We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch in every category ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   68900 Frank Sinatra Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Rancho Mirage
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch in every category ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What to would expect from a Ritz property and I am very picky. Service was impeccable all over the property including the State Fare Restaurant which served great food. My family and I will be definitely coming here again. 5 plus stars and the rooms were all remodeled which is a great surprise.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I first off need to set the record straight. I read a review below that said you are better off staying at the JW Marriott, you can not compare this hotel to the JW, the rooms at the JW are dated and still have that gross cottage cheese stuff on the ceilings. We stayed there last month and will never do so again. You can not compare this hotel to the JW. This hotel the Ritz is our new hotel of choice in the Desert, it is beautiful! The rooms are modern and clean and so well designed! We haven't left the property since we checked in. We have had every meal at the hotel, the food is good locally farmed and mostly organic which I love. The staff is attentive and helpful. The grounds are beautiful! They even have turn down service at night with chocolates on the bed! The JW most certainly does not have that! The JW only has disgusting bachelor parties and people looking to get drunk! My husband and I have very much enjoyed our stay and will absolutely be back with our kids! We came for the night to celebrate our anniversay because we originally stayed at the JW to celebrate and were so disappointed in our experience we came back to try the Ritz, and the Ritz was exactly the experience we were hoping for!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently stayed for a week in July and had a great time. When we travel as a family, we typically stay at Four Seasons, Fairmont, etc. This resort definitely lives up to the Ritz Carlton luxury brand. This is truly a great property with staff going out of their way to ensure a great stay. Ricky the bellman provided a warm and friendly intro to our room and other amenities upon arrival. The dining room had a fantastic menu and staff greeted us by name each day we were there. Kids are definitely welcome here and are treated extra special. Aleesha, Shannon, Kyle and others in the dining room provided exceptional service. The spa, pool area, fitness centre are top notch. The valet team (Mark, Kevin, Scott, Scott and Nick) assisted us with a smile and quick service each time we came and went from the hotel. The rooms are spacious (we had a main floor, furnished patio room by the pool with a fire pit) and nicely decorated. Bathroom is great with an amazing deep tub. Can't say enough good things about this place-we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Main floor patio room, with fire pit, facing family pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent Fourth of July Weekend at the Ritz Carlton Rancho Mirage and had a great time. The staff is exceptional, the kids club activities keep the kids entertained and the food was great. The pool was the place to be all day. Everything about the hotel is great, we will definitely come back. We are a family of four and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel and it's surroundings are exceptional. 5 stars
Nicholas 5 stars: the valet who greeted me on arrival and assisted me to my room was excellent,helpful and professional. And as a credit to him, he remembered my name the next day and continued to offer to be helpful.
Amy 5 stars, at front desk: when I asked and learned that there was no LA Times on premises she offered and managed to have one delivered to my room the next day
Alexandra 2 stars front desk: I had confirmed through Horacio the evening before my arrival that he would do all that he could to facilitate early checkin. On arrival, clearly the hotel had many vacancies I was told by Alexandra that my room was ready but needed to have an executive inspection before I could check in and she couldn't give me any idea how long that might be but seemed to be very anxious that I go to the restaurant for lunch. This uncertainty was a major inconvenience, so she offered me a room on the first floor which was ready for checkin.
Her greeting was effusive and a bit exaggerated and 10 minutes later she didn't remember my name or ask how the room was.
It was she that I first asked about the newspaper and her response was that I could drive down the hill to get one, in contrast to Amy's helpful and appreciated response.

Dining 3 stars: food was good but service was lacking. It seemed most servers were high school age and inexperience and requests were forgotten ( cream for coffee, toast, or on another occasion bread) and service was not attentive.

Finally, this morning I encountered 2 cockroaches in my bathroom, one which I caught and saved to show housekeeping. There seemed to be some uncertainty from housekeeping and the front desk as to the significance of this for me occupying the room, but I was given an option to relocate if I wanted (I did not) and told them that I did not feel it was necessary unless they needed to treat the room ( they did not). In light of this I asked that the manager be informed about this and I was told that he was, yet I received no apology from him or any acknowledgement of the situation. Additionally the bathroom area had a mildew type of odor.

This Ritz has tremendous potential but does not meet the standards of my past experience with the Ritz name.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear dakelly1,

Thank you for taking time to review our resort. I apologize that your experience did not live up to the high standards that we promise at The Ritz-Carlton. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you personally regarding your experience and can be reached at 760-202-2161. Thank you again or your feedback. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Doug Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I were shopping in Orazon and decided to dine at the Ritz. While the menu was limited, the quality was superb. I had the grass fed filet mignon cooked perfectly at medium; my wife enjoyed a lamb-based lasagna. We toasted our ongoing honeymoon. Me with a juice-based spritzer and she with a pineapple/coconut concoction (sans alcohol). But the view and the friendly service from Erik, Odalis, and Nacary topped it all off making for a fabulous experience at Rancho Mirage!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel just re-opened in May so they still have a lot of kinks but the room although small are decorated nice and are very comfortable. We went there for a girlfriends weekend getaway and there was 4 of us. We always share one room and want to stay together the whole weekend and usually a room at the Ritz is more than efficient for the 4 of us but this was not the case in this hotel. With 2 double beds in the room there was hardly any room to walk around the room. We did have a nice patio on the first floor which opened to the yard and the pool area and was very convenient and pleasant. The adults pool was an infinity rook with a nice view of the valley but the wall is a little too long so you have to be out of water to enjoy the view.
The food is nothing special yet expensive and at times old and not the best quality. I am not going to lie... they have a lot to do there in the food department to catch up but the staff is very nice and the management does listen and tries to make things right. I hope they fix these little kinks soon and then they can get 4 stars. Since the rooms and even the suites are very small I couldn't give this hotel 5 stars. Sorry!
The hotel does have a nice spa and workout room which we enjoyed very much as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear NilooG,

Thank you or taking the time to review our resort. I want to take this opportunity to apologize for not meeting your expectations on this visit. Feedback is crucial to our success and I would greatly appreciaite the opportunity to speak to you in more detail about your experience. My direct line is 760-202-2161. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Doug Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage

Address: 68900 Frank Sinatra Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly enveloped within the Santa Rosa Mountain range, The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage is located on a 650-foot bluff overlooking world-famous Palm Springs and the picturesque Coachella Valley. This luxurious Palm Springs hotel boasting 244 guest rooms with 16 suites including spacious and private spa suites, is thoughtfully-designed to complement its desert mountain location by featuring natural elements of stone, wood and fire - which reflect the local landscape, hues and regional surroundings. At The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage, amenity highlights include State Fare Bar & Kitchen, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner and featuring an exhibition kitchen, private dining room and multiple indoor/outdoor seating areas. A second remarkable restaurant, The Edge (opening fall 2014), features aged steak and seafood served cliffside with unparalleled views of the valley below. Further resort highlights include a luxurious, 24,000-square-foot spa, swimming and relaxation pools, and preferred access to some of the finest golf and tennis experiences at premier courses and clubs in the Palm Springs Valley. This exceptional Palm Springs hotel in California offers guests a true luxury desert experience, while providing convenient access to world-class shopping, dining, recreation and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton, Rancho Mirage Hotel Rancho Mirage
Ritz Carlton Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.