We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1-Night Family Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great 1-Night Family Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We love the Palm Springs area. The climate and views are remarkable. The Westin was a real treat for our family. Our little girls loved exploring all the passageways and waterfalls, chasing the ducks, and riding the shuttle. The waterslide was a huge hit with our 5-year old. I think she did it at least 50 times in one day. The room, the grounds, and the public areas were all in tip-top condition. Overall I'd highly recommend this resort for a family trip or a getaway. The views accross the golf courses towards the mountains (snow-topped during our stay) were breathtaking.

Room Tip: Get a gold-course view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear SAN1K,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope you will join us again very soon.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    563
    303
    171
    113
See reviews for
499
534
78
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very comfortable with all of the comforts of home. Thanks to Maria at the front desk we had the perfect room for our needs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our family enjoyed 6 great days at the Westin Mission Hills. The rooms are spacious and wonderfully maintained. Our sons (7 & 9) loved the water slide along with all the other children. The slide is supervised by a lifeguard which is a nice feature. The hot tub was truly hot and relaxing! We met families from Chicago, Boston as well as the local California area. All agreed that this property is perfect in so many ways - service, location and hospitality. There are nice pathways on property for running / walking and great store for snacks, smoothies, coffee etc. The Westin is close to shopping and restaurants and in a favorable (safe) area. We ate breakfast every morning at the Bella Vista restaurant and loved both the continental and full breakfast buffet. Considering the quality and abundance of the fresh fruits, muffins, pastries, cheese, meats and both hot and cold items, it is an exceptional value and a very nice way to start the day. We enjoyed an "evening with the stars" complete with a local astronomer and telescopes. Our boys saw the moving space shuttle first hand, and learned so much. What truly makes the Westin a great holiday experience is the staff. A special thank you to Jose and Karla for their great recommendations and for taking the time to make our vacation so enjoyable. We will return and highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

As a business traveler this hotel wasn't perfect for me. Parking was extremely limited near the villas and I managed to score a room right above the kids club. Wait, they have a kids club? Not great for a business traveler but as a mom I would love to come back with my daughter. They have super spacious rooms, an amazing pool with water slide and lots of child-friendly activities.

It has all the amenities you would expect out of a Westin (heavenly bed & bath, excellent service, a great Westin Workout fitness center) but in a resort setting. The rooms seemed to be converted condos that they made into large guest rooms.

I definitely would like to return again but more for a family vacation than as a business traveler. Oh, and even though I booked with reward points they forced me to pay the $27/day resort fee. So I forced myself to sit in the jacuzzi after my meeting...not so bad I guess.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear djrhoffman,

Thank you for your most recent review. We appreciate all your comments and concerns as this allows us to improve are services. We do hope you will visit us again soon on business and or with your family.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed here using points, it seems very pricy. It was the end of May so starting to be the slow and cheaper season in the desert but not TOO hot yet (only 95!) I had facebook contacted someone who maintains their FB page and she sent us gift baskets for the kids and greeted us as old friends at check in! VERY impressed. The place was very beautiful, HUGE area, ginormous grounds to walk around on. The use of the day spa was a pleasant surprise - for free! The cold washcloths soaked in ice and orange oil and rosepetals was worth it by itself. The pool was great, a slide for the kids, a huge amount of lawn chairs, several different pools and a beautiful area where a family of ducks had made a home on a grassy area with rocks that we enjoyed watching.

The room itself typical room, not a suite but with a table, sliding glass door to balcony and a huge - HUGE - bathroom that my husband and I were able to get away to away from the kids ;) kids really liked this place, very family friendly. I will definitely be back. I get the feeling this is a timeshare type of place for a lot of the guests and that made me apprehensive but I got great treatment and I saw no other evidence of this timeshare thing, no mention of it at all. In fact they gave us a discount book at the desk inside just for asking about it. As I mention in all my reviews, there was no "resort fee" parking was plentiful and included and there were no extra charges or "holds" to my credit card.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear tigerl,

Thank you for your most recent review. We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide the best possible service for our guests so they walk away with an unbelievable getaway experience. We hope to see you back at the Westin very soon!

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Mu husband and I have stayed at this Westin many times. "Westin" is a brand we can usually rely on, and the Rancho Mirage hotel is one of our favorites. This trip seemed to be jinxed from the beginning. A few of the problems we ran into were:
- our room keys didn't work
- the air conditioner didn't work but, after it was repaired and the outside temp dropped,
- the heater didn't work
- the sliding closet door wouldn't stay on it's track
- the "line 1" (NOT the voicemail) line never stopped blinking, no matter how many times we reported it
- the water in the jacuzzi near our unit was cold
- at checkout, the video checkout didn't work.

Each of these was a minor annoyance, and the Service Dept responded promptly each time we called, but in their totality these problems detracted from what we had planned to be a relaxing and enjoyable getaway at a hotel we've always trusted for quality. Not too sure that we'll return - there are plenty of nice places to stay in the Palm Desert area!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear TustinTraveler2008,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the challenges you faced during your stay. We strive to provide the finest services for our guests for the ultimate getaway experience. We do hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your business and hope you will join us again soon. Should you wish to further discuss your stay please feel free to email us at denise.harnett@wesitn.com. We do look forward to hearing from you.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The rooms are very comfortable and the grounds superb. For the pricey conference rate of the rooms, I expected a little more, a clean coffee maker, shower gel in addition to bar soap, maybe some mouthwash. The food is very pricey and I had to pay $50 for lunch which was only a chicken ceasar salad with a slice of chocolate cake. Very disappointing. If you are there to stay and relax, this is the place to go if you have a lot of money to spend. For the conference, the rooms were quite a distance from the conference center.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear redracecar92,

Thank you for your most recent post. We do appreciate all your comments, concerns and suggestions. Thank for being a loyal patron and we hope you will join us again soon.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 60-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the new Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.