We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Well Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Westin MH a few months ago and we had an amazing time. I golfed and the girls relaxed at the pool. The pool staff was great, they had an amazing young employee named Carlos who treated my familiy and I like GOLD. We will be back soon. Great family Resort. Note Stay as close as you can to pool and main building..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise H, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Michael b,

Thank you for your lovely comments and feedback. We will certainly inform Carlos!
We hope to see you again very soon.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    585
    309
    176
    115
See reviews for
515
548
80
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Westin for our 4 Year Anniversary / Babymoon. The fact that we were able to use airline miles to book our 2-night stay made for a great deal! Check-in was easy and we were greeted by friendly staff. Upon reviews previously read, we requested 2nd floor golf view room, and it was awesome! Vaulted ceiling, big bathroom, great view, close to lobby, AMAZING beds! Beds are definitely heavenly, as it was some of the best sleep we had all year - worth the trip alone! Minor problems with room like broken screen door and no access to paid movies, but it didn't ruin our trip. We enjoyed breakfast at Bella Vista, playing pool in the activities room, the pool water-slide, and free yoga class at the spa. My husband highly enjoyed golf at the Gary Player course, and we enjoyed going out in Palm Springs at night. Customer Service was top notch. Every staff person was friendly, helpful, and accommodating, which made our experience that much better! Nice relaxing resort without the feel of being in a high rise hotel. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor with golf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Mission Hills a few weeks ago and were delighted with the accommodations. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was very large as well. I would have preferred a walk in shower, But the shower heads in the tub were fabulous. My husband loved the golf course and we had dinner in the restaurant and the food very very good (albiet a little pricey - but, hey you're at a resort so that's expected). The spa was very nice as was the main pool area. The resort is an older resort, but they maintian is beautifully. Staff were very nice and the resort has nice walking paths.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The first impression is beautiful. The view through the atrium when you first pull up is stunning and the lobby / bar area is beautiful too. The front desk and concierge people are quite friendly and helpful. But it ends there.

This property is sorely in need of an update, especially when you get to the accommodation buildings (there are ten or so buildings each housing a dozen or so rooms). The pavement walkways are cracked and chipped everywhere. Most of the signage is so weathered it's tough to make out. The mini courtyard in each of the buildings that house the rooms has tired and brittle landscaping and dry, oxidized fountains. The rooms are adequate and clean, but without the amenities and style I've come to expect from the many other Westin's I've enjoyed. The pool and slide are fun, but also in need of some freshening up. There a kids playground on one end of the property that looks like it was transplanted from Cold-War era eastern Europe.

The restaurant, Bella Vista, serves an adequate average breakfast, but the dinner menu is limited and my roasted half-chicken was flavorless. The bigger problem with the restaurant was the staff. I was astonished that, to a tee, each member of the restaurant staff behaved as if they were doing us a favor. It was quite uncomfortable, and so not what I've experienced at any other Westin. At breakfast, when I asked the hostess seating us for a high-chair for our 16-month old, she's said "ask your server for one." After five minutes of standing at the table holding the baby and no server in sight, the hostess finally went and got the high-chair.

The golf course is beautiful and well-maintained as is most of the landscaping (aside from the areas near the rooms). It's a nice property to take a walk in. Don't get me wrong, this was a quick weekend away with the kids and we had a great time. But if it was just my wife and I looking to be pampered, we'd be pretty disappointed, especially after the fabulous experiences we've had at other Westins.

It's all about expectations, right? If the sign out front said Holiday Inn Resort and Spa, I would have been thrilled with the place.

Room Tip: If you have kids, get a room near the pool, otherwise it's a long walk / resort shuttle ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise H, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Neil B,

Thank you for your most recent post. My apologies if you felt our property fell short of your expectations. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the best personalized service we are well known for. We hope to see you again soon. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at denise.harnett@westin.com.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Nice facility, breakfast is fresh and well served. The room thou smells, furniture is old, and there is no easy way to get around.
The work out room is small with a lot of equipment.
Value is poor for the price

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise H, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Alex O,

Thank you for your recent post. My apologies if you felt our property was not up to your standards. We try at the Westin to provide the best possible service and accomodations for all of our guests. We hope you will give us the opportunity and join us again soon.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a very disappointing stay here. This property is not even close to the usual Westin standards we have experienced. It is an old property that needs some work! Our room had a horrible smell and the bathroom was gross! There were nasty chunks dried onto the tile by the toilet, the base of the toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months, and there was black grease or something all over the shower tile. The only thing that saved our stay here was the main pool area. It's great for kids and the water was nice and warm even in the cold rain.
For what we paid here, it was a HUGE disappointment!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise H, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Jetty14 ,

Thank you for you most recent post. We take all feedback seriously and apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. We hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence and hope you will join us again soon so we may provide the excellent service we are known for. We thank you again for your feedback.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I met at this resort about 2 and 1/2 years ago. We decided to go to a marriage retreat that was being offered by our church there and figured that the timing was romantic since we are coming up on a one year anniversary.
We happened to mention to the staff that we had met while there and they treated us like royalty. Everyone was so happy for us and so good to us. We were treated to a couple of complimentary items and a lot of kindness. We were so grateful and so encouraged, it totally put a big cherry right on the top of our experience there.
In particular we would thank Jose Luis and Joanna Lee. Their service really stood out. We would also thank Cecilia Lopez and Mirna Ramirez for their kindness. But frankly, we didn't have a bad interaction with any staff during that whole weekend.
Wow! Great job, crew! We will make a regular tradition out of visiting the resort where my wife and I first met. :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 60-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the new Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.