We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Villas to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71777 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Longer Stays= More Saving
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to this property and found it to be a great experience. All of the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. I was pleasantly surprised by several options offered such as foregoing room service in exchange for 500 points per day. This was a great option for us and a win win. Love having choices when in vacation. The only complaint was that we agreed to a presentation that was promised to be an educational hour to insure that we were using our points to their fullest advantage. It turned out to be an attempt to sell us additional points. Our time was not valued and it seemed like no matter how many times I said no Linda and Victor acted like they didn't hear me. Very disappointed with the bate and switch.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Jon G, thank you for the great feedback about our resort. I am so pleased you found our staff extremely helpful and courteous. We love reading great comments like this and will share with our team. I am sorry to read that the presentation was disappointing. I will share your feedback with our marketing team so we can improve this experience. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    193
    90
    34
    19
See reviews for
232
231
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Great food, room and service. It was even good enough for King Abdullah of Jordan who stayed in the building next to us. Try the fireside Lounge. The golf is also very challenging. The grounds are very well groomed.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was the best experience ever, nice villas well equipped, the view from the balcony was breathtaking, we got there two hours before check in and they were kind enough to give us a villa and at the best spot possible, second floor at the end of a building so we had two sides to our balcony, one looking out at the pool and the other one facing the golf course and mountains. The grounds are so well maintained and so beautiful. Our villa didn't have a bbq like the premium one but no need to pay more for a premium villa when there is three huge gas bbq beside the building with tables and umbrellas if you want to eat there or bring it to your villa. They must clean those bbq's all the time they always look like brand new! They go above and beyond to satisfy their guests, if you're walking there's always an employee driving a golf cart and will stop and ask you if you need a ride. And at the main pool there's employees coming around the pool and offering you free fresh fruits, talk about pampering! This place is all about that! Next year i hope to be able to come back, was my first time in Palm Springs but won't be the last and i have the Westin to thank for that, because that was the best vacation ever. Thank you Westin Mission Hills Villas :))))

Room Tip: If it is available ask for an end of a building as you will have two sides to your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Joanne R, Thank you for the excellent review of our Resort. I am so thrilled to read that you had an excellent time with us during your visit! We are flattered to read that you enjoyed your best vacation ever at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Thanks for sharing your feedback and we can’t wait for you to return!! Many thanks and safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was our second visit to this resort, and we liked it even better this time. Really only a couple of complaints - the moldy bathroom cabinet base and the fact that we were given an accessible room. While accessible (wheelchair) rooms are more spacious, the bathroom vanity is uncomfortably low for fairly tall people, and all the robe hooks and closet bars are below waist level. I wish we would have been given an option on this. Otherwise, the room was great and the resort is lovely! The staff could not have been more courteous and helpful. We tried to make our reservation through an email that promised the fourth night free and a $100 resort credit, but once we signed in as SPG members, we lost that promotion. While that was disappointing, we realized it from the beginning, so it was our choice to go ahead with it. No regrets, the location and the beauty of the resort make up for the rest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Snoopydeb, thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience at our resort. I am so happy to read that that you enjoyed the resort even more than the first time!! Also great to read that our staff was helpful and courteous, we love to hear comments like yours. Please accept my apology for the condition of the room. We will immediately address your feedback and appreciate you sharing. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I was in town with several friends/ business associates to attend and take part in a funeral for a dear friend/ business associate. Your resort was beautiful and the restuurant and food was fantastic! Most of all the service was exellent and we especially appreciated Cecilia Lopez in the lounge who showed great care and compassion as well as a above and beyond style of service! I hope to come back some day under better circumstances!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
George L, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Thanks for your kind words about our resort & staff. I wish your visit was under better circumstances as well. If you ever come back to the desert, we would look forward to serving you again. Thanks for your feedback and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel/resort is absolutely superb. The staff is excellent and very accommodating upon arrival. We were given a complimentary upgrade, due to open availability. We had a wonderful 900 sq. foot villa with a jacuzzi located in the master, two fireplaces (Master and living room), stove on private patio. This is a great place to bring your family. You don't have to worry about eating out for every meal because there is a fully functional kitchen (with washer and dryer) located in the villa. The pool is amazing, water slide and all. I went mid-January and the weather was amazing. I'm a LA local so getting out of town is nice for 2 days or so. i'm assuming that during the summer months the pools are over crowded, however if you have a chance to go when it's less busy and the weather isn't so hot & dry I would recommend doing that.

The pools stay open until midnight on the villa side, close at 10pm on the hotel side.

Go to the grocery store up the street and buy your own food. You'll save a lot more money and make meals you actually prefer to eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Meow1717, Thank you for your great feedback about our resort. I am so happy to read that you and your family had an amazing visit with us in the desert. We have been having some great weather lately and glad you were able to take some time to get away and renew. Many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again at the Westin. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Would of liked to give higher rating, but room was showing some age and the 5:15am quacking of the ducks as a wake-up call was not ideal. However, the staff we encountered were courteous and professional in their duties.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
1kauai, thank for sharing your experience about our resort. I am happy to read that you found our staff courteous and helpful. Also, please accept my apology for the early morning wake-up call from our feathers friends from the north and call the desert home for the winter. I appreciate your feedback and I will share you comments with our team. Many thanks and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Villas

Address: 71777 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas is nestled in the Coachella Valley at the base of California's San Jacinto Mountains in the secluded desert oasis known as Rancho Mirage. As a AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, this world-class golf and spa destination promises infinite rejuvenation. Nearby, a mecca of cultural, historical, shopping and outdoor adventure awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Villas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Hotel
Westin Rancho Mirage
Rancho Mirage Westin
Westin Mission Hills Villas Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.