We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, but avoid holiday weekends!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off 2-Night Stay
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice resort, but avoid holiday weekends!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at Rancho Las Palmas over Spring Break/Easter weekend 2011. We have a mixed review.
Pros: Very clean room - great housekeeping, dining at Blue Ember was DELICIOUS. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept.
Cons: Walls are thin ~ couldn't sleep because of family next door one night. Splashtopia was very crowded - could not get a chair and kids (and parents) were squirting water guns all over the place - including lazy river.
Would be great if not so crowded.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    458
    199
    106
    91
See reviews for
764
294
22
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We just got back today from a mini-vacation at Rancho Las Palmas Resort, and I have only good things to say about it...well mostly good things. The staff were friendly and helpful. The surroundings pleasant and spacious. There is a feeling of being away from it all, although the resort is very close to restaurants, theaters, and stores. We were a family of 6 - two grandparents, our daughter and three grandsons 15 year old twins and one boy 10 years old. We all had fun in the pool and floating around in inner tubes on the 'lazy river'. Our rooms were large, clean and recently renovated. As mentioned above, there are ample eateries in the immediate area, The Cheesecake Factory, Mimi's, to name but two, so there is no need to pay through the nose to eat at the resort restaurants. Also, a Vons supermarket a few blocks away for other supplies. The only negative we found was a loud creaking noise in our room, which I think was due to a plastic crown molding around the ceiling reacting to temperature changes. It was irritating the first night, but by the second night, we seemed to tune it out. Oh, and if you don't mind being awakened at dawn by myriad tweeting and chirping birds, this is the place to be, although the hotel can't do much about that. All in all, a pleasant stay at a very family friendly resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were checking in with our children ages 23, 14, and 13. We were told reserving a regular room with a roll away bed for an additional $35 a night would accommodate all of us in one room. Upon arrival to the hotel Deb in registration said they didn't not have our request for a roll away bed; but, resolved that (so we thought). After leaving for some area activities we came back with the message light flashing and were told by Liz that there were not any roll away beds and they were sorry for our inconvenience. I asked who was suppose to sleep on the floor and what were they going to give me for my trouble. Blanca the manager gave no resolution to our problem and didn't seem to be concerned with our family member stuck without a bed or bedding. Overall the lack of compassion or motivation to keep us happy was underwhelming to say the least. After frustration and a trip to the lobby to speak with the manager it turns out our roll away was given to the incorrect room. Whew a relief right.
The room was full of bugs, spiders, and gave little of the modern conveniences like a microwave or small fridge. The pool and lazy river was so over crowded and full of people is was more like bumper cars and looking out for little ones pulled under by mass people, it was anything but relaxing. Overall we would choose to stay at another resort and didn't feel the value was worth the money we spent. The location to the River shops across the street was the one upstanding feature to the resort and honestly the only one I appreciated. Bottom line...save your cash and do your research

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent 4 nights in early May. Our 6 year old had a fabulous time in Splashtopia. And yes, it was filled with kids, although it cleared out on Monday. The grounds are beautiful, and our room was very comfortable.
We had a very good dinner at BluEmber, great for special occasions. We didn't really get a feeling of individual attention from the staff, it's just such a big place. But somehow I expected more for the money I spent. This would be a good spot to go with another family, hang out at the pool.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear 3travelersLosAngeles,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor! We’re glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and dinner at bluEmber! We apologize that our staff did left you with a less than satisfactory impression. We have forwarded your comments for training purposes. Hopefully, we can welcome you back again for a truly enjoyable vacation.
Sincerely, Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Finally we were going to make a trip to rancho. Our friends and family highly recommended it. We have 4 kids, 8,6,3, 1 1/2, so we thought this would be a great place for our family to enjoy. We were sadly mistaken and very disappointed. We were only there for 5 mintues, before I wanted to leave. It took us 20 minutes to find a chair, not on for all of us, but just 1 chair. I guess I should have tipped the attendants and then I would have gotten chairs. At least this is what we saw happening around us. Once we were settled we headed into the pool. Well besides having far too many people then is allowed by code, it was DIRTY. Hair, food, greasy film and trash all over the pool. The hot tub was ten times worse. The sign stated 8 people max and I stopped counting at 27! 2 of my children have ADHD and have sensory issues. The pool tends to be a great place for them to go because it is relaxing. Well not here. The amount of people was insane. The pool is too small for the hotels capacity. The other thing that was disappointing was the lay out. At other area resorts you can see your kids almost everywhere. Here if one kid wants to go on the slide, another in the lazy river and one at the beach area, it's impossible. The beach is hidden and with the crowds, you can lose sight of them easily. Plus they were getting mixed up on where our chair was. So we all stayed together in the pool til our room was ready. The rooms were very nice. The beds, bathroom and decor were great. Maybe they should have put the 35 million in the pools and cleanness and not just the rooms. The kids loved being on the ground floor because we had easy access to the grass and we could play. We decided to leave the resort by 5pm and made rearrangements to do so. Since we were going to be charged for the mint we slept there. We had breakft at bluEmber in the morning and the bill blew me away. $83 for 2 adults and 2 kids. 2 were free. That's nuts! Needless to stay we checked out and drove down the rode to the Westin at Mission Hills and loved every minute of it. See that review under Westin. We will never go back to Rancho again. I will not give it another chance. Too much money to take a chance. The kids didn't have a good time and wanted to leave just as bad as us. Its sad, because it's a good concept, but not enough room to accomendate it's guests.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear 4gr8kids,
Thank you for posting your review. We’re sorry that you and your family did not enjoy Rancho Las Palmas. We have forwarded your comments to our Operations team for training purposes. If you have any other questions or comments, please feel free to contact us at guestexperience@rancholaspalmas.com.
Sincerely, Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My husband, 6-year old daughter and I stayed in a double/double Lakeview room the weekend before Memorial weekend. I should have given "double/double" a bit more thought, because it is a room with 2 full-size beds (smaller than Queen), so is not a comfortable sleep for whoever has to share. Next time, I would opt for the King size with a pull-out sofa sleeper.

