We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with a great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Villas to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71777 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night & $100 Credit
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with a great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was our second visit to this resort, and we liked it even better this time. Really only a couple of complaints - the moldy bathroom cabinet base and the fact that we were given an accessible room. While accessible (wheelchair) rooms are more spacious, the bathroom vanity is uncomfortably low for fairly tall people, and all the robe hooks and closet bars are below waist level. I wish we would have been given an option on this. Otherwise, the room was great and the resort is lovely! The staff could not have been more courteous and helpful. We tried to make our reservation through an email that promised the fourth night free and a $100 resort credit, but once we signed in as SPG members, we lost that promotion. While that was disappointing, we realized it from the beginning, so it was our choice to go ahead with it. No regrets, the location and the beauty of the resort make up for the rest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Snoopydeb, thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience at our resort. I am so happy to read that that you enjoyed the resort even more than the first time!! Also great to read that our staff was helpful and courteous, we love to hear comments like yours. Please accept my apology for the condition of the room. We will immediately address your feedback and appreciate you sharing. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    177
    81
    32
    18
See reviews for
219
215
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I was in town with several friends/ business associates to attend and take part in a funeral for a dear friend/ business associate. Your resort was beautiful and the restuurant and food was fantastic! Most of all the service was exellent and we especially appreciated Cecilia Lopez in the lounge who showed great care and compassion as well as a above and beyond style of service! I hope to come back some day under better circumstances!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
George L, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Thanks for your kind words about our resort & staff. I wish your visit was under better circumstances as well. If you ever come back to the desert, we would look forward to serving you again. Thanks for your feedback and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel/resort is absolutely superb. The staff is excellent and very accommodating upon arrival. We were given a complimentary upgrade, due to open availability. We had a wonderful 900 sq. foot villa with a jacuzzi located in the master, two fireplaces (Master and living room), stove on private patio. This is a great place to bring your family. You don't have to worry about eating out for every meal because there is a fully functional kitchen (with washer and dryer) located in the villa. The pool is amazing, water slide and all. I went mid-January and the weather was amazing. I'm a LA local so getting out of town is nice for 2 days or so. i'm assuming that during the summer months the pools are over crowded, however if you have a chance to go when it's less busy and the weather isn't so hot & dry I would recommend doing that.

The pools stay open until midnight on the villa side, close at 10pm on the hotel side.

Go to the grocery store up the street and buy your own food. You'll save a lot more money and make meals you actually prefer to eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Meow1717, Thank you for your great feedback about our resort. I am so happy to read that you and your family had an amazing visit with us in the desert. We have been having some great weather lately and glad you were able to take some time to get away and renew. Many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again at the Westin. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Would of liked to give higher rating, but room was showing some age and the 5:15am quacking of the ducks as a wake-up call was not ideal. However, the staff we encountered were courteous and professional in their duties.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
1kauai, thank for sharing your experience about our resort. I am happy to read that you found our staff courteous and helpful. Also, please accept my apology for the early morning wake-up call from our feathers friends from the north and call the desert home for the winter. I appreciate your feedback and I will share you comments with our team. Many thanks and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were looking for a great place to get away from the cold Rocky mountains for a few days for our anniversary and loved the Westin Mission Hills. Beautiful grounds, great golf course, wonderful dining and a great place to relax. We will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Mark Y, thank you for sharing your great feedback about the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. I am so happy to read that you had a great anniversary getaway with us in the desert. You came at a perfect time as our weather has simply been spectacular!! Many thanks for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent a couple of days here during the first week of the year. It was very quiet - I mean we rarely saw anyone else at the pool or on the grounds of the resort. We took our two younger kids 5&8 to just chill out as they enjoyed the last gasp of their holiday break from school. The resort is a sprawling place. The Villas are the timeshare/condo-like portion of the Mission Hills property. The hotel is adjacent, and something of a hike from the Villas. If you like to walk along a pretty golf course, it's not bad. Took us about 10 minutes from our room to the hotel lobby.

The room was nice - we had a 1 BR. The kitchen was pretty sizable - we didn't cook, but if we were to stay for a few days, we'd bring breakfast stuff and make it there. Dishwasher, washer and dryer, refrigerator and stove were all functional and reasonably new. The main living area had a fold out bed. Normally, these are a hazard to backs and a guaranteed bad night's sleep. However, the mattress in this sofabed was very thick and quite comfortable. More than good enough for the kids. The bedroom was sizable, with a LARGE jacuzzi tub (the jets however, didn't seem to be working). Shower was also large and the bathroom had a double vanity that worked nicely for us. Furniture seemed new-ish and all was very comfortable. Not luxurious, but certainly very serviceable.

The pool area for the Villas was quite large, including the be all and end all for our kids - THE WATER SLIDE! It was staffed throughout most of the day, and our kids used it to its fullest. There is a height requirement of 48 inches, and our 5 year old was 2 inches shy. That meant having to coerce his sister or a parent into sliding with him, since he wasn't allowed to go alone. We did several runs, and it was quite fun. There was a hot tub/spa nearby, which kept us from freezing on this high 60's/low 70's day. Food at the pool was the standard fare - burgers, chicken tenders, etc - but all tasty and nothing to object to. The cocktails were also good - a surprisingly good mojito with fresh mint.

It appeared the hotel pool was a bit more happening, but alas, their pool slide was under repair. There were games - ping pong, small basketball hoops etc. and other activities for kids that were much more extensive than at the Villa's pool. We probably would have spent our time there instead of the Villa, were it not for the water slide situation.

We also played tennis and rented some bikes to ride around the resort. Tennis a very far from the villas - the far end of the resort. But the court was fine and we had no complaints.

SInce it was so quiet, it's hard to gauge service and overall experience - we pretty much had the run of the place, and I think the staff was reduced since it was right after the holiday crunch. But generally the staff were helpful and friendly. The Villa grounds are a little artificial feeling. Plants that look very non-native plunked down between two long rows of 2 story villas. But nice enough. Just no wow factor.

We would probably stay here again, especially once our son grows another 2 inches. But it's nothing that really bowled us over. To be fair, when any resort is empty, it can be unexciting. And we have nothing negative to say. Just nothing that made this a must return, either.

Room Tip: If you stay at the villas and have kids, I would suggest a room closer to the resort, where you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
SlushyMan, thank you for sharing your feedback about our resort. I am happy to read that you had a great time with us this year. It is great that your children had a wonderful time on the slide!! Just after the New Year holiday, it tends to be a bit slow for a short period of time, but we do get quite busy later in the month. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you and your family in the future. Thanks and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough positive things about the staff. What an amazing team they have there. The grounds are beautiful! The furniture and rugs show some age, but otherwise what a relaxing place to just forget about the world and truly rejuvenate. We did a family reunion and had several rooms at the villas and at the hotel and everyone was so great. Love the pools and the fact they are heated. What a great perk that the premium 1 bedrooms and the 2 bedrooms have their own grills. Will def be back soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Loulu L, thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. I am so thrilled to read that you and your family had a relaxing and enjoyable time. Also, thank you for your kind words about our team and I am so happy to read that we were able to help provide a renewing experience. We will share and celebrate your comments with the entire team. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you and your family again at Westin. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Villas

Address: 71777 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Villas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Hotel
Westin Rancho Mirage
Rancho Mirage Westin
Westin Mission Hills Villas Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.