We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway with the Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Mission Hills Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Mission Hills Villas to your Saves list
Westin Mission Hills Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71777 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Longer Stays= More Saving
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Getaway with the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Reasons We Booked Westin:
(1) Location - Rancho Mirage is not as windy as Palm Springs.
(2) Family-friendly property with a family pool and its own playground (I found this info from a photo posted on this site)
(3) AAA rate was too good to pass up.

SERVICE: Friendly and professional staff, always greeted us and offered assistance with a 3 year old in tow. Shuttle service was readily available and one valet driver went out of his way to drive us around the property and give us a tour.

ROOM: We were located in Building 13. Nicely renovated with modern furniture and neutral decor, large LCD tv, mini bar, and fridge. Large table/desk with ample space. Media plug-in ports for laptop, DVD player, video games (something new that I have not seen at other hotels). Familiar Westin features with Heavenly Bed and Bath - yay for crisp white linens and clean-scented toiletries.

FOOD: We ate breakfast buffet in Bella Vista and that offered a nice selection in a beautiful indoor setting. The lobby bar/lounge is nicely decorated with lots of comfortable seating, but only had a limited menu available. We also ordered room service a few times and they answered promptly and always repeated the order to ensure completion.

AMENITIES: $25 resort fee is worth the complimentary valet (although we didn't mind self-parking to be closer to our building), use of the 3 pools, tennis courts

PLUSES: Fruit-infused water in the lobby especially for that desert heat! Nice upgrades done to the hotel and are noticeable throughout. (There are a few buildings that are not completed yet, but we hardly noticed and were not disturbed by construction).

CONS: Limited menu selections throughout the property (the in-room dining menu explained that it was due to the renovations)



:

  • Liked — True service-oriented staff and new renovations
  • Disliked — Limited menu selections
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    180
    84
    33
    18
See reviews for
219
219
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

I won't detail the whole resort because others have already done so but will try to describe few little details of things which may be important when deciding where to stay. We purchased the week of May 17-24 as Getaway through Interval International at a really great rate. We had a great time at this resort, which is beautiful, with well maintained grounds and I would totally recommend it as a place for others with young families.

I wouldn't give the resort five stars, however, because there were little details here and there that would have been different at a truly top notch resort. The interior of the villa was nice and spacious but the housekeeping refresh was not what we would have expected (and they forgot to do one side of our lock-off and we had to call four times to get them to come back and clean it), the drain in the bathtub was rusty (it didn't happen to bother me but it is something that housekeeping should report and it should be fixed the next day). I also thought the service at the pool was not up to Westin standards in food service and also just cleaning up all the towels and food (if was not dirty or gross by any means, but also not stellar). Also, we requested to be on the ground floor because we had small kids and we didn't want to worry about them making noise and also they could just go out on our porch and play on the grounds (versus being stuck on the balcony). Being on the bottom floor you do definitely hear noise and the toilet flushing if people are above you so if this will bother you, you should request a room on the top floor.

I would stay at this resort again because it has beautiful grounds, with a great pool and quite frankly because the 2 bedroom lock-off is the biggest, most private timeshare accommodations in the area (if you want something bigger and as well appointed you are going to have to rent a house). For our group of four adults and four children ages 5 and under we had a great time and the little kinks and details weren't important to us. We had a great vacation at a great value but it did seem like a resort where they either don't have top management or they just can't keep staff that are willing provide the kind of stunning service and care that you can find at other Westins.

  • Liked — large, well appointed rooms, with totally private lock-off enabling two families to stay
  • Disliked — noise from the room above
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

My husband, 5 year old daughter and I stayed in a 2-bedroom premium Villa for 7 nights from May 10-May 17 and had a wonderful time. The Villa was huge, clean and well stocked for all of our needs. My only small negative comment is that some of the furniture was a bit worn, but it didn't bother our stay at all. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the golf course in Villa builing #43, which was exactly what we had asked for when booking it through Interval International as a timeshare exchange. We never heard any noise from Villas on either side of us or below us. It felt extremely private. There are 5 or 6 pools on this very large property, two of which have really fun waterslides. The main pool on the resort side has a fun bar, restaurant and waterslide so you can enjoy cocktails and food while the kids play for hours. At that pool they also have planned activities going on for the kids like cannon-ball contests, hula-hoop contests, jump rope contests, etc. Our daughter had a wonderful time! They also offer Kids Club activities where you can drop the kids off at designated times for 2 or 3 hour timeslots of fun activities and crafts, etc. I'm not sure what the charge is for that, but some of the moms mentioned that the kids loved it. Also, there's a wonderful Spa at the resort for full service massages, facials, etc. The staff was very friendly and courtesy. We never wanted or waited for anything. The weather was in the mid 90's the entire time and we just couldn't have picked a better week or resort for our family's current needs. The property is very large, but we always were able to call ahead and request a shuttle (golf cart) ride to whichever pool, restaurant or other location we wanted to go to, since it was hot and easier than walking. Our 5 year old loved going on the shuttle rides. The drivers would stop and show her the baby ducks and rabbits, etc., that are all over the property. There were always plenty of lounge chairs and cabana's available at the pools. We never felt like it was over crowded, yet there were plenty of kids for our daughter to make friends and play with. We went to the near by Pavillions upon our arrival (just up the road a couple of blocks on Bob Hope Drive) and stocked up the Villa with groceries for the week. Additionally, there's a Walgreens right up the street for all other last minute needs. All and all a wonderful family resort. We like to go somewhere new each time, so we likely won't be back for a long time, but we highly recommend it to families looking for fun in the desert sun!

