We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off 2-Night Stay
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Swansea
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We'd been busy on both the East and West coasts so this was our R&R time for two nights. We enjoyed it so much that we stayed another two after the hotel matched a great rate we found on the internet. The place is well furbished and well kept, the golf course is really nice and the family pool is great for smaller children as it has slides etc. You can book everything through the hotel and so a round of golf, buggys, clubs etc costs $58 but tee off early as it gets really warm. The food in the hotel was tasty enough but the staff weren't that attentive and were basically killing time eventhough it was only 9pm. The R bar was a bit of a joke as it was only open the one night and even then closed at 9pm.

The rooms are very nice, well equipped and modern. Beds were extremely comfy and a struggle to get up off even if just snoozing in the afternoon.

Great place which we'll visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that overlocks the golf course rather than the pool as they're a bit qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Greyo,

We are pleased to have provided a comfortable place for your much deserved R+R! Thanks for sharing your experience with us. It's great that you were able to get in a round of golf, and at a nice rate! And how wonderful that you were able to extend your stay by two days! We do hope on your next stay we are able to wow you in our dining outlets, improving both service level and the consistency in hours of operation. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We will look forward to seeing you on your next desert getaway!

Sincerely,
Rancho Las Palmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    439
    192
    104
    88
See reviews for
737
280
20
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just got home and girls (10 and 6) are already asking when we can return! First impressions..fantastic! 20min from airport, ($40 cab ride as we opted not to get a car for entire duration), checkin and bell staff wonderful and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.
Room in a great location with Splashtopia out our front door and balcony overlooking the golf course with mountains in the distance, perfect for hubby.
Rooms spacious, a king bed and comfy pull out sofa worked well for us. A minifridge in the room would have made it perfect!
Nasty sticky stuff(?) on carpet in a couple spots which I pointed out to our housekeeper on day three and she managed to scrub out. Noticed dead wasp near balcony door which kept its spot the entire 5 nights we were there. So overall, cleanliness was ok. Turndown service was very inconsistent. Our girls loved getting the little mints on their pillows(on the two nights their bed was made up) and 2 nights only our bed was turned down. Then on the last night we had a knock on the door for turndown service at 515P, while we were getting ready for dinner? I said we would like it, but after we left the room; sadly they never returned.
BluEmber had a nice menu, and the two times we ate there it was very good. The girls loved the mini buffet, although more choice for the kids would have been nice.
Did the 7min walk to The River twice in blistering heat..whoa...great selection there for eats. We were offered a ride by the bell staff and they did take me to CVS for supplies which was great.
Splash cafe reasonably priced, thought breakie at Palms pricey though, with a fruit smoothie at $7, and the usual crazy Starbucks coffee prices!
Lazy river and water slides are good fun, although incredibly crowded on the weekend. It was difficult getting tubes when the kiddy pool was closed(2X) while we were there, each time for 10hr period due to..well use your imagination..lots of kids in the pool, very likely not eating the best on vacay, enough said. The adult pool was opened up to families when this happened. Good for the families, not so good for the adult vacationers.
Lifeguards were great; didn't waiver on rules, I saw them turning away children not tall enough for waterslides, and reminding everyone in lazy river they needed to be in/on tubes. They (Taylor in particular) really stepped up and assisted when our daughter got a gusher of a nose bleed after the water slide. Many thanks for all your concern and help!
Movie nights at the pool were fun, two things that could have made it more enjoyable 1) bigger screen, or at least an elevated screen, as frontrowers didn't lower lounge chairs and you can't see over (stayed at a resort in Jamaica earlier this year; they had a large floating screen in the pool) and 2) what's a movie without popcorn?
Bell staff managed to get us a car rental last minute on a busy wkd..very much appreciated!
Last day at the pool we were asked for towel cards which we'd hadn't received but hadn't needed as the resort wasn't full until then. I hate the towel card format, but it does eliminate the laziness of guests who don't think they need to return their towels.
Overall a wonderful time and would definitely return...and will when it's not quite as hot! Thanks RLP for the great mini-vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear travelbeth1,

