We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   68900 Frank Sinatra Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Rancho Mirage
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Exceptional Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband surprised me with a night on my birthday. Nearly all the staff we came across wished me a happy birthday. When we arrived to our room I had a very nice birthday dessert, a picture that my husband had sent Zach, a cute little bag and a hand written note to me. All these details were greatly appreciated by both of us. Extremely nice surprise upon arrival. We had a fire pit room which was a beautiful space for us to relax. We ended up cancelling our dinner reservations just so we could enjoy the peace and quiet. Thoroughly enjoyed our drinks by the fire pit in the evening. A truly beautiful place to get away. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I just returned from an amazing weekend getaway and it was perfection. This is a beautiful property with top notch service. The spa was lovely and the gym has great equipment. The views from the grounds are breathtaking and it makes you want to never leave! Brian at the adult pool was incredible.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First off the good: the views from the property are breath taking. The staff was very friendly as well. After that... This is not Ritz worthy. This hotel is not a bad hotel but if you are used to staying at other Ritz Carlton properties it is likely to be a disappointment.
First off the HVAC system was all sorts of inadequate when we were there. We had adjoining rooms and one of them didn't have ac at all. Eventually they moved us to another room. I'm the new room we had issues like the lights wouldn't turn out the switch was faulty. Engineering came up and we asked for a fan as our room still felt warm. She told us they are assembling fans as quickly as they can because lots of rooms were having issues. The fan had a thermometer on it and we were right the room never got below 78 all night. Also when we checked in they "upgraded" us to an upgraded view. They had us on the 1st floor and our view was of a wall to the restaurant!? Seems like they still have a lot of training/ knowledge and communication issues. The restaurant... The food was good but not nearly the quality of the JW Palm Desert. Also we received our food all at different times, missing things (like the banana with the kids cereals or the toast with our eggs). And service was incredibly slow. The pool was nice. Also as an FYI unless they do something themselves you really cannot see any fireworks from this location on the 4th of July. Overall you are far far better off staying at the JW Marriott Palm Desert.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear sahara910,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. I am very sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you. Feedback is extremely important to us, and so if you could afford the time, I may be reached directly at (760)-202-2161.

Doug Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our long wait for this property to reopen was rewarded. We spent a truly relaxing weekend here that reminded us of why we began traveling to the Ritz in Rancho Mirage the first time around. From the moment we arrived until we pulled away, we were treated by each and every staff member as if we were guests being welcomed into a gracious home. I wish i could remember everyones names, but Alexandra at the front desk provided an initial reception that set the tone for the rest of the weekend. While we waited for our room to be ready, we went to State Fare for lunch and were greeted there by the hotel General Manger, Doug Watson. He personally checked on our room status for us and when there was a problem with our room key, he walked back to our room with the new key to ensure it would work. This was one of several encounters we had with Mr. Watson who is fully engaged in making sure his guests receive the optimal level of service. Where else would you find hand written notes from the bellman and engineer left in your room and offering any further service that could provide? The pool and cabana was great. We had a valley view room on the 2nd floor which was beautifully appointed and comfortable. I'd opt for the lower level terrace room next time which comes with it's own patio, firepit and misters. We had lunch, two dinners and breakfast at State Fare and each meal was terrific. The menus are limited, but quality is more important than endless choices. The best word I can find for the type of service is genuine. There is a feeling that the staff here actually is concerned for the enjoyment of the guests. Not an original concept, but certainly one that is difficult to find these days. A special shout out to Red the bartender who provided me with great conversationa and a heck of a Bloody Mary. We're anxious to vist when the new restaurant, The Edge opens in the fall in what is certainly the best location in the desert. I've gone on too long already. Suffice it to say we strongly recommend this resort and will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Terrace level with firepit with a valley view near the adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed 2 days for our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprise with a dessert upon arrival. From the time we got out of our to the room, service was 5 stars indeed. The pool was pleasantly set up and comfortable. The staff set up our chairs and got us ice water rigfh away. We order food from the pool cafe and thought that was the only time the hotel didn't meet its 5 stars rating. Sushi rice was hard and drinks were weak in taste and quality. Dinner at State Farm was delicious. Eric our waiter was very thorough and friendly. He share a story with us on most of the dishes and it was niceto know most of their produces are local. Hubby had the famous State burger and my cod was cooked to perfection. I didn't care for the bed of mushroom and other stuff it came with bc the cod was already at perfection. I would recommend the cod dish on a simple bed of vegetable such as asparagus or arugula to fully enjoy the cod. Nonetheless service ay the restaurant was 5 stars. We also had bkfst there. Coffee was amazing and the gluten free bread baked in the house fresh. We also try their spa and again 5 stars service and cleanliness! We left feeling relaxed and smiling. Every couple should treat themselves to a weekend at the Ritz Carlton for a special occasion bc they love making their customers feeling special! P.s. Barbara at the front desk was 5 stars too! Didn't want to forget anyone ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment the valet opened the car door in the 113 degree heat with a warm welcome, I knew we would love the "newly" opened Ritz. Everyone was hospitable and we were seated by Aleesha in a perfect spot in the restaurant to enjoy many views. We enjoyed the Flatbread and Cobb Salad ~~ which had turkey bacon. Very good! Chocolate mousse cake for decert ~~ delicious. Had a mini tour of the property and spa. Will definitely return for lunch, dinner and maybe a staycation night out.

Room Tip: No room recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a fabulous property set above the City of Palm desert with amazing views. We stayed for one night and didn't want to leave. Rooms are spacious and pool areas are great - we used both the adult and main pool area and enjoyed them both but you don't get afternoon sun on the adult pool. Couple of improvements to be made - Breakfast was nice but not great and server forgot a few things and had to be reminded; service was a little over the top and could be a bit less intrusive - we were constantly asked where we were going, what we were doing etc which was a little annoying but I guess as a new resort they are still finding their feet. There were very few guests there too so maybe they were not very busy! We were given a nice room but it was right next to a service entrance and restrooms for the pool - so bearing in mind the place was quiet, we felt that a better location could have been given.

All in all we had a great stay and would return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage

Address: 68900 Frank Sinatra Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly enveloped within the Santa Rosa Mountain range, The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage is located on a 650-foot bluff overlooking world-famous Palm Springs and the picturesque Coachella Valley. This luxurious Palm Springs hotel boasting 244 guest rooms with 16 suites including spacious and private spa suites, is thoughtfully-designed to complement its desert mountain location by featuring natural elements of stone, wood and fire - which reflect the local landscape, hues and regional surroundings. At The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage, amenity highlights include State Fare Bar & Kitchen, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner and featuring an exhibition kitchen, private dining room and multiple indoor/outdoor seating areas. A second remarkable restaurant, The Edge (opening fall 2014), features aged steak and seafood served cliffside with unparalleled views of the valley below. Further resort highlights include a luxurious, 24,000-square-foot spa, swimming and relaxation pools, and preferred access to some of the finest golf and tennis experiences at premier courses and clubs in the Palm Springs Valley. This exceptional Palm Springs hotel in California offers guests a true luxury desert experience, while providing convenient access to world-class shopping, dining, recreation and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton, Rancho Mirage Hotel Rancho Mirage
Ritz Carlton Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.