We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Rancho Las Palmas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Your 2-Night Stay
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great experience at Rancho Las Palmas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We stayed at RLP during June in room #514. We were there for a 50th birthday with a large group that all wanted to stay at the same place. I was hesitant to stay at RLP due to some reviews but we were very happy with the resort.

Some of the past posts complained of a lot of noise from construction, noise through the walls, poor service and the pool situation. We heard no construction in the room at all, very little when outside, no noise from the rooms on either side of us, great service from 5 minute check in and out, to faxes delivered within 10 minutes of receipt, room service, it was all great. I will admit that if I did have children it would have been a bummer for the slide to be closed but unlike others they did inform us when we made our reservation back in May, it is also on their website, and they told us again at check-in. And yes, the adult pool is busy but we found chairs and there was wait staff everywhere. Poolside for from The Mango Margaritas to the Chicken Pita Nachos from Palms Grill were all good and big portions.

The room was a newly renovated full of marble/granite, duvets, featherbeds and really nice down pillows. It had a great 46” plasma t.v. mini-bar, great lanai over looking the golf course, glass enclosed shower/tub, and ducks that come up to say hello, as well as birds singing everywhere and swaying palm trees.

Housekeeping does come a little early – 8:45 they were knocking but we were up and leaving so not a big deal. Just put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door and they comply.

HOT, yes it was hot. It hit 112 on our trucks thermometer on the way but we knew it would be hot and expected such. Early tee times for those playing - 6:45 to start.

The River across the street is fantastic with all the shopping, eating and drinking establishments anyone could want. Make dinner reservations well in advance if you have a large group. We had 25 and could not get into PF Changs with two day notice except at 7:00 Saturday.

We ate at Babe’s Bar-B-Que but it did not do much for us. $25.95 for a dinner plate of bar-b-que. $11.95 for a tri-tip sandwich that was on two White Castle buns. Good tri-tip though. $11.00 for a White Russian cocktail – I about died when I saw that my 2 drinks were $22 and we had all the same booze back at the room. Again, it was a good cocktail, nice and strong but not worth $11.00. Heck that is higher than Hawai’i.

The second night we at Piero’s – not very good either, very bland. Had the Linguine Checca which was Linguine with roma tomatoes, basil and mozzarella balls but they just put a few mozzarella balls in the whole bowl. I added grilled chicken and $11.95 was not bad but it was bland. Big portions though. Service was slow even though the waitress announced that we would be her only table for a while until we stated eating.

All in all we would definitely go back to RLP – we have to see our ducklings.

  • Liked — The quiet room and decor
  • Disliked — Can't think of any
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    517
    225
    116
    97
See reviews for
848
335
26
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

It was an okay experience. When we made our reservations, we were looking forward to enjoying the pool slide featured on the website, but when we arrived... the hotel was going through construction...even the pool slide. The lobby was nice and check in was simple...but we questioned their policy. We prepaid our room through a travel website and the cashier still wanted to with hold $200.00 (incidentals) on our credit card. We have traveled to a lot places/hotels & we have never experienced a problem like this one. Some hotels have with hold $25-$50 but $200--that was the price we paid for one night!!! When we arrived to our room, it was across the construction site, but since our room was facing the golf course, the noise did not bother us & it was very quiet. The room was nice, big & clean...and our king bed was very comfortable. The next morning we decided to take dip in the pool and was disappointed because it was over crowded with guests, families and kids. There were not enough lounge chairs and we only stayed for 30 minutes. Overall, it was okay, but definitely some problems. The price was too expensive...esp. with all the ongoing renovations... they should have NOT charged an extra resort fee to the guests if the facility are limited to activities. For resort that big, ONE pool is not big enough to hang under the "Palm Spring Sun."

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

I want to make it clear that the waterslide which is the prime attraction for kids is closed until October. They are not voluntarily notifying guests who have reservations. Our family made reservations in mid-May for an early June stay. The pool closed just days before our check in date. Nothing was mentioned. We asked about the pool to confirm it would be open. Reservations and front desk did not tell us that the waterslide and a major portion of the family pool would be closed. Our girls were planning a trip to the desert. They are very sad. We found out from a family member and its too late to cancel our reservation.
I am posting here because I would hate for someone else to have dissapointed children.

  • Liked — The location near the River
  • Disliked — The lack of communication
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

I booked a last minute trip over memorial day weekend through expedia for my sisters brithday. They were having a 48 hr deal on the this hotel for $155 a night including all taxes. When I went online to the actual RLP website the same room was going for $269. Upon arrival at around 1pm we did have to wait about 10 minutes to check in, and were told our room wasn't ready and they would call us when it was ready. So we headed across the street (so close you can walk!) to the River Walk which had tons of restuarants and shops.

We went to the adult pool while waiting for our room to be ready. The pool was fair. It was pretty small and they needed about 50 more chairs to accomodate all of the guests. There was one poor waitress serving the whole pool area of over 100 people. The temperature of the pool was nice though. I just think they need to hire more staff.

I got a call on my cell phone at about 2:40 that our room was ready. We picked up the keys and headed to our building which was only 3 bulidings away from the lobby- building 5. To our surprise we walked into a completely renovated room (minus the flat screen tv). The room had a Marble entry way, granite counter tops, comfy pillow-top beds, freshly painted walls and new dark mahogany furniture. Our room overlooked a pond and golf course....it was beautiful!

Overall I'd say this hotel is on it's way to becoming a 5 star resort but it does have a way to go. If you stay here ask to be a newly renovated room and head to the adult pool early to claim your spot!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

My husband and I booked a one-night stay at the resort after getting a pretty good deal on travelzoo.com. We had pretty low expectations seeing the reviews we read but decided to stay at the resort anyway. While there is still construction going on, it did not interfere with our stay at all. The grounds are big, beautiful and well-kept. We thought the pool was great and they were showing a pool-side childrens movie that night. which seemed cute. The room was nice but would benefit from an up-grade. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the customer service was great. We look forward to staying at the resort in the future and look forward to taking our child too, as it seems very family friendly. My only complaints would be that we could hear the family in the room nest to us through the adjoining door, hopefully a problem that can remedied through the remodel. Also, I disliked the pillows although my husbnd thought they were great.

  • Liked — The grounds were great, great architecture/ design
  • Disliked — you could hear too much noise from the neighboring rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

Every year for the past 5 years we have stayed at this hotel and it has been great...small kids (2 years and up) rode the waterslide all weekend in the past...lots of lifeguards and really clean water. This year, I guess there is new management.....kids couldnt ride the slide unless they were 48". They did not post this on their site, not mentioned at check in or even when we booked tickets....so when we got there we had 3 crying kids that were all underneath the height requirement....they have ridden the slide the last few years and could not wait for their vacation...and upon our arrival, the teenage lifeguards would not let them on. After argueing out by the managemt out by the pool along with a large group of other parents...we told them refund us or call the police we were rideing the slide.....MY ADVICE.....don't go unless your kids are tall enough...also, OVERFLOWING TRASHCANS, pool gates were propped open unstead of having self closing gates, and the movie by the pool that played from 8pm until 10 pm was WAY too loud.......

  • Liked — nice bed
  • Disliked — dirty pool, overflowing trash cans,
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ill.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

I had low expectations going in. And I was still not pleased. Nice grounds, pool. Decent common areas. This property needs to renovate all its rooms, fast.

I checked out early due to my being unhappy with the rooms. I made front desk clerk aware of my issues. They made no effort to rectify or offer to call a manager or even express regret that I was unhappy. Just a blank stare.

Nice location. Mediocre rooms and service.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.