  • Liked — Pools/Waterslides
  • Disliked — Furniture a bit worn in Villa
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

We've returned to the villas at Westin Mission Hills for 5 years and plan on going back each year. Service is excellent, poolside cabanas with friendly staff, food and beverage service, WiFi, privacy curtains, TV, misters and more make this perfect day in sun. On-site restaurant (Seasons) is great for a quiet evening of delicious food. The spacious villas are perfectly designed to lock off for sharing without sacrificing.

  • Liked — staff & accomodations
  • Disliked — Needs better soundproofing between 1st & second floors
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

We were just at the villas for 16 nights. Booked through the Sheraton website, we were lucky to get a deluxe (smaller) villa at $153 plus tax. Originally, we were booked at the BW Las Brisas, and we are happy that we payed the difference to stay here.

Although small, the apartment was large enough for 2 people and very comfortable. We overlooked the golf course and it was very quiet. The first "noise" we heard in the morning was the quacking of the ducks! The parking lot was a short walk from our unit, which had an elevator, handy when laden with luggage or other bags. Like most hotels, there is a dolly to transport the luggage from the car to the apartment.

The property is huge (including the adjacent hotel) and lovely. Very peaceful and relaxing. Our favourite pool was the one at the far end of the villas, closest to Bob Hope street. (Loved the fact that the streets are named for stars!). This was a good lap pool and quiet.

Service was excellent. Whenever we called for anything, they usually came right away.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It was a good choice.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Villas at Mission Hills. Gorgeous resort and very friendly staff. We enjoyed the Hotel pools as they were a bit less crowded than the Villa pools. Although the food on the resort is spendy it is DELICIOUS and the service is excellent. No regular coffee in the rooms, but you can get Starbucks coffee anytime in front of the Bella Vista restaraunt entrance. Being able to rent a car right from the hotel is very convenient. There's a Walgreens within walking distance if you need snacks or any staples ie suntan lotion. Beautiful place, can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Gorgeous Landscaping, Ponds and Waterfalls.
  • Disliked — No regular coffee in rooms, only decaf. Food is a bit expensive, but delicious.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

Avoid this property! We arrived, and they did not have us in the correct type room and from reading other entries here, it seems like they allow some poorer booking services to reserve rooms at their property that make a lot of mistakes with the reservations, not a good first impression at 8:00PM. We stayed in a ground floor unit and thought the ceiling was coming down on us when people above were just walking normally. Every time they flushed the toilet, I thought the water was going to come spilling out of the wall. This is a very loud property with very little privacy, especially if you are the rooms facing the stream/ponds. The staff is noisy, with all them running around a using carts and talking loudly, banging their equipment, hauling their stuff as though nobody was here. Huge gaps in front door and sliding doors, sand actually blew in when the wind was blowing hard. Horrible parking (we usually had to walk more than 50 yards for parking, if I had any mobility issues, really would have been a challenge. We saw many people struggling to just get their bags and coolers to the rooms, let alone walking themselves.). Kitchen not complete (had to request non-stick pan, coffee filters and a coffee pot). Fireplace doors in master broken and ready to fall out of hinges, dining room table ready to fall over if you lean up against it, lighting in bathroom very poor. We travel 2-3 times a year to the Desert, and thought we would spurge a bit ($300 night), what a poor decision, clearly not up to Westin standards. Avoid this place, especially room #3521!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Mission Hills Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Villas

Address: 71777 Dinah Shore Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Villas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Hotel
Westin Rancho Mirage
Rancho Mirage Westin
Westin Mission Hills Villas Rancho Mirage, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Mission Hills Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.