that you were able to witness the unparalleled service that we strive to provide all guest. We strive to provide our guest with a renewing and relaxing experience and it seems as if we did just that. We hope to see you soon and creating the same experience on your next stay.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Westin Misson Hills is a huge, multi-building resort. There is a beautiful golf course, putting green, swimming pools, hot tubs, gym, spa, kid's play area, restaurant and bar. Parking and wifi are both free, which I really appreciated. So many hotels charge for both these days, and I find it very annoying. Rooms are large and well-appointed. Beds are very comfortable, and we had both a fridge and mini-bar in our room. As an added bonus, hotel is very close to the Aqua Calliente casino.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer nice private patios with table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear LonnieAnd,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review. We very pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a "great stay". Ongoing we continue to strive to provide our guest with a very relaxing and renewing experience. We look forward to having you back and creating the same experience on your next stay. Hope to see you soon!

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Chester Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent six nights attending a sales conference in February at the resort. Found it to be very relaxing and the staff very helpful and friendly. Would give them kudos for the food, grounds, golf courses. Played both golf courses and enjoyed the views and the conditions. The snack bar at the Player course was manned by a very friendly fellow who claims to make the best cheeseburger in California. As with most spots in Palm Springs, the only drawback is that it is a bit pricy for the amenities.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Skean53,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Thank you for all of your wonderful compliments, we greatly appreciate it. We are very pleased to hear that you had very refreshing stay at our resort, as customer satisfaction is what we pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back and creating the same experience on your next stay with us. Hope to see you soon.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was here as a guest speaker at a conference, so I paid only for my room. I asked about the resort fee and the front desk clerk explained that it would have been charged to me if I were an individual traveler, but that it had been waived for the group for which I was speaking. This was correct and my bill was absolutely correct the next morning. The breakfast buffet was lovely and set up in the European tradition (meat, fruit, cheeses and cold cuts on one table; breads on another table; hot foods on a third table). My colleague had a beautifully prepared plate of eggs and I had just fruit and breads.

Room Tip: Don't park before checking in. The hotel is broken up into small villas, so you'll be drivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear professordoctormom,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review. We are very pleased to know that you had a renewing stay at our resort. We strive to provide our guest with a relaxing and revitalizing stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast in Pinzimini. We look forward to seeing you again and providing the same level of service that you received on your most recent stay.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I attended a 3-day conference at Westin Mission Hills. My wife and I had dinner our first evening at Pinzimini's (on site) and we were pretty disappointed not only in the food but the service. First of all, the "Pinzimini Bread Service" was one fairly unremarkable piece of bread for each of us, with a bottle of olive oil and a bottle of balsalmic vinegar on the table. TWICE we asked for more bread which never arrived. The other advertised signature item at Pinzimini is their "Antipasto Bar". This was not a "bar" as most people would think -- where you personally select your own items from food arranged on another table -- it is simply a choice on the menu. Their last signature item, the Pinzimini Bistecca, is only available for two people at $98.

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable with a large bathroom. This was nice for my wife as I could get ready in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Les V,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We very pleased to hear that our grounds and guestrooms were pleasantly appealing, but we are disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We will be sure to share your comments and concerns with our management team. We do have various Food and Beverage outlets around property, that all offer a very diverse variety of food. We hope that when you return, that you'll have a better dining experience in one of our many other outlets. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Rooms are decent and the small patios with delicious tangerine trees in the back are a lot of fun for kids. Guests of all ages can enjoy recreation opportunities ranging from Kids Club to golf, tennis, spa and pools. The staff is efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear cgoldsch,

Thank you and we appreciate the feedback. We are thrilled to know that you and your family had renewing visit while staying at our resort. It is with pleasure to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the many offerings that we do extend to our guest. We look forward to seeing you again and creating the same experience on your next stay. Hope to see you soon.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 60-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the new Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.