Wow, thank you very much for sharing the many details of your stay! We are so happy to have offered a wonderful mini-vacation for you and your family. We do apologize, however, as it sounds like it was not without kinks. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We are happy you were able to beat the heat with such an upbeat attitude, and of course, family pool time! We appreciate you choosing Rancho and will look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,
Rancho Las Palmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This resort is great for families with kids. Only a few concerns...Blu Ember was having a buy one adult meal and get a kids meal for free. The food took forever to be brought out - while my kids were done with their meals (there is a kid buffet), my husband and I had to wait 45 minutes for ours. By the time our food arrived, my kids were done and wanted to leave. Not the way to spend a nice meal together! Refrigerators in the rooms should be empty (another plus for families) - not filled with items to be purchased. One last thing...there should be ice machines in every complex...we had to walk around in 114 degree weather to find a machine. And, when we did (which was across the parking lot), it was empty! In Palm Springs, ice is a must! Overall, we had a great time and would go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lovely reception area in nice part of palm springs. Our room was in a block on the 2nd floor. This is difficult when you have lots of bags. Our room looked over splashtopia which our kids loved. This is a mini water park with 2 slides, fountains and a lazy river. It was a noisy area with all the kids screaming and shouting but understandable as they were so excited. The pool areas were far too crowded for me. The beds were so close to each other I could hear everyone's conversations and found it difficult to relax. There was an adult pool which looked lovely but I could not go there with my kids and I needed to supervise mine. Kids ate free on the evening however their buffet food was cold and could have been more choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room beside the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Family of five checked into rancho las palmas spa and resort on august 13 thur 16th into building 2700 ! We have never gone so we set out on our trip and to our surprise ! The staff was awesome !! What ever we needed they did not hesitate to full fill our needs our view was great over looking the golf course and splahtopia was just across the way I did my research for about a month heard a lot of negative stuff on yep and trip advisor but I tell u the truth ! Don't miss out on this place !! Family from long beach

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I went with our two children, ages 4 and 6 to Rancho Las Palmas for three nights. We met my sister in law and her husband and their two children, 7 and 11 at the resort for a family vacation. We had a lovely visit and every child loved the trip. All four were entertained by the lazy river, the pool, waterslides, and water feature area. I was a little nervous about this trip after reading some of the negative reviews, but I always keep an open mind. Every employee that we came across, from valet, check-in person, housekeeper, groundskeepers, lifeguards, and pool-side servers were very friendly and gracious -- and in 112 degree heat! We all felt very welcomed. Our room was very nice, the ac worked fabulously, and it was clean. There are many buildings, we stayed in room 2125 in the 2100 building, it's just across a narrow parking lot from the pool. It has pretty views of the golfing greens and is conveniently located near a back gate to the pool, but not so close to be near all the noise! The rest of our family was in 2322, in the 2300 building and they said they would choose the same building as well for their next visit.

It's noted that within walking distance is The River -- an outdoor mall of shops and restaurants. I would not say that it's walking distance within that heat (what is?) but it is truly a 5-10 minute walk. There are great restaurants there that are cheaper than the resort, which is to be expected. Our favorite was Aqua Pizza, which is a sister restaurant to Lulu's in Palm Springs -- very similar menu but a more casual atmosphere and extremely affordable. Everything there is delicious.

On our last day at the pool we had a server named Kayla. She was very good to us, bringing us food and drinks and checking on us as frequently as possible. While everyone that we met there was great, I would like to note that she was particularly fantastic and still remained poised and gracious when a family of guests nearby became verbally abusive. A family had provided their teenage daughters with alcohol and became quite disruptive when asked to leave the pool by the management. After the teenagers repeatedly hurled obscenities at her, security and management very discreetly and appropriately had the family leave the resort. I was happy to see that the situation was handled appropriately and quietly before children in the area were exposed to their behavior.

I would also like to note that the lifeguards were great! They were all over the lazy river and waterslide areas and kept a constant eye on what was going on. They were very friendly but extremely professional and quick to action whenever they saw anything inappropriate, which I found reassuring as a mother. They were also quite vigilant about the height requirements for the waterslides, so be forewarned! The height requirement is 42 inches and ppl can only ride singly in the waterslide. I measured my son before we went to verify but he was measured again every time there was a shift change at the waterslide just to be be sure, and saw other children that didn't meet the requirement turned away. I would much rather this happen than here a sad story later.

Planning my next trip to Rancho Mirage, hopefully in weather not quite as hot!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our family stay at the Rancho Las Palmas was nice. We spent everyday and all day at Splashtopia. It was fun for both of my boys ages 9 and 10 along with my husband.

The service was excellent. Our server Kaley made our day! She was sweet, helpful and very professional. Even all the while she was being harassed by 2 teen aged guests that hurled insults, curses and followed her around the river to continue their harassing. It was distracting to see these guests act in such a way, but Kaley quickly turned her attention to us whenever she walked by to help us with an order despite the impossible situation she was put in.

I was a bit disappointed that we were not allowed to bring in our own food. Our kids are on a restricted diet so they are not able to eat what is on the menu. So that meant we needed to walk out of Splashtopia every time our kids needed to eat something. A lot more inconvenient than I planned for.

However, I would definitely come back but probably only spend a day rather than 4 days next time because of the poolside restrictions.

We love this place and can't wait for our next visit. I hope Kaley is still there too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#1 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.