We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Villas to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71777 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Longer Stays= More Saving
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Broomall,Pa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

After reading some reviews here, we were a little nervous about our booking. But after our recent stay, July 23-30, we must say that the villas and the staff were excelllent. The villas were clean and very spacious. The beds were super comfortable. The pool and slide were awesome. They had poolside games set up for the kids each day. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    193
    90
    34
    19
See reviews for
232
231
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

Tremendous value through Hotwire. Room was like a small apartment complete with small, full function kitchen and a stacked washer/dryer. The room was comfortable and beautiful... the sofa bed was fine for our kids (but NOT for adults). There were some minor maint. issues (broken moldings and cracked caulk)... the maint reason I didn't award it the full 5/5 rating was that the pool areas are spread apart over vast areas (albeit you can hunt down a free cart/shuttle), and (on the days we were there) the pools were extremely crowded and only about 1/3 of the lawn chairs were afforded any shade from the pounding sun... even the $100/day cabanas were 100% rented out! But not for the conspicuous lack of shade (or if we'd come at a more accommodating time of year) I would have overlooked the minor maint. issues and given it the highest rating. The grounds are gorgeous, the pools fun (incl. water slides, volley ball, basketball, and ping pong), and the rooms welcoming. Would gladly visit again (but try to do so at a less hot time of year).

  • Liked — Awesome rooms and grounds.
  • Disliked — Lack of shade at pools, grounds tiring to navigate.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Westin Mission Hills Villas in Rancho Mirage. The villa itself was spacious with decent amenities (Bose radio, robes, plush towels, BBQ grill on patio, covered parking). Always love the Westin Heavenly Bed....of course very comfy and slept like a baby. Our villa faced a lagoon....could hear the fountain just outside the master....lullied us to sleep. Some of the furniture had stains including the carpet, but overall clean and updated. The pool area was large but bit crowded (many kids). Lounge chairs are right on top of each other. Grounds were beautiful. A bit of a walk to the main resort...but they provide shuttles to and from. We ate at two of the restaurants on the property. Bella Vista (breakfast).......nice outdoor dining area, average food, expensive. And Season's Grill (lunch)...small outdoor dining area, decent lunch, better prices. Had one treatment at the spa.....the girls that work the main desk were a bit confused and clueless, but friendly....the treatment itself was wonderful (pricey of course). The workout room was small with only a few machines (free weights only) Overall the Westin Villas satisfied us, and we would consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

we have visited the palm springs area several times and one of our fav places to stay is the westin. the rooms are very modern and clean. the landscape throughout the property is beautiful. overall, a great place to stay in the area.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

This was my 2nd visit to this resort, and again it proved to be a comfortable and relaxing stay!

Please note that this is for the VILLAS, not the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Spa, which is a fine resort located next door, but offer typical hotel rooms. As a guest of the Villas you do have access to the Resort & Spa, you just have a nicer and bigger place to sleep. The Villas are one and two bedroom units, with a full kitchen, living room, patio, some with BBQ, etc. The sleeping room is a queen, with a sofabed in the living room, great for a family of 3 or 4. Larger families can use the two bedroom units.

The Villas has their own private pools, which aren't as crowded as the resort's pool areas, and there's a great public BBQ area for those family reunions. The Resort's golf course with gorgeous views is next to the Villas.

The kitchen is completely stocked with china, silverware, glassware, cooking equipment, etc., and they even provide dish soap, laundry soap (there's a washer/dryer as well) and all the typical amenities you see at any Westin hotel. When we visited, we went out for dinner, but the kitchen facilities really made a difference when we could go to a store and buy sandwich supplies and snacks, saving us a ton from having to go out to breakfast and lunch every day.

The units also have a DVD player so you can bring your movies (most Westin hotels are rigged so you can't attach a DVD player to your TV, you have to use the "pay per view" service). The whole property has FREE wireless, and our laptop worked just fine in the room.

A very relaxing stay, you won't go wrong here!

