We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star luxury in the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   68900 Frank Sinatra Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Rancho Mirage
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“5 Star luxury in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a fabulous property set above the City of Palm desert with amazing views. We stayed for one night and didn't want to leave. Rooms are spacious and pool areas are great - we used both the adult and main pool area and enjoyed them both but you don't get afternoon sun on the adult pool. Couple of improvements to be made - Breakfast was nice but not great and server forgot a few things and had to be reminded; service was a little over the top and could be a bit less intrusive - we were constantly asked where we were going, what we were doing etc which was a little annoying but I guess as a new resort they are still finding their feet. There were very few guests there too so maybe they were not very busy! We were given a nice room but it was right next to a service entrance and restrooms for the pool - so bearing in mind the place was quiet, we felt that a better location could have been given.

All in all we had a great stay and would return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

As a newly opened property there were a few misses as far as a full 5-star experience. Any concerns were met with a speedy remedy and I am confident that management will make the important adjustments that will earn this property an excellent rating on all fronts. The staff, from valet, to bellman, to pool and restaurant staff, to front desk and management are exceptional. They are friendly, engaging, hard working and were delightful to interact with. I have to say that some of the State Fare food is better than others. Kudos on the Prime Burger, Belgian Waffle, Flatbreads, and the French Toast. Best we've ever had and presentation was outstanding. Unfortunately I wasn't as wowed by the Scallops. We had a room with patio and firepit. That's the one to have, but add the valley view. One of our concerns was when patio misters and firepits were on. Once the misters go off, impossible to enjoy either the lounge/restaurant outdoor seating and your room private patio. I am certain they will find a mix that makes most, if not all, happy. We will definitely be back very soon!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have been visiting Palm Springs for years; typically for weekend getaways from our LA home. We have stayed at most of Palm Springs' upscale resorts like Parker and Viceroy. None have ever come close to delivering a true 5 star experience, both from a product and service perspective. From the moment we arrived we felt the genuinely warm welcome by all staff: valet offered to charge my electric car (to this day very few hotels offer this courtesy) and the front-office manager greeted our dog with a bandana that he personally tied to his collar. Public areas and room were spotless. Food in the restaurant was delicious and the young yet eager staff was trying very hard to please.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and will definitely be back. Finally a hotel in the desert able to deliver a true 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I went for opening weekend and had a blast. The location has great views of the valley. I had a mountain view room. It was very spacious. The bathroom was awesome. The tubs are up to my thigh. The pools are awesome. The family pool is pretty big and inviting with great food service. The kids program looked amazing, I want to bring my kids next time just for that! I can't wait to go back to Rancho Mirage.

Room Tip: The resort room with terrace or mountain view are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had been wanting to come back to this newly re-opened Ritz as we used to stay here in the 80's. We decided my birthday would be a perfect time. We arrived in time for Sunday Brunch, had a perfect booth overlooking the pool area. Abundant Champagne and Bloody Mary's, very good food and service. A nice piece of chocolate cake presented to me as a "Happy Birthday."

Our room was very nice, great amenities, nice and clean just as you would expect. Staff could not have been more attentive. The burger and the Cobb Salad in State Fare were excellent.

We had other plans for my husband's birthday but he decided he would like to come back here so we will be back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at a variety of very "high end" properties and the Ritz-Carlton in Rancho Mirage has managed to achieve an extremely difficult balance of highly professional, yet friendly staff. The management of this hotel have totally nailed such an important part of the experience.
The staff are neither too stuffy...or too friendly, just the perfect blend of friendly, accommodating and professional, a blend that made us feel welcome and relaxed. I have to say our stay was perfect and every single staff member we encountered were truly the best in the business.
Thank you...Chris, Brian, Greg, Edgar, Amy and Katey...you all rock!
The burgers in the State Fare Restaurant are worth the trip from Vancouver by themselves! We ate Lunch/Dinner 3 times during our stay and all three times both my husband and I ordered burgers (I rarely even eat burgers!)
We had a first floor room with our own private patio and misters, which makes this a perfect 10 in my world. Our room was spotless and fairly large, the property is really beautiful and the renovations make this a new, yet comfortably "mature" property. We will definitely 100% be back!

Room Tip: Garden View 1st Floor with Patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Haven't yet stayed here (I am a local) but State Fare Bar and Restaurant is wonderful! The service was outstanding, appetizers delicious (and interesting) and the prime burger is mind-blowing. The perfect bite over and over again. Can't wait until the weather cools down and I can experience some drinks on the beautiful patio. PS The staff graciously gave us a tour of the new hotel rooms. Beautiful!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage

Address: 68900 Frank Sinatra Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#7 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly enveloped within the Santa Rosa Mountain range, The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage is located on a 650-foot bluff overlooking world-famous Palm Springs and the picturesque Coachella Valley. This luxurious Palm Springs hotel boasting 244 guest rooms with 16 suites including spacious and private spa suites, is thoughtfully-designed to complement its desert mountain location by featuring natural elements of stone, wood and fire - which reflect the local landscape, hues and regional surroundings. At The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage, amenity highlights include State Fare Bar & Kitchen, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner and featuring an exhibition kitchen, private dining room and multiple indoor/outdoor seating areas. A second remarkable restaurant, The Edge (opening fall 2014), features aged steak and seafood served cliffside with unparalleled views of the valley below. Further resort highlights include a luxurious, 24,000-square-foot spa, swimming and relaxation pools, and preferred access to some of the finest golf and tennis experiences at premier courses and clubs in the Palm Springs Valley. This exceptional Palm Springs hotel in California offers guests a true luxury desert experience, while providing convenient access to world-class shopping, dining, recreation and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton, Rancho Mirage Hotel Rancho Mirage
Ritz Carlton Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.