We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COULD BE BETTER” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shame on the Moon

Shame on the Moon
69550 Frank Sinatra Dr at Hwy 111, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
760 324 5515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“COULD BE BETTER”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went for Dinner on a Sunday. Always see the parking lot full so thought we would give it a try. Sat out in the garden room. Had the Veal Pot Roast it was tender and had a good flavor. ordered Salmon for my 9 year old daughter and told the waiter NORM that it needed to be pan saute with just olive oil and no other sauce and jasmine rice. He acknowledged the request and then it comes out having been char grilled on top of a bed of carmelized onions. needless to say this did not get eaten. Wife had the Mahi Mahi and it was prepared just right. Peanut butter pie is nothing special in fact the butter pecan ice cream that was served with it fighting for flavor was the star of the dish. The chocolate layer cake was moist and good. At only 6.75 for desert I guess you cant complain but skip the pie. Upon arriving at 5:45 on a Sunday evening we were first told there was no table available. Then we were told we would need to be out by 7:30 which was no problem especially with a 9 year old. we were out by 7pm and like most good restaurants they were filling quickly. The server NORM was just indifferent to the table and the service was nothing special. 3 entrees,1appetizer, 2 deserts and no drinks or wine $ 108.00. Good service and personality could have made this a restaurant to comeback to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    68
    31
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A tale of two seatings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Early seating-6:30 pm-was a mature crowd. Main dining room was fairly noisy, but still a great meal! Sea Bass was delicious, with excellent service. We were able to enjoy an unhurried meal.Upon leaving at 9 PM, crowd was much younger

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Dind with Elegance that won't break the bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our favorite Fine dining choice. Same owner for years, same great staff and you can count on the food and service to be beyond compare. The dining room has the unique quality of being elegant but filled with casual customers. Remember, this is one of the vacation capitals, so tourists and locals are made welcome.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Good Food, Boring Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I and another couple ate here recently for the first time. The restaurant is quite attractive though the tables felt a little crowded. Service was good but a little on the officious side. The food was actually surprisingly good. However, we all found the menu to be amazingly old fashioned, unimaginative and boring.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Upon our 2nd visit, it seemed as if we had returned to our hometown. You are called by name and treated as a valued customer. The menu is extensive, and the food very good. The service is outstanding. When we want to be sure that our dining experience will be great, we always go to Shame on the Moon. What is very telling in this desert resort area is that during the summer, when things are slow, this restaurant is always busy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shame on the Moon also viewed

Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to Shame on the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shame on the Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.