  • Liked — The one bedroom villas offered plenty of room to spread out.
  • Disliked — Some furniture was worn and tired looking, but not enough to spoil the trip.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

Got a great rate for a 5 night stay at Westin Mission Hills Villas in Rancho Mirage during April break.No big grand entrance to the Villas,like the Resort side (as my daughter described it "I expected lots of flowers and a gate,but there was just a wall with sand")..maybe her comments were due to the fact that we arrived during a huge sand storm,which I hear comes every few months in this area,but new to us in Connecticut!The check-in was very slow..the front desk personnel was borderline rude,and we waited about 45 minutes for our room to be ready.The room itself was smaller than we were used to in other villa type resorts such as Marriott Vacation Club properties,but we only paid $124 on Hotwire,so can we really complain??It was a one bedroom second floor unit,which we were told was "deluxe"..although I cant imagine any unit being smaller.The kitchenette had a two small burner stove and a tiny fridge,plus a dishwasher (also small)..but new granite counters and very clean,which we called ahead about due to allergies.The queen size bed was okay,not so heavenly.The pull out sofa is okay for children,but NOT for adults...could be the worst Ive seen.The bathroom was nice,and larger than the living room,but still only had one sink.There was a dark balcony overlooking the golf course.Only one window in the entire villa,which was in the front at the kitchen counter so everyone wallking by can see you preparing breakfast in your pjs..The grounds were beautiful..especially the breathtaking mountains which surround the resort.I enjoyed walking along the golf course paths in the gorgeous 75' temperature while getting to the pool.My kids absolutely loved the paradise pool near the villas!My husband and I even went on the water slide there with them many times.My son also loved the basketball hoops in the pool and the ping pong nearby.The resort provides nice citrus water at the pool area,which is a nice touch,and drink waitresses offer other food and beverages if you wish.We didnt eat at the resort once (expect for drinks at the pool),because Cheesecake Factory and PF Changs is just down the road and offered us better options.The trip was a long one for us,since there are no direct flights from Palm Springs International into the New York area,but we would definitely return there again due to the gorgeous weather and nice pool,and of course that great Hotwire rate!

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — dark room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

I stayed at the villas with my wife and 2 year old for 9 nights in March 2007. The resort really suited our needs, in that it was big (1 mile long) with plenty of activities (2 playgorunds,putting green, tennis and 5 swimming pools). We stayed in a premium villa second floor, which was furnished and equiped to a very high standard(microwave, large oven, dish washer, washing machine, dryer, large fridge, BBQ, dvd player and tv in living room and bedroom).My only small gripe would be the sheets on the bed were not 100% combed cotton and that the maids did miss one entire day of villa cleaning that was paid for, but in general we found the staff to be pleasant and helpful.
We ate in the Lounge Bar area of the hotel on two ocassions and had rooms service a couple of times during our stay and found the food to be acceptable and not outstanding .
There is a WallMart just about 1 mile away from the hotel, but I would highly recommend a trip to 'Bristol Farms' supermarket (at edge of Rancho Mirage and Palm Desert) if you are going to do any form of self catering.
We found the rancho mirage / palm springs area suited our needs .On the cloudy days we could go to the Childrens Museum (Brilliant for Kids) or Shopping (Outlets in Cabazon 40 min drive or Paseo for High Street Shopping only 10 mins drive). The Pool and Playgrounds were reserved for the more sunny days / afternoons. I never got to play either of the two golf courses, but maybe next time. Hope this review helps. by theway when they say 4 pm check-in , they really do mean 4pm or after.

  • Liked — The size and choice!
  • Disliked — The sheets, the lack of power shower and the food.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Villas

Address: 71777 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas is nestled in the Coachella Valley at the base of California's San Jacinto Mountains in the secluded desert oasis known as Rancho Mirage. As a AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, this world-class golf and spa destination promises infinite rejuvenation. Nearby, a mecca of cultural, historical, shopping and outdoor adventure awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Villas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Hotel
Westin Rancho Mirage
Rancho Mirage Westin
Westin Mission Hills Villas Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.