Upon check-in, we discovered that they made an error and had 2 rooms booked for us. Clearly, we had booked only 1 room, as shown in the confirmation printout from our online booking. The attendant insisted that we had 2 rooms and looked unsure as to what to do next. After several long minutes, I finally suggested he cancel it and make sure we weren't charged. My impression was that their attendants were inexperienced but I let it go (because I remember the days of my own "first job").

We were in building 6, a Lakeview room, on the ground floor. There was convenient parking right in front of our room (free parking). Room was decent and everything in good working condition. Upon settling in and relaxing on our terrace, we noticed a dead bird with flies circling it a few feet from our patio. We called to have it removed, but it stayed there until the evening.

As a repeat customer, they sent candies to our room, which was very nice. It sure made our kid happy! We proceeded to dinner at BluEmber. I think they have a new chef, because he or she is OUTSTANDING. The food was delicious - tenderloin cooked to perfection, and Chilean sea bass absolutely wonderful. They have a childrens' dinner buffet for the little ones. A very nice option to have.

The Splashtopia was fun. Free tubes and plenty of them. Servers were very attentive and you could order food to eat by the pool and lazy river. 80's music playing in the background was a nice touch, for us older folk! The water slides and water park were fun for both the kids and grown-ups.

Upon check-out, you might be a bit surprised that the bill is higher than anticipated. It's because there are many extra charges tacked on - CA Tourism / BID assessment, 10% occupancy tax per night, daily resort charge, tax on the resort charge. Once you get over the surprise, it's overall a fun and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Quieter on the 2nd story; double beds are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear SD_gallivant,
Thank you for posting your review! We’re very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our new chef’s cuisine at bluEmber! We have forwarded your comments about your check-in experience to our Front Desk staff for training purposes. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely, Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Second stay at RLP. First stay was Labor Day weekend 2010. Some initial thoughts...
1. The location is great. The Rivers Shopping center is right next door. Many dining/shopping options within a 5 minute drive.
2. The grounds are well kept and the service friendly. However, most of the staff are on the younger side and a bit less polished. They are friendly and courteous, but appear overwhelmed at times. Understaffed or lack of experience or combination thereof... Housekeeping does decent job but overlooks finer details...Half an inch of dust on the mini-fridge!
3. This is a family resort that tries to pack it in on weekends/holidays/spring break. If you come during the latter two, expect to pay 2-3 times the weekday/non-holiday rate. For example, we first looked for rooms at the end of spring break, and it was $400 per night. We pushed back travel date by 2 weeks to first part of May, and paid $180/night.
4. Be prepared to be nickled and dimed...resort fee, fridge fee, room connection fee ($35 to open the door between room...truly outrageous!). Best analogy I can think of is from Les Miserables, the song "Master of the House." "Charge them for the ...! Extra for the ....! Two percent for looking in the mirror twice. Here a little slice, there a little cut. Three percent for sleeping with the window shut."
5. The resort is spread over many 2 story buildings, some around the adult pool, some around kiddy pool/splashtopia, and other around parking lot. The walls are thin...you'll hear your neighbors (and the ones above if you are on first floor). Prefer second floor over first (drawback is lugging luggage up the stairs).

Arrived on a Saturday for a 3 day stay. Was dreading it somewhat since our last stay was over Labor Day 2010. Back then the resort felt like it was packed to 150% capacity. It was crazy busy and there were people everywhere! The lazy river was a standing river, 45 min wait for breakfast, and there were no chairs to be found around the pool! Due to smaller crowd, this stay was much better. Not too noisy, not too crowded...throw in 90 degree temperature in early May and it was a good weekend getaway.

Saturday was busy but not overwhelming and people started to thin out on Sunday. Was told occupancy was 100% Sat, 60% Sun, and 30% Monday. The resort definitely slowed down a lot, which was great for us! Heard there were problems with rowdy college students on Saturday and many got kicked out.

Food around the pool was pretty average and service okay. Bluember restaurant was better but found ourselves going out to eat or getting takeout instead of eating at the resort.

Splashtopia is good for my little ones, and they had a good time.

Rooms are large and comfortable. A bit dated and the walls are thin, but not bad for the price we paid and I can see ourselves coming back again, but will make sure to avoid those holiday weekends!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear OCRad,
Thank you for posting your review! We’re glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay and our location in the valley. We have forwarded your comments to our Operations team for review and just to let you know, we recently implemented a fresh new menu at the pool. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email us at guestexperience@rancholaspalmas.com.
Sincerely, Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.